Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James Rickards High School

Public | 9-12 | 1243 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2013

I absolutely hated my first experience with this school! Absolutely hated it! The very mention of this school gives me a headache. I should have listened when my son begged me to enroll him in another school for his freshman year. Now to withdraw him I'm having the hardest time. Ugh! Really? To withdraw? Ugh! Thanks alot for a very unpleasant experience for my son AND for me! And you wonder why you have three star's?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

It's just like every other school people talk bad about this school but just like the other high schoolshere in tallahassee they have over 150+ graduate every year so they must be doing something right. You can't talk bad about a school until you have experienced it. People just give Rickards a bad name because of what people say. They do the same things that go on at other high schools. It's name is just worser, because they are on the southside of town. Now isn't that something to think about.


Posted November 18, 2009

This is my school zone, but i decided not to go because of the way Rickards has been brought out. IB is great and the new principal is awesome(she was my middle school principle)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2009

I am a parent of a 9th grader who loves the school. His teachers are so good he doesn't want to miss school even when he is sick. The new principal has brough trememdous energy and enthusiasm to Rickards. The IB program is particularly impressive and graduates some the of the brightest students around. For example, the Mu Alpha Theta team (Math team) is one of the best in the country. Great math teachers including Ms. Funk, Mr. Fraser and Mr. Kiser among others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

This is the worst school I have ever seen. The only good thing is the IB Program, and it definately not worth sending your child there. The general students are irresponsible, and they are rude and ignorant. In my opinion they should move the IB Program to a school like Leon or Lincoln or Chiles. I walked onto the campus and immediatly felt unsafe. I don't even think the cameras work. There is barely any disipline, and none of the students there actually care about an education. Rickards is the reason I put my childrebn in private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

With a new principal at Rickards, things have really turned around. As many of the posts below have described, the IB program at Rickards is fantastic, but was not valued by the previous administration. The new administration not only values IB but sees that it is the most important part of the school--the new principal is also very caring and involved.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2008

The IB program is keeping Rickards from being a perpetul 'F' school. It's a great program that is both challenging and rewarding. As a former student, I would highly recommend to students that are willing to work a little extra in high school. Even with the challenging curriculum, I had plenty of time for extracurricular activities. I played a sport for 4 years and was also in the National Honor Society. As high as I rate the IB program, the opposite is true of the rest of the school. I completely disagree with the poster that said the administration works hard. It is very apparent that [the principal] would rather not have the IB program at Rickards, and makes decisions regarding the program accordingly. The parental involvement is practically nonexistent outside of IB parents.


Posted January 25, 2008

If I could rate only the IB Program, this school would have 5 stars! The IB Program is a definate plus for this school. I am in agreeance with previous input here, if it were not for this magnet program the school would fail. The Administration shows a lack of concern from the learning environment to the extracurricular (including sports) The online grading system is great, but the teachers are slack in updating. It would be nice to have a principal that cared for the students, that would make all the difference in the world!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

As a long time parent and supporter of Rickards High School, I can attest to the dedication of the Principal and his staff. They work long and hard hours to make sure that the students and parents have what they need to be successful. There is not a harder working group of people anywhere in our district. The students appreciate the extra help with homework assignments, class projects and as a parent I appreciate having access to information that I need to insure my child's success. Rickards does not receive the positive support that it deserves from the local media, but those of us on the inside know what is really going on and what makes this school as successful as it has been. Our band has been invited to perform in the Orange Bowl in 01/08 and the academic and athletic programs stand shoulder to shoulder with any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

Our son is an IB student and has been since middle school pre-IB. The teaching staff in the IB program is excellent and the students are encouraged to problem solve/study together. IB Counselors are very supportive with college placement and career exploration. Students peers are very positive and a supportive admosphere exhists. The IB program, however, is not as valued at this school. The school administration/general teaching staff/office staff are prone to disorganization and upcoming events, IB or school wide, are often mischeduled and not communitcated well. It is difficult to plan and attend school functions due to this. Safely on campus appears good in the two years we have been there. It is located on the central/south side of town and easily reached. The buildings remain in need or repair but are functional. The extra-curricular activities suffer from disorganization. This is the only IB High School in Tallahassee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

The IB program is EXCELENT. I do not feel safe when I am in the schools atmosphere. Drugs, alcohol, gangs, fights, and weapons are a major problem at the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2005

A terrible school. They do not care about the students at all.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 2, 2004

Rickards is a great school, not only does it help your child through high school, it prepares them for college on a collegiate level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2003

I'm not a parent, but I do attend this school.I think Rickards is a great school,and I enjoy being here.I do,however,agree that Rickards does have problems with student discipline,but I wouldn't lay the blame on the school. Rickard's does its best to keep the school a safe environment, but it doesn't help when students come late to class,write on the walls everywhere, and do other things that are unacceptable. And IB is a good program, but I see that some people think that regular classes have it easy compared to IB, but it's not all cookies and cake for us either, we have to earn a grade the same as everyone in the school.


Posted August 26, 2003

I have a child in the IB program and I have been active as a parent volunteer. The IB program offers a fine education, and has some extraordinary teachers, including some who go far above and beyond their job duties. I have been impressed by the types of assignments that my child has done, and by the scope of my child's learning as a result of the program. I, however, have been disappointed by the administrative leadership in IB as well as in the overall school. I think that problems are allowed to fester, parent volunteers are not welcomed, the administration is disorganized and doesn't delegate efficiently, and the administration does little to heal the rift that occurs between the IB program and the rest of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2003

I am a current student of Rickards High School. While the statistics relating to this school seem promising, they are very misleading. There is a huge gap between the quality of education and acievement of the International Baccalaureate Program students and the quality of education and acievement of the other students. This school recieved 'F' grades before the IB program was brought in. While the grade has risen since then, it is not a reflection of any improvements within the school. Instead, it is an average as bright students studing in a difficult program are added to lower achieving students whose plight seems to be ignored by administrators and school board members alike. This means that if a parent sends their child to the Rickards IB Program, they will expect a very challenging education, possibly too challenging, and those children in the normal classes may have to do with substandard education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 19, 2003

I am not a parent of any student that attends Rickards. I am a former student and I love being there. I do have a cousin that attends Rickards and she enjoys it. I am and will always be a 'Redskin'! Helen 'Cia' Wright-Coffee. San Antonio, Texas


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

327 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

313 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

271 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

302 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
32%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 79%
White 11%
Asian 5%
Hispanic 3%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 59%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 49%58%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 7%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3013 Jim Lee Road
Tallahassee, FL 32301
Phone: (850) 414-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pace Secondary School
Tallahassee, FL





Franklin Academy
Tallahassee, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT