Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hawks Rise Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 835 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

Hawks Rise is the best school in the universe!! I love all the staff and everyone there including the teachers!! They all work so hard!


Posted September 10, 2013

Hawks Rise makes students their #1 priority (Student Safety, No Bullying, Makes Learning Fun and Parent Involvement)!!! I am a believer in that "Happy Students - Assures Students Excelling!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2011

we love this school. Our child had a hard time adjusting to 1st grade. Her teacher was patient and very caring. recongnizing her weak as well as strong areas. Encouraging her in a way that really motivated her and made her want to try even harder. We had doubts about moving on to 2nd grade, but with her teachers support and caring, gentle pushes in the right direction she is now ready and we look forward to next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

You should be aware that my 5th grade student's CLASSROOM SIZE is 23 KIDS, not 15. My 3rd grade student's CLASSROOM SIZE is the same. This is not unusual for this school. We have been at this school for 3 years now and between 2 kids have had 6 classrooms between them and ALL have been over 20 kids in each class!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

This is an excellent school. It has the private school qualities at no charge. The student per teacher is not 15. It is 22 plus per teacher, but they seem to handle it. They have wonderful programs for students who need extra help in both reading and math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2006

I have two children at Hawks Rise - a gifted child (very organized and motivated), and a child with a significant learning disability (also motivated & very close to the gifted range). Neither have behavioral problems & both are very social. The difference in treatment of these children at the administrative level is disturbing. Many of the teachers are dedicated & amazing making up for this. The school has a great deal of discipline, but, at times goes overboard. Parents are great as well as the strings program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2006

Education is excellent due to the teachers, the area in which the kids are from, and from parent involvement with the kids at the school. Normal special area classes are offered, but where's the Spanish class that was created during the run for the National Blue Ribbon Award? It was cancelled right after they won it! Poor taste! Also, this class was not made available to all students, just those hand picked by the principal. Again, poor taste. Principal has issues dealing with and communicating with adults and is very opinionated. In summary, this school is great for education but be prepared to deal with a poor administraion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

Excellent school that typically has high standarized test scores. Parents are actively involved and the PTO provides wonderful oppurtunities to volunteer through the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

Our children's education and safety is the most important element in our effort to provide the highest 'quality of life' for our family. As a result, we elected to move from an 'A'-rated school in Orlando to Tallahassee... specifically to Hawk's Rise. Both of our children (first and third graders) excel in the entire curriculum, and are constantly challenged through advanced teaching methods. Both teachers quickly identified each child's ability, and subsequently set goals above the grade level norm in areas like math and reading. Our children exceed the challenge as a result, and are enthusiastic about their learning experience... this was not previously the case. Parents at Hawk's Rise are very involved in their children's education, and this is expected. Education is taken very seriously at Hawk's Rise, with the principal, the teachers, the parents and the students. We believe it is the best school available, anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Hawks Rise is an excellent school, rated as the best in the state and among the 100 best in the nation. But its achievements are mainly based on the base of students and their parents, not just on some exceptional teachers and administration. When staff is presented with students with exceptional intellect, from high achieving parents who value education, how could they not succeed? Demographics rule here. Atmosphere is very goal-oriented, with reflecting test scores. It is the equivalent to sending your child to a private school. Parental involvement is high and so are extras based on parental funding. Kids are happy, but occasionally stressed. Definitely pushed to fit a mold. Your child will succeed at the level their capacity provides, without any dangers or fears from bad influences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2005

This wonderful school provides quality academic programs closely following the Sunshine State Standards and the benchmarks determined for each grade. There is a level of professional development in the faculty and an eagerness for every child to learn. There is a special designated time for each grade level to have access for the 'special areas' such as music, art, media, guidance, etc. There are also plenty of extracurricular activities for students to join. The parent involvement in the school is extraordinary - the community supports the school!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted August 14, 2005

Hawks Rise is in all likelyhood the best elementary school in Tallahassee. The teachers are not only extremely nice, but also superbly prepared, and the principal does a wonderful job running the school. My two daughters have loved every minute they have spent in this school, as they have very good academic programs and the teachers are quite inventive during the leisure time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2003

This is a fabulous school. The August 2003 commment seems a bit over the top. While every school undoubtedly has some problems, blaming the principal in such a way seems uncalled for. Mrs. Brinson (the principal) is a wonderful administrator who listens to parents, respects her teachers and loves our kids. Who could ask for more? I wouldn't move out of this school zone for anything. Both my kids will stay at Haws Rise throughout elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2003

We are very proud to send our children to Hawks Rise for several reasons. This academically sound school continually makes efforts to inspire well-rounded children. Emphasis is placed on academic excellence as well as Character Education. The Principal and administration personally review the standing of each student to ensure that individual needs, academic and otherwise are continually being met. Thanks to this hard working team, our school will be awarded with the distinction of having been an A school for the last five years. A recent article in our local newspaper reported that Deerlake Middle School, also a National award winning school, attributes its success to the quality of its feeder schools, including Hawks Rise. We feel privileged that our children have the opportunity to be a part of this school of caring leaders and we are confident that they will be well prepared for future successes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2003

Year after year, testing results indicate that Hawks Rise is simply the best elementary school in the county and the state. The teachers through all grades are tremendous and truly dedicated to their art. The administration is very supportive and encourages parental involvement in all aspects of the educational process. Also, the PTO is very active and well-funded. Hawks Rise excels due to exceptional parental involvement, a deep spirit of volunteerism, and the generous support of community partners. We have three children at Hawks Rise and could not be happier with the education they receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2003

I am a current parent of two children at Hawks Rise. It is a phenomenal school with wonderful teachers and administrators who produce children who test among the highest in the state. My children excel in the classroom, love their teachers and cry if they are sick and cannot attend school. I'm offended by the previous comment before mine and wonder what type of person would make such ugly, false allegations on a site like this. Isn't that slander? I certainly hope this one person's opinion would not dissuade anyone from considering Hawks Rise for their children. It is an outstanding school and I'm sure 99.9% of all parents would tell you the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

The school is great and the parental involvement is probably the best in town. The teachers so far are loving and very capable of making sure the students are prepared. Downside: The administration is poor. The principal has trouble communicating with parents on their level.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

139 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 65%
Asian 13%
Black 13%
Hispanic 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 50%58%61%
Master's degree 48%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

205 Meadow Ridge Drive
Tallahassee, FL 32312
Phone: (850) 487-4733

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Epiphany Lutheran School
Tallahassee, FL


Maclay School
Tallahassee, FL




Sherwood Forest Academy
Tallahassee, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT