Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Florida State University School

Charter | K-12 | 1690 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2014

It's okay academically, however we have issues with administration. We've had 4 principals since I've been at this school (6-12) as well as a few poorly performing teachers. Overall I think my school is overrated and not at all what it appears to be.


Posted July 2, 2014

This school is not anywhere you want to send your child. The main focus of the school is the "dress code" which is a joke. They completely ignore the growth of knowledge and true learning, there are probably 7 teachers out of the whole school that actually care about teaching the students. The counseling is also horrible, they don't help with your future at all. The school is unorganized at everything, events, clubs, sports. You don't even get your schedule until the first day of school and they don't make them until the week before school starts. They also have bad communication with the parents, plus it's a lab school so it's just FSU treating your children like unpaid lab rats.


Posted August 16, 2012

At the time of my involvement , I thought the school to be very good. But that has been many years ago..


Posted November 30, 2010

After 9 years at Florida High, I think of pulling my children out daily. The constant change in the administration is mind boggling. I find the majority of high school teachers mediocre at best. There are a few that are phenomenal but it's not enough. The athletic department needs help drastcally. Sports for girls seem to be secondary, the coaching staff turns over every year if not more often. Very inexperienced to say the least. The director of the Athletic Dept is ancient and should have retired years ago. He is rarely seen. Communication is poor from all angles but ONE english teacher. Our elementary experience was a good one, I'll add but since most teachers have been "let go" with the advent of a new admin last year, I can not in good conscience recommend this school to anyone. I'm so very disappointed in the current Florida High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The individual attention given to the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

I am a mother of three, and all of my kids are currently at FSUS. I think that I couldn't be a happier mom than to see all of them at FSUS.Whenever we think of moving from Tallahassee, my biggest concern is 'Would I ever be able to find such a good school for my kids again'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

I am am a ninth grade student at Florida High. I live in Jefferson County, which has awful schools, so Florida High was truly my only option. The Elementry was phenomenal, except when they added 'stations' during my 4th and 5th grade years. The elementery teachers were wonderful overall, with a few expetions. Then came middle school, which had many unstable teachers and many teachers who don't last more than a year. The science and math teachers are unexeptional, but the English and History ones are wonderful. It was not as good as the elementary, but was decent and I had no major problems. Then came high school, and right now after finnishing my first week I am extremely dissapointed. It is soooo random, had mostly bad teachers, I have awful unmotivated classmates, and I am begging my mom to send me elsewhere. Not recommended for smart kids with potential!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2008

I like this school. My kids are getting a good education. As long as the parent stays involved and keeps pushing issues that you are concerned with they will be handled. My oldest is into sports. I do believe there is a disconnect between adminsitration and athletics, but for the most part I am pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2008

So much better than other schools in tallahassee. Is not the best but overall safe and a pretty okay school. It is not dirty. Some teachers are the best I have ever had in my life, however there are a few horrid ones. Good principals. Nice school I do recomend it and I go here si I know!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2008

Garbage everywhere. Environment for 5th grade and up is extremely poor. Angry teachers who do not care whether child learns or not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

Extreme dress code, teaher quality inconsistant across the board. Pulling my two highly able sons out after a decade. They are not learning anything. Enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

Academic level, for starters, is dazzling. My kids have learned so much at this school. If they weren't learning anything, I would have pulled them out by now. Campus grounds are kept clean 24/7. The floors are regularly mopped, and the bathroom toilet seats are okay to sit on. There are hundreds of clubs and sports. My son is in 6! Parents are allowed to volunteer for anything. Serving lunch, arts and crafts, even to lecture a class! If every school were as safe, secure, clean, and most important, scholarly, as FSUS, every school would be amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

My children have been at FSUS since kindergarten. Elementary teachers and administration were excellent. Middle school teachers range from excellent to poor. However, the new middle school principal is excellent. High school has been extreme disappointment, mainly due to poor/weak leadership administration. Thinking of leaving the school for the first time after 8+ years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

For teachers their is lack of accountibililty. Administrative doesn't communicate with parents. Also high teacher turnover.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

Mediocre academics for a lab school; discipline policy and dress code for upper level students are draconian; seems to be catering strictly to upper income Southwood residents, diversity of student population has decreased dramatically over the past few years. Teacher communication poor. Top heavy on number of administrators and principals. High teacher turnover, many first year teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

Our daughter is in K so our experience is limited but we have been extremely pleased. Her progress has been amazing and she loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2006

No gifted program, high teacher turnover. The only thing it has going for it is the front desk staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2006

Dirty school building and grounds. Children wander with no supervision. Academic programs mediocre to luke warm. The whole school has gone downhill in recent years. high teacher turnover. Avoid if possible. D-
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

My 2 children have been attending FSUS for 3 years. I haven't been overly excited about it. We were very lucky and came from a great school district with ESE programs that actually were used. The 'gifted program' does not exist here. If you are looking to challenge your child, this is not the school. We are pretty much stuck here unless we move. From the kids viewpoint, they like the people there and most of the teachers. There does seem to be alot of turnover. I know they get student teachers in and I don't know how much that disrupts their learning cycle. They just seem to be very disorganized. Replacing teachers, principals etc. On the other hand, there are teachers that have been there for many years. I'm not sure what is going on there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

We live in Jefferson County. Our son has been going to FSUS since 8th grade, he is now in 11th. FSUS admin, teachers, and curriculum have been outstanding. The choice of classes has been varied and has helped him to become a well-rounded young man.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

181 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

162 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

164 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
88%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
54%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 49%
Black 29%
Hispanic 14%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Female 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 99%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 24%22%61%
Master's degree 70%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 6%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • DR. ELVIS EPPS
Fax number
  • (850) 245-3997

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3000 School House Road
Tallahassee, FL 32311
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 245-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Florida Virtual Academy
Tallahassee, FL



Sakkara Youth Institute
Tallahassee, FL


Pace Secondary School
Tallahassee, FL


MLC Christian Academy
Tallahassee, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT