Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Tallahassee, FL
Students enrolled: 835
 

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

17 reviews of this school


Hawks Rise Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a community member
Hawks Rise is the best school in the universe!! I love all the staff and everyone there including the teachers!! They all work so hard!

Hawks Rise Elementary School 4

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Hawks Rise makes students their #1 priority (Student Safety, No Bullying, Makes Learning Fun and Parent Involvement)!!! I am a believer in that "Happy Students - Assures Students Excelling!"


Hawks Rise Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2011
- a parent
we love this school. Our child had a hard time adjusting to 1st grade. Her teacher was patient and very caring. recongnizing her weak as well as strong areas. Encouraging her in a way that really motivated her and made her want to try even harder. We had doubts about moving on to 2nd grade, but with her teachers support and caring, gentle pushes in the right direction she is now ready and we look forward to next year.

Hawks Rise Elementary School 3

Posted February 13, 2011
- a parent
You should be aware that my 5th grade student's CLASSROOM SIZE is 23 KIDS, not 15. My 3rd grade student's CLASSROOM SIZE is the same. This is not unusual for this school. We have been at this school for 3 years now and between 2 kids have had 6 classrooms between them and ALL have been over 20 kids in each class!!!

Hawks Rise Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
This is an excellent school. It has the private school qualities at no charge. The student per teacher is not 15. It is 22 plus per teacher, but they seem to handle it. They have wonderful programs for students who need extra help in both reading and math.


Hawks Rise Elementary School 4

Posted October 23, 2006
- a parent
I have two children at Hawks Rise - a gifted child (very organized and motivated), and a child with a significant learning disability (also motivated & very close to the gifted range). Neither have behavioral problems & both are very social. The difference in treatment of these children at the administrative level is disturbing. Many of the teachers are dedicated & amazing making up for this. The school has a great deal of discipline, but, at times goes overboard. Parents are great as well as the strings program.

Hawks Rise Elementary School 4

Posted September 30, 2006
- a parent
Education is excellent due to the teachers, the area in which the kids are from, and from parent involvement with the kids at the school. Normal special area classes are offered, but where's the Spanish class that was created during the run for the National Blue Ribbon Award? It was cancelled right after they won it! Poor taste! Also, this class was not made available to all students, just those hand picked by the principal. Again, poor taste. Principal has issues dealing with and communicating with adults and is very opinionated. In summary, this school is great for education but be prepared to deal with a poor administraion.

Hawks Rise Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2006
- a parent
Excellent school that typically has high standarized test scores. Parents are actively involved and the PTO provides wonderful oppurtunities to volunteer through the year.


Hawks Rise Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2006
- a parent
Our children's education and safety is the most important element in our effort to provide the highest 'quality of life' for our family. As a result, we elected to move from an 'A'-rated school in Orlando to Tallahassee... specifically to Hawk's Rise. Both of our children (first and third graders) excel in the entire curriculum, and are constantly challenged through advanced teaching methods. Both teachers quickly identified each child's ability, and subsequently set goals above the grade level norm in areas like math and reading. Our children exceed the challenge as a result, and are enthusiastic about their learning experience... this was not previously the case. Parents at Hawk's Rise are very involved in their children's education, and this is expected. Education is taken very seriously at Hawk's Rise, with the principal, the teachers, the parents and the students. We believe it is the best school available, anywhere.

Hawks Rise Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
Hawks Rise is an excellent school, rated as the best in the state and among the 100 best in the nation. But its achievements are mainly based on the base of students and their parents, not just on some exceptional teachers and administration. When staff is presented with students with exceptional intellect, from high achieving parents who value education, how could they not succeed? Demographics rule here. Atmosphere is very goal-oriented, with reflecting test scores. It is the equivalent to sending your child to a private school. Parental involvement is high and so are extras based on parental funding. Kids are happy, but occasionally stressed. Definitely pushed to fit a mold. Your child will succeed at the level their capacity provides, without any dangers or fears from bad influences.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hawks Rise Elementary School
205 Meadow Ridge Drive, Tallahassee, FL  32312
(850) 487-4733
Last modified Hawks Rise Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hawks Rise Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top