Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

815 students|Leon
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fairview Middle School 2

Posted October 14, 2015
- a teacher
If you are considering a job at this school, DON'T! There are some wonderful people who put their heart and soul into the work they do for this school. There are also many disheartened adults at this school who have been beaten and broken by the administration. The administrators will choose favorites, lie to your face, bully you, and continually fail to back you up, to the point where many people who have worked there for years become complacent or chronically negative about their jobs. If you value your integrity as a professional, until there is a full turn over of administration at this school, take your resume elsewhere and don't look back!

Fairview Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted October 14, 2015
- a teacher
They are great teachers in a horrible situation. If they got positive feedback and administrative support, they could be so much more effective.


Fairview Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 14, 2015
- a teacher
If you are in the general program, just enough. If you are in the IB program, expect HOURS of work every night and weekends filled with projects.

Fairview Middle School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 14, 2015
- a teacher
Bullying is rampant at this school. Administration is doing nothing to remedy the situation and teachers are overwhelmed.

Fairview Middle School 5

Posted May 20, 2015
- a student
Its an amazing school with great opportunity for your child, to help them strive in academics.


Fairview Middle School 1

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
Fairview seems pleasant at all of the orientations and events, but I did not experience that on the inside. The administration would lie to me about what they had told my child, and they did not make my child feel welcome. They would bully him and manipulate him into thinking he was a bad student, which he wasn't. Some, not all, but some, of the teachers would choose obvious favorites, and given that the administration didn't like my son, he was never a favorite because of all of the GOSSIP that the staff would be involved in. Two of the administrators, would sit in their office on Pinterest, when there was important business to be taken care of. They just take advantage of the parent volunteers and make them do their work for them. Unless you devote countless hours to the IB Program, your child will get zero favors or likes from the administration. I do not recommend this school unless you are VERY involved in your student's school life. So unless you're a stay at home mom with all the time to spare, I would not personally go to the school. ALSO< Fairview lost their official IB certification, and they still claim to be an IB school. NONE of my son's credits were transferable. . .

Fairview Middle School 3

Posted April 19, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attends the IB-prep program. All the teachers are fair, challenge the students and want to see them succeed except a Math teacher. If your student likes Math and needs a challenge, this is not the school. If your student loves Math and does not need direct, then they will do well in this program.

Fairview Middle School 1

Posted October 26, 2010
- a parent
Fairview is a bad school! My son got shot there in his arm. So i immediately took him out of that school. That school got bad children going there. Its just to bad!


Fairview Middle School 5

Posted October 28, 2007
- a parent
The pre-IB program was great for me! I learned to organize my time better and to be a much more successful person in life. Thanks much to all of my teachers who inspired me to be the best I can be! -Brie

Fairview Middle School 4

Posted August 01, 2007
- a student
Fairview's pre-IB is a great program. The education is great, but the building isn't that good. it's a bit dirty & the bathroom's aren't the cleanest. but Fairview is still a great school.

Nearby schools

Fairview Middle School
3415 Zillah Street, Tallahassee, FL  32305
(850) 488-6880
Last modified Fairview Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top