Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 533 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2014

I absolutely love this school. The teacher's are experienced and truly love these kids. I made the mistake of moving my children to one of the new charter schools for a "better opportunity" and quickly realized my children were at an disadvantage because of the inexperience, disorganization and lack of professionalism. I raced my children back to Oak Ridge Elementary as fast as I could and was welcomed back with open arms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

You can't find better kids, or teachers and staff, than at Oak Ridge. We work harder, longer, and smarter than anyone!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2010

So many wonderful positive changes. It is a great place for children to learn and grow. And it is a wonderful place to work and learn and grow too.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 22, 2010

Oak Ridge Elementary teachers and staff have high expectations for our students. Through effective communication with parents and the local community we have established relationships that foster student achhievement at our school. We are making GREAT things happen.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 22, 2010

I love Oak Ridge Elementary School, Home of the Soaring Eagles for many reasons. Oak Ridge Elementary was my elementary school from Second Grade through Fifth. It has a home away from home envirnoment then and now. It's something special about this school and people who work here now and then. It's like you are apart of a very large family, working, learning and growing together. The Principal's have alway have a very personal touch to things, I remember my Principal use to tell a story at the end of the school year to all the 5th Graders before leaving. It was a story he told very year, but it was special each year to those students. Our teachers here find the most creative ways to teach and involve our students in all types of academic discoveries. Oak Ridge Elementary prides itself in a total academic plans. We believe in changing not only the academic knowledge of our students, by their social, levels of respect, attitude and self worth. It's important that the whole child is learning and just the ABC's and 1, 2, 3's. Oak Ridge Elementary, feeding the mind, body and attitude. There's not better place to learn. Natalie Paul
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

Oak Ridge Elementary is an awesome school. We have a community of learners, eager to make our goals.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 22, 2010

Because each child is loved and supported by every every one (staff) in our school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 27, 2005

Oakridge is a school that thrives on school spirit and excelling to loftier hieghts. They provide incentives so that the students will strive to excel. They are FCAT cautious which means they focus on no kid being left behind according to the goverment standards. However, by focusing on the FCAT I feel as if they are going over remedial skills. Therefore, falling behind on age appropiate skills which they should be mastering. I know that every school has troubled students but Oakridge has been given more than it's share and this too causes a disturbance in the class room atmosphere minimizing the teaching and learning capabibility. On a positive note the extra curricular activities such as the chorus ,the wings program (after school program), and Saturday School are excellent. Parent participation is encouraged and the parents are very supportive which is pleasing to see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

My daughter is second grade student at Oakridge Elemenatary. She has been going there for 3 years. I love the school. It is a wonderful with a wonderful principal leading, Mrs. Huckalby. My only problem is with her current teacher. I think she needs to take a personality class and learn what to say and what not to say to her students. She needs to learn how to take control her class. Other than this I am very pleased with the school, the principal and 95% of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
19%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 89%
White 5%
Two or more races 4%
Hispanic 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 49%58%61%
Master's degree 46%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. TAKA MAYS
Fax number
  • (850) 922-7145

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4530 Shelfer Road
Tallahassee, FL 32305
Phone: (850) 488-3124

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pace Secondary School
Tallahassee, FL


MLC Christian Academy
Tallahassee, FL



Sakkara Youth Institute
Tallahassee, FL


Franklin Academy
Tallahassee, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT