Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J Michael Conley Elementary School At Southwood

Public | PK-5 | 922 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2014

We love everything about Conley! The teachers are wonderful and there are many opportunities for parents to get involved. My daughter always seems to have something that she's looking forward to at school. I also like all the precautions that are in place to keep the children safe. The school is secure while the students are in class and the car pick-up and drop-off line is very organized. I REALLY wish there was a middle school and high school in SouthWood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

This is our 2nd year at Conley and both my daughters love it here. The faculty and staff are wonderful. I just wish they would add a middle school to Conley. Because of that we may be moving when my daughter starts middle school. Heard nothing but bad news about the middle school they are zoned for. Sad because we love it here in SouthWood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2013

We love Conley! We love that the school site is secure, and that the teachers are kind. We love that they are fairly strict with the students (not a bad thing!!) and that our child learned so much while there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

My son is a 4th grade student at Conley. He loves the school and his teachers! The school environment encourages him to think outside-the-box and for himself. His teachers encourage him to reach for his goals and the principal and assistant principal are both very involved. We love being apart of the Conley family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2012

We are a military family and moved here in October 2011, son goes to Conley! So glad we moved in this school zone! School has Great caring teachers and an involved principal. Wish we could stay at this school for our sons entire elementary school years. Its going to be difficult to find another school like this one. 5 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

My daughter has been at Conley since the school opened in 2007. Since then, there have been two principals, both of whom are/were very actively involved in the school community. I have been pleased with the leadership overall. The school staff is okay. There are some members of the personnel who are not the most friendly and inviting, and some of the teachers seem a bit in experienced especially in classroom management. Still, the school has a lot of resources which is good for the students. The PTA is a bit "stay-at-home-mom"-centric, but I guess that comes with the area of town. My biggest complaint is that there are a lot of events planned during working hours, making it difficult for many parents to participate. The school is diverse, but I'm not sure all of the staff is appropriately sensitive to issues of students of other ethnicities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

I found the teachers to be uncaring. My family just moved to the area the last several weeks of school and I felt the teacher was not happy to have another student that she would have to deal with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

We just could not have been happier with this school. Unfortunately my job took me away from Tallahassee and we are missing Conley already.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

Awesome school. The princepals, staff, and teachers are very helpful. My son has been going since the school was open last year. We love it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 42%
Black 36%
Asian 13%
Hispanic 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 170%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 27%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%58%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 East Orange Avenue
Tallahassee, FL 32311
Phone: (850) 414-5610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rise Institute
Tallahassee, FL



Florida Virtual Academy
Tallahassee, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT