Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,253 students|Leon
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Rickards High School 5

Posted April 04, 2015
- a parent
My sons are still friends with those he made at this school. Although the school is lacking in some ways, the overall goal is to educate. The IB program turns out kids that are competent and poised to interact as leaders in our community and nation. I think it is the best education that Leon County has to offer. The teachers are dedicated, talented, and offer more support to students than is required of teachers in more affluent schools in the county. The diversity at Rickards gave my sons the opportunity to have friends with similar academic goals and ability as they. These friends are of many cultures, including African-American, Indian, Chinese, Nigerian, Egyptian, Native American, Philipino, Korean, and more. What a wonderful opportunity to go to school with children that are different from him, rather than to go to a school with a homogeneous population. It provides a very global experience. I am very glad that my children went to Rickards.

James Rickards High School 1

Posted July 03, 2013
- a parent
I absolutely hated my first experience with this school! Absolutely hated it! The very mention of this school gives me a headache. I should have listened when my son begged me to enroll him in another school for his freshman year. Now to withdraw him I'm having the hardest time. Ugh! Really? To withdraw? Ugh! Thanks alot for a very unpleasant experience for my son AND for me! And you wonder why you have three star's?


James Rickards High School 5

Posted November 01, 2010
- a community member
It's just like every other school people talk bad about this school but just like the other high schoolshere in tallahassee they have over 150+ graduate every year so they must be doing something right. You can't talk bad about a school until you have experienced it. People just give Rickards a bad name because of what people say. They do the same things that go on at other high schools. It's name is just worser, because they are on the southside of town. Now isn't that something to think about.

James Rickards High School 3

Posted November 18, 2009
- a student
This is my school zone, but i decided not to go because of the way Rickards has been brought out. IB is great and the new principal is awesome(she was my middle school principle)

James Rickards High School 5

Posted October 27, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent of a 9th grader who loves the school. His teachers are so good he doesn't want to miss school even when he is sick. The new principal has brough trememdous energy and enthusiasm to Rickards. The IB program is particularly impressive and graduates some the of the brightest students around. For example, the Mu Alpha Theta team (Math team) is one of the best in the country. Great math teachers including Ms. Funk, Mr. Fraser and Mr. Kiser among others.


James Rickards High School 1

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
This is the worst school I have ever seen. The only good thing is the IB Program, and it definately not worth sending your child there. The general students are irresponsible, and they are rude and ignorant. In my opinion they should move the IB Program to a school like Leon or Lincoln or Chiles. I walked onto the campus and immediatly felt unsafe. I don't even think the cameras work. There is barely any disipline, and none of the students there actually care about an education. Rickards is the reason I put my childrebn in private schools.

James Rickards High School 5

Posted April 02, 2009
- a student
With a new principal at Rickards, things have really turned around. As many of the posts below have described, the IB program at Rickards is fantastic, but was not valued by the previous administration. The new administration not only values IB but sees that it is the most important part of the school--the new principal is also very caring and involved.

James Rickards High School 3

Posted January 28, 2008
- a community member
The IB program is keeping Rickards from being a perpetul 'F' school. It's a great program that is both challenging and rewarding. As a former student, I would highly recommend to students that are willing to work a little extra in high school. Even with the challenging curriculum, I had plenty of time for extracurricular activities. I played a sport for 4 years and was also in the National Honor Society. As high as I rate the IB program, the opposite is true of the rest of the school. I completely disagree with the poster that said the administration works hard. It is very apparent that [the principal] would rather not have the IB program at Rickards, and makes decisions regarding the program accordingly. The parental involvement is practically nonexistent outside of IB parents.


James Rickards High School 3

Posted January 25, 2008
- a parent
If I could rate only the IB Program, this school would have 5 stars! The IB Program is a definate plus for this school. I am in agreeance with previous input here, if it were not for this magnet program the school would fail. The Administration shows a lack of concern from the learning environment to the extracurricular (including sports) The online grading system is great, but the teachers are slack in updating. It would be nice to have a principal that cared for the students, that would make all the difference in the world!!

James Rickards High School
no rating

Posted November 19, 2007
- a parent
As a long time parent and supporter of Rickards High School, I can attest to the dedication of the Principal and his staff. They work long and hard hours to make sure that the students and parents have what they need to be successful. There is not a harder working group of people anywhere in our district. The students appreciate the extra help with homework assignments, class projects and as a parent I appreciate having access to information that I need to insure my child's success. Rickards does not receive the positive support that it deserves from the local media, but those of us on the inside know what is really going on and what makes this school as successful as it has been. Our band has been invited to perform in the Orange Bowl in 01/08 and the academic and athletic programs stand shoulder to shoulder with any other school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James Rickards High School
3013 Jim Lee Road, Tallahassee, FL  32301
(850) 414-5500
Last modified James Rickards High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
James Rickards High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top