Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine School At Evening Rose

Charter | K-8 | 373 students

We are best known for use of Project CHILD.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 4, 2013

I was very displeased with the level of education my son received at this school. I felt he got half an education, the work was very dumbed down when he had more potential to achieve. I also felt being grouped with some children who had some very serious levels of care needed was disruptive and hurt the other kids ability to learn. I switched him and his new school tried to get his school records and they claimed the previous adminastrator took off with them as the principal and the owner's daughter divorced, very unprofessional!!! Very much a family run school with them switching out hats all the time, leaving the stability uncertain for the children. I also felt the speech/processing help they always recommended was great but way too pricey for the average family. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

We have been with this school since Day One and have been delighted with the quality of education our three children are receiving. The teachers and administration genuinely care about the students and this level of commitment radiates throughout the school. Imagine's hands-on learning environment fosters individual ingenuity as well as the importance of working with a team and parental involvement. Imagine is an A ranked school and follows the same standards as Leon Public Schools. These standards are exceeded through Imagine's Six Measures of Excellence. The uniforms are sharp, economical and make getting ready in the morning easy. Our oldest had attended two years of an A ranked Blue Ribbon School in Tallahassee and was having severe stress issues. This is not the case at Imagine. Our children are excited about going to school and school events. We truly feel as if we are part of a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

The middle school will be having their 2nd annual Winter dance in December--More information will be posted on the school website soon.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 27, 2010

I actually have an idea. Why don't you guys have a christmas dance for middle school. My daughter has been wanting her first dance. Her birthday is december 16th, thursday. Why don't you huys have it then? please. she has been good. Give the middle schoolers a christmas dance. Give them something to be excited about. A christmas dance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

This is school is the worst! At that school children are bad and the teachers their are against different colors of people. Plus this school is an F school! My child will never go back to that school. They have less activities for the students. Yeah they wear uniforms but that doesnt change anything at all. They might as well not let the students wear uniforms. This school is the worst school ever!!! Public schools are better than this school! If you are a parent DO NOT put your child in this school! Im telling you they will not like it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

ISER is definately better than the public schools options for our family, but classroom disciple is abysmal. Unfortunately to keep the seats filled students who contantly badger and harrass their classmates remain enrolled and constantly disturb the atmosphere of the classroom, therefore bullying is a problem. That said, the administration does have an "open door" policy when issues arise, however, parents should not get their hopes up that whatever concern they feel like warrents reporting will be addressed - a lot of lipservice gets served up by the school leadership. Our family would be happy with the attending ISER if more classroom time was spent teaching and learning rather than dealing with dicipline issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

My child came into this environment from a small private school environment. It has made the transition from private to public schools much easier. The principal and teachers seem genuinely interested in all childrens' improvement, and are involved with the student body. The most fun for the students this year was the middle school dances. A great opportunity for social mingling in a controlled environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

Imagine school has been the best option for my child. As a parent of a 3 grade child I am very impressed with project CHILD and the stations used in each subject area. As a parent I am very happy that every class has a teacher station where my child receives personalized attention. FCAT made me more nervous than it did my child. My son was more excited about the free breakfast than he was about the test. The teachers did a fabulous job making the students feel prepared and relaxed. This is a huge change from what I experienced with my middle school child. I am proud to be a part of the Imagine family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

After only one year at ISER, we are not returning for a second. The overall school, their cluster system and the administration are all average - however there is a significant race issue brewing both in the classroom and on the bus transportation. High achieving students are sacrificed for under achieving students, behavioral problems rule the classrooms. There are limited extracurricular activities and the PE exercise program often results in silent ball being played in the classroom. There are several other charter schools in the area that would be better options, as this one is nearly as bad as the public school we were zoned for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

Great school. My grand children have learned more in this school then the public schools they were zoned for.


Posted March 16, 2010

We are on our second year at ISER. I like that they have an open door policy, are open to new ideas with your children and offer so many extracurriculars right on campus. Yes, they are young but with the right parental support (which they have a lot of) they will excell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

I am still on the fence halfway through my child's year. The first grade class is being disassembled and they are getting 3 new teachers. Fortunately, my child is adaptable but I am not certain that the school has worked out its kinks. I have made many requests for my child to be taught appropriate materials (level) that have gone unfufilled. I am hopeful that the remainder of the year is better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

I asolutely love this school!!! the teachers are nice and their teaching methods are wonderful!!!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

51 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "F".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
94%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 45%
White 43%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 47%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/AN/A
Female 53%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 88%58%61%
Master's degree 13%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Imagine Schools Economic Sustainability (2009)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MS. LINDA JOHN
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • We ask every family to give 20hours of volunteer time a year. We have a active PTO that ensures family involvement and communication.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
District schools
Private schools
Home school
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3611 Austin Davis Avenue
Tallahassee, FL 32308
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 877-5187

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Franklin Academy
Tallahassee, FL


The Learning Center
Tallahassee, FL



Christ Classical Academy
Tallahassee, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT