Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Tallahassee, FL
Students enrolled: 1,942

3 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lawton Chiles High School 1

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
The administration is unnecessarily rude and unfriendly. They do not go out of their way to help the students.

Lawton Chiles High School 1

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
Those working in the front office are of little to no help to parents and students.


Lawton Chiles High School 1

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
Ladies in the front office always carry an attitude. There is noneed for them to be so brash

Lawton Chiles High School 4

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Chiles High School has a large population which makes it hard to have consistent structure. Dress code violations abound and teacher inconsistency makes it difficult for students to adapt. Some teachers are ridiculously strict and other extremely loose. The office staff doesn't create a warm atmosphere and is somewhat intimidating when you want to interact personally - email and phone calls are better received. The school is achievement driven and sets high academic standards so motivated students will excel if they make good choices and pick the competent teachers. There seem to be lots of cliques (typical of most high schools) and because it is so large, that can make it tough on "new to the area" students.

Lawton Chiles High School 1

Posted August 30, 2013
- a community member
Can I give this so-called school zero stars? At Chiles, you're either a favorite or an outcast. If you are the latter, then you will not benefit from anything this school might offer.


Lawton Chiles High School 1

Posted December 20, 2011
- a parent
The School should be held accountable for the many students that act out inappropriately. There are way too many trouble making kids that obvsiously are school for other reasons than to learn. Other committed students suffer as there is too much profanity, contraband and skipping of classes.

Lawton Chiles High School 2

Posted May 13, 2011
- a teacher
Too many spoiled, trouble-making kids are allowed to act out here. It's unfair to the ones who want to do well and actually learn/succeed. I substituted here as a teacher and couldn't believe the horrible behavior that is tolerated. The teacher's grade books were full of entries about the same kids I had problems with acting out constantly. Why are they still in this school?! Put them in alternative high schools and stop them from interfering with the other students' education.

Lawton Chiles High School 3

Posted June 22, 2010
- a parent
Office staff is unfriendly, intimidating, and uninterested in students (and parents to!). Most teachers are helpful and great w/ communication. I've found that some coaches who are teachers are usually the worst. They are mainly focused on their sport and not on the kids. ESE students receive support, but as a parent, you have to stay on top of things, or they will be overlooked.


Lawton Chiles High School 0
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
It is a safe school and provides the best High School curriculum

Lawton Chiles High School 0
no rating

Posted May 11, 2009
- a parent
I have now had two children who will have gone through Chiles high. I've been extremely pleased with the education, the extracurricular activities, the leadership of the administration and the teacher and coaches. I also have to add the parental involvement is truly amazing. With a relatively new school as Chiles their incredible reputation for college prep has spread throughtout the southeast like wildfire. I also want to commend the parent involvement. This is huge. I've never been part of a school whose parents did and donated so much time and ideas. Keep up the good work. Go Wolves!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lawton Chiles High School
7200 Lawton Chiles Lane, Tallahassee, FL  32312
(850) 488-1756
Last modified Lawton Chiles High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lawton Chiles High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top