Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Apalachee Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 589 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted February 1, 2011

http://www.apalachee.leon.k12.fl.us/

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2014

We have children at Apalachee Elementary School. We moved from an A school to attend Apalachee. The principal& several teachers at the A school were not very personable & if you were not part of the "clique" ..oh well. We attempted to become active but was constantly ignored. Also, I felt my children were being targeted in a very negative way so we decided to transfer to Apalachee.The A school's Assistant Principle told us we were making a bad decision as parents. Well, four years later we are involved parents & our children have progressed quite well. I have found this community to be very political. Persons will try to discredit what they can't control or keep down. Apalachee continues to increase test scores each year, enhance their music& arts program, etc. As parents, we all want the same for our children. There is good, bad, smart, those with learning challenges, honest, dishonest, etc. people. in every race, color and creed. As a parent I strive to give my children the best. I may have missed the mark here & there;& Apalachee, like other schools in Leon County,have not always hit the mark either, but it doesn't diminish their commitment to excellence& to their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

My husband & I deeply regret ever moving to Florida and being slated for Apalachee. Since we arrived here our daughter who's special needs has dropped in all grades will have to remain in 2 grade no matter what and was attacked by two girls and victimized with no adult supervision and the teacher and school suspended my daughter by the word of an 8 year old. I lost all faith when she had stuff stolen and a boys been bulling her repeatedly but this was the icing on the cake. Needless to say she will not be returning next fall to Apalachee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

Apalachee is a great school! I would reccommend any parent who is looking for a school where the principles, teachers and staff are personable and caring. The cirriculum and the resources used by the school allows the parents to get online with their child so they can work along with the teachers at home. The first time I visited Apalachee seeking to transfer my son..every teacher I passed was friendly and smiled. At the time, I didn't realize it was the principal, but she was hugging and listening to the stories of the different students as they came up to her to share. This totally sold me especially after experiencing the principal and teaching staff of my son's previous school. My son transferred to Apalachee 2 years ago. His first year there he made the AB honor roll and his enthusiasm for school has grown. He also has an opportunity to participate in various extra cirricular activities which has allowed him to develop culturally. I would reccommend Apalachee to any parent. Although, they do not get the exposure or attention that most schools do...that is ok. As a parent, it was the best choice I ever made for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

When my grandson attended Apalachee the parent of a child he had a disagreement with was allowed to confront and threaten him in the presence of a teacher. The p0rincipal then completely ignored our concerns for his safety and told us that the parent would continue to be allowed to volunteer at the school and no effort would be made to ensure that she would not be allowed to have contact with this 8 year old child. The school board was also unresponsive to our complaints. Obviously, we ended up moving him to another district altogether.


Posted June 4, 2011

I used to attend ApalacheeK-5! Myu experience there was fantastic! I enjoyed my years at Apalachee. In the 5 grade, Apalachee had some honor classes in the subjects of Science & Social Studies. I was in both of those classes and I learned so much from that school. I wished they had a middle school program there because if they did I'll be the first signing up!lol! Anyways, I really admired their Performing Arts Program! Especially now since they have dance! This is the best elementary school in the entire world! I Love Apalachee!


Posted October 13, 2010

I love the infusion of arts into the academic curriculum.


Posted April 13, 2006

'Great Art and Music magnet program. Administrators and teachers very caring and involved. However, enforcement of discipline has declined. Teachers are increasingly overwhelmed with 'problem students' that the principal has no power to remove. Fights and bullying are on the rise so we put our child in private school. This is a district policy issue, but we decided our child would get left behind at this school.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

This school has qualified and responsible teachers. However, there are not much extracurricular activities. Parent involvement is also low. Student tests are getting better because there are new comers to this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

The academic programs are great. My kindergartner learned to read quickly. Some extracurricluar activities, not what I am used to from a Palm Beach school, also A rated. The main problem is lack of parent involvement - it is very obvious the majority of the parents don't participate - see little or no communication from the PTA/O, or efforts on behalf of the community to start up improvement projects for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

My children just started at Apalachee, they are both in Special Ed. preschool. They took a really long time to see me, didn't give me the proper paperwork when I finally got a meeting (a month later) and then gave me a lot of misinformation about dropping the kids off, etc. I got the impression that they school is not managed very well. The teachers and principal seem very nice and are well-meaning, but it's ridiculous the hoops I jumped through to get my kids started.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Seven years ago, my oldest child attended Apalachee. She entered as a 4th grader, continued on through the 5th grade. The school was a near perfect blend of strict academics and creative extra-curricular programs. 2004, I entered my youngest in K'garten and was woefully disappointed. The K program did not allow for kids who were prepared for K. Much of the day was spent in recess & Pre-K activities. Much to my dismay, Mrs. Milton (the teacher) generally ignored my queries about how my child's abilities would be addressed. In the 4th week of school I moved my child to a private school. The assigned teacher (in the new school) on my child's 1st day informed me that my kid would be tested. On the third day, the principal notified me that my child had in fact been 'tested' and would be transitioned into a first grade class - where she is now. This school is preparing my child for 'gifted' testing. My Apalachee experience was terribly heartbreaking!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
26%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 78%
White 11%
Hispanic 4%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%58%61%
Master's degree 44%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 2:50pm
School Leader's name
  • MS. IRIS WILSON
Fax number
  • (850) 922-0202

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

650 Trojan Trail
Tallahassee, FL 32311
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 488-7110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Rise Institute
Tallahassee, FL





Christ Classical Academy
Tallahassee, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT