Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Killearn Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
Perfectly stated - great teachers, involved parents, great facility. I didn't get to rate the front office staff, they are usually rude and I don't look forward to interacting with them, which is a shame, because they are a bad first impression for a great school.

Killearn Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
We recently moved to Tallahasse from out of state and chose the Deerlake neighborhood because of the top-rated schools. We were very impressed with Killearn Lakes Elementary. Our daughter came in mid-semester 5th grade was behind Florida standards in math and reading. After her teachers got to know her a few weeks, we had a conference and made a gameplan to get her up to par. The teachers made themselves available for her as she came in early everyday for extra help. Today, my daughter graduated with a 3.66 GPA fully ready to matriculate to Deerlake Middle School. I cannot say enough about the superior quality teaching and curriculum at KLES. The teachers were very timely, informed and friendly in their responses to any and all inquiries I had. I can say without hesitation that your child will receive a fine education at KLES.


Killearn Lakes Elementary School 1

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
My kid told the principal that if the classroom were a color, it would be gray. The principal listened. And did absolutely nothing to change the situation. Nothing. For a year. My kid gradually changed from a youngster eager to learn, who enjoyed KLES, to one who cried at the thought of returning to school the next morning. My kid started calling KLES "Camp Nightmare", during a developmental stage that should have fostered hands-on learning, creativity, self-expression, academic discovery. Instead, despite repeated requests for help, my kid spent a year learning to hate school. An optimal learning environment for every child? Or just for the principal's child? Yes, *her* kid was sitting in a different classroom every day, with an engaged, stimulating teacher. Meanwhile, my kid (I was told by the principal), might have a stern boss someday so the "gray" classroom should be seen as a helpful life lesson. If it was so helpful, why wasn't her kid forced to endure it? What a hypocrite. It's been a few years since this experience with KLES, and I still seethe when I think about it. Bottom line: KLES is all about which teacher you get. Pray that you get a good one.

Killearn Lakes Elementary School 2

Posted September 19, 2011
- a parent
Though my son had one passionate, dillegent and nurturing teacher, in the 3 years he attended KLES, the others were arrogant, and appeared to be there for a pay check. The administration seemed intent on only maintaing their rating, by requiring "teaching to the test." Front office staff also, were very arrogant. This school is good, if you are looking for the superficial

Killearn Lakes Elementary School 2

Posted August 25, 2011
- a parent
The test scores are reflective of the gene pool of this area and the parenting in this affluent area. The teachers are mediocre, and only focus is FCAT. The principal is a power-hungry, vindictive, rude and haughty individual who when called out wrong: idea of "apology" is "I'm sorry you misunderstood me". No, you were clearly understood and WRONG. Her main skill seems to be rolling her eyes. Very disgusted with this administration, especially when best interests of children placed behind principal's ego.


Killearn Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
great teachers, involved parents, great facility. I didn't get to rate the front office staff, they are usually rude and I don't look forward to interacting with them, which is a shame, because they are a bad first impression for a great school.

Killearn Lakes Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
Teachers at KLES are loving and caring. They teach with great professionalism, yet show each child they are unique and special. The school maintains it's excellant rating by treating each student with respect and great expectations.

Killearn Lakes Elementary School 3

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
KLES is a good school, with dedicated teachers, a supportive administration and involved parents. Art and music and technology and P.E. round out the curriculum and are not fluff - the level of instruction in these non-core areas is in-depth. The reason for only 3 stars is complex: (1) shouldn't this be the average for all schools? Just because KLES is doing a pretty good job doesn't mean KLES is above average...shouldn't being pretty good be about the middle of the curve? Above average would include: Foreign language, more hands-on learning, student teacher or teacher's aid in each classroom to help the teacher...those things would make a school Above Average (2) handling the pressure of FCAT is starting to wear down the school - the administration, the teachers, the staff and, most significantly, the kids are tense and on edge because of an inability to handle the pressure. Blue Ribbon not!


Killearn Lakes Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
They have the most amazing and involved teachers and principal! There is a lot of parent involvement as well. Absolutely fabulous!

Killearn Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Killearn Lakes Elementary School
8037 Deer Lake Dr E, Tallahassee, FL  32312
(850) 921-1265
Last modified Killearn Lakes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Killearn Lakes Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top