Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elizabeth Cobb Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 816 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Been here for two and a half years. Loved it. The teachers are awesome and they always care for you.


Posted January 13, 2013

I am currently an eighth grader at Cobb and I think it is the best middle school in Tallahassee. The teachers are excellent and many challenging classes are available. At the end of this year I will have 6.5 high school credits! Thanks Cobb!


Posted August 1, 2012

Cobb is a great school for middle school students, teachers here are very nice and helpful. They always makes sure that your child gets done with the work. It is unique than other schools, for the fact that it has magnet program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

The magnet program in Science and Math is outstanding. The school is diverse and does an excellent job in preparing its students for advancement into high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

Cobb is a fantastic school! It is so amazing how you get offered opportunities here at this school. At Cobb, you are offered so much and they believe that at that school that you can make a difference in this world. The students there are highly educated and very creative. Especially, the performing arts program that they have. It is truly everything I have ever wanted in a school. I love Cobb Middle School!


Posted December 30, 2010

We are from the Netherlands and we came here in 2008 and uor children went to Famu drs first and then we found Leon and Cobb for then. For my dauchter 11 years and in 7 th grade taking almost al the subjects in advanced grade in a blessing. This school is a challenge for her and other kids with a high IQ. Great school!!!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2010

Cobb Middle School is absolutely wonderful. I am currently in the 8th grade and transferred from Griffin Middle School after 6th grade year. Now that I am at Cobb I wish I could have been there all of my 3 years. I have made so many friends and met so many teachers who are not just there for the money. Cobb has a warm atmosphere and something about it that just makes you miss being there with so many people who care. I would proudly let anyone know how excellent this school is and I am proud to be a might Cub. Because we truly are number one!:)


Posted November 5, 2009

i go to cobb in the 7th grade and its amazing mr.bowen rocks- jking- 2009
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

I am currently attending this school in the 8th grade. I have learned a lot in this school and will end up with 5 high school credits in the end, Algebra, Geometry, Earth Space Science, Physical Science, and Spanish I. I am very happy about attending this school and hope any future students will enjoy the atmosphere here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

My son has attended Cobb since the 6th grade and is currently there in the 8th. I think that the school is absolutely wonderful. The teachers call or email you if your child does poorly on a test. His math teacher comes in early before each test to have a one-on one session with him when asked and his science teacher has a study session the Wednesday before each test for those who need extra help. I am forever grateful and he LOVES the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

Cobb middle school is the best middle school in leon county the students are very smart,diverse and there is next to no bullying. Cobb has a great magnet and technology program. The teachers are inspiring and have very good values. Cobb is the school to choose.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2008

I am a past student of Cobb Middle School and I loved it there, I went there from fall 2003-spring 2006 and it was the best school I could have gone to. I left with 5.5 high school credits, many friends, and I went into high school fully prepared. Their chorus director, Mrs.Drew, is one of the people who inspired me to be a music educator. Cobb is the way to go!


Posted October 20, 2006

Cobb is not a very safe school. Mr. Ansley is a great administrator and the math program is terrific, but the social atmosphere is negative enough to overshadow these positive aspects. My son cannot wait to get out of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

I pulled my child out of this school after he described to me being pushed around in the hallways and how the hall windows kept being broken every week by out-of-control students. I also witnessed unsupervised students vandalizing water fountains and bullying others during 'after school' activities on campus. Not a place for civilized folks. There's no leadership or action from the principal, either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

The Science and Technology education of the magnet program is very poor, but the math education is exceptional enough to make up for it. You'll do well to insist your child have Mr. Coleman as his/her math teacher. My child went through all three years of this school signing up for band and never had a chance to go, so I'd rate availability of the music programs as quite low. My daughter enjoyed her time at the school and even given the option to change schools, never wanted to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I pulled my child out of this school after one year. The administrators don't seem to be in control of the school, and the teacher morale is not very good. No one who works there has time for the kids (except the real troublemakers) and certainly not for the parents. If your child needs even the slightest bit of help, attention, guidance - go somewhere else, not Cobb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Cobb is a good school. While I wish there were more experienced teachers, the kids do respond well to the young teachers better. In Tallahassee, unless you put your child in a private school, you will NOT find a better school. And after having a child in the Magnet program for 2 years. I have to say that while it started out discombobulated in the 6th grade, it has vastly improved and leveled out in the 7th grade. BUT it takes parent involvement too. Mr. Ansley is one of the most motivtional vice principals! he is AWESOME!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

This is such a great school. They have diverse and challenging course offerings, dedicated and highly qualified admonistrators and teachers, and a wonderful student body ready to learn. This is one of tallahassee's best middle consistently for the past 30 years. You can't go wrong with Cobb.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2005

Cobb is a very good school. The administration and teachers are very caring and supportive of both the students and parents. My son loves the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

The quality of academic programs at this school are great. my child's counselor always finds time to make sure she is on track with her classes and that we have an abundance of opportunities to be involved in her educational needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

259 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 23%
White 38% 42%
Hispanic 5% 29%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%58%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

915 Hillcrest Ave
Tallahassee, FL 32308
Phone: (850) 488-3364

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Trinity Catholic School
Tallahassee, FL



Stars Middle School
Tallahassee, FL



Bethel Christian Academy
Tallahassee, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT