Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,732 students|Fsu Lab Sch
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Florida State University School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 23, 2015
- a parent
THEY DONT HAVE TIME UNLESS YOU ARE THERE IN THERE FACE CONSTANLY UNTILL THEY ARE TIRED OF YOU

Florida State University School 1

Posted December 23, 2015
- a parent
IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A "SHOW" SCHOOL THIS IS THE PLACE....THE ADMINISTRATION STAFF IS THE WORST THEY TRULY DO NOT CARE ABOUT THE CHILDREN AT ALL EVERYTIME SOMEONE COMES IN AND MAKES GOOD CHANGES FOR THE CHILDREN THEY GET RID OF THEM....AND ALLOW THE FOOLISHNESS TO KEEP GOING IT IS HORRIBLE I CAN HONESTLY SAY YOU WILL FIND NO MORE THAN 10 YEARS IN THE INTIRE SCHOOL THAT TRULY CARE AND WANT TO HELP THE KIDS I HAVE BEEN A 13 YEAR PARENT THERE AND TRUST ME FOR WHAT YOU PAY AND ALL THE EFFORT YOU HAVE TO PUT IN...IT IS DEFETNELY NOT WORTH THE HEADACHES ALL THEY CARE ABOUT ITS APPERANCE THATS ALL AND SO MANY CHILDREN ARE ALLOW TO DO CERTAIN THINGS THAT OTHERS CANT ITS ABOUT WHO YOU KNOW....IT USE TO BE A GREAT SCHOOL MANY YEARS AGO NOT ANYMORE....ITS OVERRATED SUCH A DISSAPOINTMENT


Florida State University School 2

Posted May 09, 2015
- a parent
The guidance counselor Ms. Kennedy is the most incompetent individual I have ever encountered. The administration have turned this once proud institution located on campus to just another inner city underachieving public school. Thank god my youngest child is graduating. Of course we can look forward to the transcript not showing up on time at her college like my sons a few years ago. If you cannot afford private school and live in Gadsden or Jefforson County this is your only alternative but keep in mind you get what you pay for.

Florida State University School 1

Posted January 27, 2015
- a parent
This school is an incredible disappointment. We intend to follow the lead of other families and withdraw our child after the end of the school year. While there are a handful of highly effective teachers, our experience has been that most of the teachers are disorganized and uninspiring. The administration does not prioritize academics and learning, which is our greatest disappointment given the school's affiliation with a major state university. We continue to be amazed by the school's "A" rating since the school's standardized test scores are consistently at or near the bottom of the list of comparable public schools in Leon County. If you are looking for a school that places a premium on education and helping students prepare for the rigors of college and beyond, this is not the school for you.

Florida State University School 1

Posted November 02, 2014
- a community member
Do not send your child here. The administration is incompetent, and does not care about the futures of the children. I withdrew my son from this school because he was miserable and worried about his future. Now, he's in a positive learning environment, has a great social life, and has been admitted to all of the colleges that he has applied to.


Florida State University School 3

Posted July 26, 2014
- a community member
It's okay academically, however we have issues with administration. We've had 4 principals since I've been at this school (6-12) as well as a few poorly performing teachers. Overall I think my school is overrated and not at all what it appears to be.

Florida State University School 2

Posted July 02, 2014
- a community member
This school is not anywhere you want to send your child. The main focus of the school is the "dress code" which is a joke. They completely ignore the growth of knowledge and true learning, there are probably 7 teachers out of the whole school that actually care about teaching the students. The counseling is also horrible, they don't help with your future at all. The school is unorganized at everything, events, clubs, sports. You don't even get your schedule until the first day of school and they don't make them until the week before school starts. They also have bad communication with the parents, plus it's a lab school so it's just FSU treating your children like unpaid lab rats.

Florida State University School 4

Posted August 16, 2012
- a community member
At the time of my involvement , I thought the school to be very good. But that has been many years ago..


Florida State University School 1

Posted November 30, 2010
- a parent
After 9 years at Florida High, I think of pulling my children out daily. The constant change in the administration is mind boggling. I find the majority of high school teachers mediocre at best. There are a few that are phenomenal but it's not enough. The athletic department needs help drastcally. Sports for girls seem to be secondary, the coaching staff turns over every year if not more often. Very inexperienced to say the least. The director of the Athletic Dept is ancient and should have retired years ago. He is rarely seen. Communication is poor from all angles but ONE english teacher. Our elementary experience was a good one, I'll add but since most teachers have been "let go" with the advent of a new admin last year, I can not in good conscience recommend this school to anyone. I'm so very disappointed in the current Florida High.

Florida State University School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The individual attention given to the students

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Florida State University School
3000 School House Road, Tallahassee, FL  32311
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (850) 245-3700
Last modified Florida State University School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top