Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roberts Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 794 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2014

We love Roberts! The teachers there are the best! We have nothing but good experiences in our 4 years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

We've been very pleased with the attitudes & culture at Roberts. We have a Special Needs family member who is in the best possible class situation. Roberts makes every effort to meet the needs of each student. As we pick up this child every day we see an extremely well-run school in which respect, kindness, inclusion, order & high ideals are valued & displayed.


Posted May 14, 2013

We had both of our children at Roberts. One was in ESE and one not. I thought the ESE teacher's that our daughter had we're fantastic. I can't believe what I'm reading about the ESE program. There were some things that I didn't agree with, but they were discussed and handled. The confidence that she left with was due to that amazing team. Our other daughter had a wide variety of teacher personalities throughout the years, which made her a stronger, more confident student and person. I think a lot of those teachers up there care and love all of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

this school is full of hypocrites and teachers pretend to care for our children, when in fact they really do not care. all this school worries about is making money and the children who are in ese are mistreated. ese is the worse possible place for any child to be. beware of these foxes and their smiles on their faces, because as the name shows it, a fox is a fox!!! parents, roberts is an environment where all staff memebers worry about is statistics! this school is a shame
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2012

An amazing school.Principal is lovely and teachers are wonderful! My daughter truly loves it there and the teachers love working there. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

I had a child on the honor roll at Roberts the administration want her to repeat the 3rd. Why so my child s test scores would not count toward the school grade. Also so in the future it would not matter what my child scored on the FACT they could pass my child because an ESE child need only be retained once. How was this helping my child? If you have an ESE child do not send them to Roberts or any public school. They don t care about the child just the school grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

My child was bullied at Roberts. The principal and teachers did nothing to protect my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

In the 2011 county-wide writing contest for both public and private schools, Roberts was the only elementary school with finalists at every grade level. With seven finalists in the Kindergarten category alone, it is obvious that they offer quality education in writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Roberts Elementary has loving caring staff through out all grade levels, high parent involvement, strong active PTO, and high academic achievement levels made by students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

That school is safe and secure. My son grade is getting better and better. I m planning to send my daughter over there too
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

My children have been at Roberts since March of 2008. The teachers are excellent, the PTO is very active and volunteers are plentiful! The campus is very well kept and my children are very happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

Roberts is a very good school wuth dedicated teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

I just got done giving a presentation to the kindergarten class. I was impressed from the moment I walked into the front office. The school is very secure. You are required to give your driver's license for background check as a visitor. I was escorted to the class. The teacher had wonderful things for science and nature. Lots of reptiles, a bunny, eggs in an incubator about to hatch. Wonderful demeanor toward the kids. The media center is better than our community library.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Roberts Elementary dedicates itself to quality education for the children who attend. The teachers and other staff are committed to the individuality of the students and their needs. My child has been at Roberts since it opened in Fall of 2001. This fall my middle child will enter kindergarten there. I am proud of Roberts Elementary and support it's efforts to educate our children. Hillary Clinton once said 'it takes a village to raise our children', I am proud to be a part of the Roberts Elementary village.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

I had a daughter who had to transfer to Roberts in the Forth grade. She was not happy, but with the help of the Guidence Counciler and her fourth grade teacher, my daughter was able to adjust. Her fifth grade year she achieved straight A's for all four semesters, something she could not do at her old school. As a parent volunteer I came in contact with many of the staff and teachers I felt everyone was a delight to work with. This school just opened two years ago, but you would think it has been around for awhile, because of its high standards.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

147 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 77%
Black 15%
Hispanic 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%58%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5777 Centerville Road
Tallahassee, FL 32309
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 488-0923

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Woodland Hall Academy
Tallahassee, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT