Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gilchrist Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1001 students

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2014

There are a lot of racists teachers in this school including the principal. I used to like Gilchrist, not until they started breeding some lazy and mean teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

My son has been a student at Gilchrist since Kindergarten. We've had fantastic teachers, and made wonderful friends. Cant wait for my daughter to go!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

We absolutely love Gilchrist! My daughter can't wait to start the second grade. Everyone in this school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

I was a student at Gilchrist for six years and, as far as I'm concerned, it is the best elementary school in Tallahassee. Thanks to the challenging lessons and Creative Academics classes offered there, I am maintaining all A's throughout middle school. I am in the eighth grade.


Posted September 17, 2009

It is a very multi ethnic and multicultural place. When they have the annual field day they begin with a parade of nations with each grade dressing up to represent a country and my child is a Chinese American so that matters to us and that there are others who look like her. Also it is a 'Blue Ribbon' school which proves what we already knew, that they work hard to make sure everyone is a successful student. They do cool projects like the 'Art in the Sky' project that combined learning about the indangered Whooping Crane with a cooperative aspect of making the huge crane on the ground using students and teachers bodies in the correct color shirts for the formation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

My son started 2nd grade in Gilchrist we are from Katrina In Louisiana he was not doing well in his reading. At Gilchrist they put him in ESE class and he has come a long way the Teachers have been wonderful with his taeching of reading this is his last yaer at Gilchrist. And I know for a fact that my son will miss his ESE teacher's thay spent one on one with him and have helped him alot He use to not know how to read and now he does Thanks to the Teachers this is a great school we were bless to have come to Tallahassee and have my children go to the best Leon Elementary school I also have a 3rd grader that is going to 4th grade next year and they also helped her in her reading in her regular class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

This school is not the school to send your child to if he has any kind of learning or emotional problems. They are very unsympathetic and seem to only want 'normal' students. I have gotten the feeling from administration as well as teachers that they don't like to be bothered with children that have any time of problems. The ESE program is a joke, my son has already repeated kindergarden and is on his way to repeating 1st grade. They tell me they are doing all they can which seems to be not much of anything. Some of the teachers/staff there need more training in dealing with children that have special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

Children are challenged academically and receive positive encouragement from their teachers. I am involved with my child's class as well as the volunteer tutor program. The parental involvement at this school is impressive. We moved from another state where our son attended a private school which ran close to a thousand dollars a month. I feel his teachers at Gilchrist worked harder with him as an individual to succeed than the teachers at his old private school. Overall, we have been pleasantly surprised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

We bought a home in the school district so our children could go to Gilchrist because it was rated so highly. Now, I'm concerned about the increasing number of low-performers/behavior problems showing up from the 'F' schools. It's hit or miss with the teachers. I wish there was a better system for learning more about the teachers themselves - like teaching philosophies, ratings by parents & school, classroom observation. As far as random assignment? I noticed the most involved parents' children are in the best classrooms. The standard line is - 'there's no room to move them once they've been assigned'. The absolute worst thing about the school is the location and start/end times. Too close to interstate, major NE intersections, etc. I'll bet Gilchrist has the highest number of tardies as well as FCAT & parent volunteer hours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

Excellent academics, excellent ESE programs, only issue is that they could use some sensitivity training. But otherwise I would recommend the school for it's academics and quality of teacher involvement with the children. One other minus is that I tried hard to get involved with volunteering but no response. Like they couldn't be bothered because I wasn't well known.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Of the four teachers with whom my children have spent a year, two of them were excellent teachers and two of them were worse than awful. I do not believe that is a great percentage. Also it is very worth considering the fact that it is basically impossible to switch teachers as Gilchrist is so full that another child has to want to switch at the same time in order for this to happen. This, of course, doesn't happen with any teacher worth switching to. This school gets extremely high ratings in the state of Florida. I am, unfortunately, left to believe that Gilchrist has quite a few exceptional teachers carrying all of the weight for quite a few terrible teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

This is my sons first year at Gilchrist, so far I have had a very good experience with them. His teacher is great, and I should know I volunteer 3 days a week. We had considered sending our son to a private school, but I'm glad we gave Gilchrist a try first, I can't imagine a better school. The only suggestion I could make is for them to have a little more control over the children as they leave to go home in the afternoons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

This is a wonderful elementary school. The faculty and administration are top notch. We moved here from the Chicago area as our son was entering the 3rd grade. We had a horrible experience with his second grade teacher there and were concerned our son would struggle to adjust. He fit in wonderfully. He is an honor student and has not had any of the problems he had in Chicago. The teachers are the best. The principal and support staff are available to you anytime. The parent volunteeers work harder than any I have seen. Five star A rated school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

Both of my children went to Gilchrist. Their years there prepared them well for middle school, high school, and college. I could not be happier with their experience at Gilchrist. They also have a great school song.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

Wonderful! The teachers take advantage of the family atmosphere to build a stong community. Field trips are interesting and help build the students awareness of nature and the environment. Buildings are clean and safe. A pleasure to work with the entire staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

This is the most excellent elementary school in Tallahassee. All three of my children have or are going there now, and I couldn't ask for any more out of a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2004

What a great school! My 1st grader is fulfilled, challenged, and treated as an individual with individual needs in his education. The school has strong support from all the parent involvement. I am glad I moved my child here!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

152 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 69%
Black 15%
Asian 8%
Two or more races 4%
Hispanic 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%58%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1301 Timberlane Road
Tallahassee, FL 32312
Phone: (850) 487-4310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rose Speech & Academic
Tallahassee, FL




Maclay School
Tallahassee, FL


1st Choice Academy
Tallahassee, FL


Sherwood Forest Academy
Tallahassee, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT