Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Amos P. Godby High School

Public | 9-12 | 1179 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 3, 2011

The teachers here are excellent and actually care about us we went from an F to an A school. I attend here and it is a great school. The leadership and staff do their job and do it effectively. The Academy of Finance and Academy of Information Technology are also great programs to help you get an early start on your career. Lastly if its one thing Amos P. Godby High school has. It is it's Cougar Pride
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2009

Godby maybe a F school this year, but i go there and i know these teachers try and teach the students what is expected. Godby has the IT academy and the AOF academy which i am in and its awesome. even though im deciding to move away for my 11th grade year. I know on top of everything this school comes out on top.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2009

I think this school has a long way to go to improve education.. This school is a D School!!! That isn't teaching our children...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

I love this school. Even with the flaws that it has...it is the most diverse school in Leon county. I have many relatives that has graduated and made a successful lifestyle for themselves. This school happens to be a eye opener to students and others that are outside looking in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2008

this school is a really bad school!!! the teachers here do not help me child. she comes home form school confused. they dont take the time to explain the things that the children do not understand. they need to take more time to help the kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2008

Godby is a great school with great people runing the school, sure there are a few exceptions but for the most part a great program all around. I graduated in 2003 with a 3.5 GPA and I participated in several sports such as football, weightlifting, shot-put, and wrestling. all the coaching staff is top notch and defently push you to do well in both school and sports with school always coming first, I would defently do it all over again
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2008

My child had many positive learning experiences at Godby, both through academic and extracurricular activities. While not every teacher was exceptional, the vast majority were warm, caring individuals who were truly committed to their students, and most were excellent instructors and leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2007

i am curently a senior at godby, and i honestly can not stand the school! i have been there for 5 years. only because of the class sizes! there is huge classes, some with 30-35 kids in them. the teachers get frustrated very easily, and as much as godby says that they are working on the racism problem, it is untrue! whether it be by skin color, personality, or ethinic background. if your child learns better with more teacher-student enviorment, godby isnt really the place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2007

Im concerned in the saftey of this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2006

well I graduated from Godby in 2002, and all I have to say is the school could us improvement. First off the faculty was not open minded at all. Over all the school didn't not impress me at all.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 14, 2006

I graduated from Godby in 2002 and I wish I would have stayed in Panama City. I went through 3 principals and many teachers left to go to Chiles. The current principaltold us we were his 'practice' class and that we needed to help him out. He made my Senior year horrible. I'm so glad to be away. They did not prepare me for college, many teachers didn't even show up for class half the time. We had a lot of subs.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 12, 2006

Academics is sub-par only students that are above average are paid attention to. Availability of music, art and sports is ok. The music is really lacking. Sports such as football don't help to keep the students on track with their academics while playing sports. Many gifted atheletes end up not able to get scholarships because they have not been prepared for the FCAT or SAT/ACT. Compared to the student enrollment their is very little parent support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

My children are happy at Godby. They have done very well there. I am not happy about all the cuts in budget which force out the fine arts - especially the band. The band director has been asked to teach chorus... and cut his band classes in half making it unavailable to students who would like to take it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

Being a 10th grader at Godby..I love the school..I think that if was given the time. that it could become a better school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2005

As a current junior at Godby High I believe that the way people potray our school is untrue. We are a good school and Godby does prepare you for college, I have a 3.8 GPA (in all Honors,AP,and gifted classes) and I got a 28 on the ACT, so what does that say? Also we have many extra-curricular activities and the parents are VERY involved. So if anyone has ANYTHING bad to say about GODBY,I believe that they are just jealous!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2005

This school is a great educational institution for my child. She has a 3.75-4.0 GPA, she is in band and she continues to excel in all education fields requried of her. I like a school that just does not focus on SAT scores .. but the over all learning for all classes to benefit the student as a whole. Thank You to the Teachers and Staff at Godby High School. Mrs. T. Parsons
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

My daughter is enrolled in the ESE program this was our first year at Godby and we have had great success. The Teachers for the most part where co-operative with her in setting goals which gave her growth without over whelming her. They also listened and offered suggestions in the IEP meetings which gave a mutual parent teacher balance.Over all the school has given her a good year of success compared to her Middle school that we made no progress if little maybe.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

343 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

284 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

261 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

228 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "F".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
41%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

356 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
49%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

237 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
49%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

249 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 70%
White 19%
Hispanic 7%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 164%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 69%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%58%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SHELLY BELL
Fax number
  • (850) 922-4162

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1717 West Tharpe Street
Tallahassee, FL 32303
Phone: (850) 488-1325

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Amikids Tallahassee
Tallahassee, FL



Gretchen Everhart School
Tallahassee, FL


Lively Technical Center
Tallahassee, FL


Hospital Homebound
Tallahassee, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT