Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Tallahassee, FL
 

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

18 reviews of this school


Swift Creek Middle School 5

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is very well organized. Teachers and administration are family friendly and enthusiastic about students and learning. They have rewards in place to motivate students, such as "howl out" on Fridays. Both a resource and safety officer are on campus throughout each day. There is a full time dean of discipline who interacts with students on a daily basis and the administration encourages students to care about/respect other students and exercise prosocial behavior, which is just as important as academics. We have been very happy with Swift Creek.

Swift Creek Middle School 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
A very well out together middle school, it is the only middle school in the Leon district an surrounding districts to have all 16 years that the Dept. Of Edu. have been giving grades and has been a very high A all 16. Swift Creek tends to score in the high 70s or low 80s when it comes to testing. Swift Creek has nothing but nice, friendly and caring faculty and staff members, it is truly one big family. Mrs. Rishell is another one of Swift Creeks many fantastical principals!!!


Swift Creek Middle School 5

Posted July 24, 2013
- a parent
I have two children at Swift Creek, overall an excellent school. Great parent involvement and attentive teachers. Very safe environment, never had a concern about violence or drugs. Sports and extracurriculars are great, very pleased with Swift Creek.

Swift Creek Middle School 5

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
Teachers at Swift Creek truly care about their students. They have gone through several administrators over the past few years, but the teacher involvement with the parents and students remain constant.

Swift Creek Middle School 5

Posted November 01, 2012
- a parent
Great school. A lot of changes this year it seems. Kids are still getting a great education because the teachers really care about them. Morale is definitely down among staff and faculty.


Swift Creek Middle School 5

Posted November 13, 2011
- a community member
This middle school has been A+ going on 12 years. This past year it went up in all core academic areas which include Science, Reading, Writing, and Math on state tests. It is the only middle school which teaches Creative Writing as a mandatory subject, and it has an excellent bridge to Advanced Placement program. The school is safe with a top rated SRO officer. It is in the middle of a beautiful and safe residential area.

Swift Creek Middle School 3

Posted June 02, 2011
- a parent
I have been very impressed with some, but not all, of my child's teachers. Communication is "hit or miss." Some teachers don't use the internet at all, so it is impossible to get missed work that way. Some teachers don't update the parent portal regularly, so you can think your child is doing OK in a class and then find out at the last minute that he/she is not. Finally, for verbally gifted children, the so-called "bridge" classes are not challenging in content. There is a challenging AMOUNT of work, but a lot of the work in some classes is filling out worksheets. Apart from one very good writing class, my child has had no real writing assignments in the "bridge" program. If you have a child who is very verbal, take a look at other options.

Swift Creek Middle School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2009
- a student
I was a student at SCMS from 06-08. I honestly loved that school, it was extremely fun. Most of the teachers were nice. The enviornment was very safe, and scms was like one big family. I totally recommend this school to any middle school child. i promise you'll love it!


Swift Creek Middle School
no rating

Posted September 20, 2008
- a student
I'm a student at SCMS and I love it. Clean, spacious classrooms, clean lunchroom, all complete with a courtyard and the best S.R.O officer you could ask for. They truly care about students' safety and comfort. For example, there was and overload on my bus and they did everything in their power to get my stop with at least 35 kids to get their own bus to relieve the overload and it is accomplished and i feel so safe. I'm also an office aide and the office administrators are very friendly and patient especially the secratary and vice principal! We have been an A+ school for 10 consecutive years and running! And we've got the plaques to prove it!

Swift Creek Middle School 5

Posted April 27, 2008
- a parent
This is truly a school that I would recommend to every parent. The administration at Swift Creek truly cares about the kids and works hard to see that every child succeeds.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Swift Creek Middle School
2100 Pedrick Road, Tallahassee, FL  32317
(850) 487-4868
Last modified Swift Creek Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Swift Creek Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top