Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

325 students|Leon
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tallahassee School Of Math & Science 4

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
The beginning of the school year was rough with administration in regards to some policies & the younger children. It is now clear that the issues I had with this are beginning to be changed including a new registrar who has proved to make a world of difference. This school has by far made a turn around in my eyes and academically my child is doing A's and B's better than ever!

Tallahassee School Of Math & Science 5

Posted November 13, 2015
- a community member
This is the best school in Tallahassee! My daughter is learning so much and most importantly, she feels safe and happy. The teachers are caring and always available for students and their parents.


Tallahassee School Of Math & Science 5

Posted April 06, 2015
- a community member
This school is a great school the math Olympiad is very fun and educational everything is very fun and the tutoring after school are fun and helpful

Tallahassee School Of Math & Science 5

Posted April 06, 2015
- a community member
Stars is a great school for math. We have many competitions for Math Olympiad. We also have a college mentorship program. Our school is like a family. We stick by each other's side.

Tallahassee School Of Math & Science 5

Posted April 06, 2015
- a community member
This is a wonderful school. The small school allows the teachers to be more connected with the students. Free tutoring and clubs allow students whose family is low on money to get more help from their teachers. There is a Math Olympiad club that not only helps students learn more about math, but also have the opportunity to compete with their friends in competitions. There is also a College Mentorship Program (CMP) that helps students prepare for college. In this club you can get an understanding of what you want to do in college, and also prepare for the SAT. All in all, this is a great school that provides students with a great learning experience.


Tallahassee School Of Math & Science 5

Posted December 10, 2014
- a parent
Stars is an excellent small school. It is not selective or exclusive like a small private school. It doesn't have the negative aspect of a large, impersonal public school. The teachers are extremely hardworking and dedicated. My son is a very smart, kid who tests limits and has done so at every school he has attended. The same is true here, but somehow they are teaching him to curb that tendency and he is starting to learn the value of hard work: his own hard work! I love the cross-section of kids in the school. He loves school and appreciates his teachers again, as he did when he was much younger. Other schools had turned him against school and learning. That desire is back and growing!

Tallahassee School Of Math & Science 5

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. My daughter is actually learning, not memorizing. I love the interaction that the staff have with both parents and students. The staff and clubs motivate the students to explore subjects. Stars is an A+ school!

Tallahassee School Of Math & Science 5

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
I have NOTHING but GREAT things to say about Stars. I have had two children graduate from Stars. My children were in the advanced classes and I feel that their education was very good. My son got a very high score (almost perfect) on the writing FCAT, higher than he had ever gotten at previous schools. The administration is strict, but neither of my children had problems. The teachers worked extra hours to make sure my children would do well on the FCAT. Often my child would go for free tutoring on Saturday for FCAT help. I have never heard of any other school doing this. I am very pleased with my children s time at Stars and would highly recommend the school to others.


Tallahassee School Of Math & Science 1

Posted May 28, 2013
- a community member
This school is terrible. My little brother goes to this school and it has constantly been a problem. One of his teachers took his Ipod and lost/stole it, which the principal and assistant principal refused to do anything about and completely ignored. Not to mention that they are either constantly running out of food during lunch, or the bus that he is supposed to ride home often doesnt come to the school, and then they call me at 3 or 4 in the afternoon when Im at work asking met o come pick him up. Do NOT go to this school. And lets not forget that I paid for him to go to the end of the year field trip to Wild Adventures, and when he got there he wasnt allowed to ride the rides because he was wearing jean shorts, which we were NOT informed he wasnt allowed to do. Ridiculous!! The problems start at this schools staff and administrators and continue on downwards.

Tallahassee School Of Math & Science 5

Posted January 31, 2013
- a community member
It is a great school. I think everyone should go take a look at it. My niece goes there in 8th grade after moving from 4 other schools during her middle school years. "It is the SAFEST school I have seen" she says. Small school. class sizes of about 18 students. Great after school activities that she wants to stay everyday for another club. Math & science teams, different sports teams, tutoring and so. Staff are very enthusiastic, they love their students. I wish I was at a school like this when I was a kid.

Nearby schools

Tallahassee School Of Math & Science
3434 North Monroe Street, Tallahassee, FL  32303
(850) 681-7827
Last modified Tallahassee School Of Math & Science is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top