Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tamarac Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 880 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2014

As a parent I have to say that there is not one good thing I can say about this school or it's staff. My 2 kids went to this school for only 2 years and it was the longest grueling 2 years we have ever encountered. They claim to stop bullying but it's a joke because some of the teachers bully more then the kids do (my sons teacher). The teachers they had are awful and the head principal is lazy and only cares about sitting at her desk drinking her Coffee Coolattas and handles nothing. Also when you go to her for a problem she defends the one that is wrong and makes the innocent one feel so belittled it's a disgrace. If you ask me I would NOT recommend this school to anyone. Also one particular staff member who works in the office is so unprofessional and rude. It amazes me how some of these people get hired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2014

Tamarac Elementary is a great school and I highly recommend it. My son has learned a lot and the staff treated him like family, everyone is very respectful. My son is graduating in June and we are going to miss everyone from the school. The teachers are great, they have a lot of experience and are very kind and helpful; every single teacher that my son had was amazing. He had the highest scores in the FCAT and BAT exams and is in a gifted class with Ms. Ryals, who is a wonderful teacher. Mrs. Weber (Applegate), Mrs. Kaplan, and Ms. Laighold, were his teachers also, and I can recommend each of them as kind, professionals,and amazing persons. I thank the staff in Tamarac Elementary, for giving my son the best education and being supportive throughout these years. We will miss you guys!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

I'm a parent that my son has been at Tamarac Elementary for 4 years now. I would like to take a few minutes and Thank all the staff at the Tamarac Elementary, I would like to start with my favorite one Ms Smith. Excellent teacher very experienced. Nice, sweet and funny. I wished that a teacher like her will follow my son until college. I want to mentioned also the other teachers that my son had the past three years. I will start with Ms Larsen, Ms Snider, Ms Bernstein. Special Thank You to Ms Ray the Principal. Thank You for everything!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

I have been involved with Tamarac Elementary for 8 years. I have seen the change in Principals, decline in budget and change in demographics of the kids. Mrs. Ray has opened the lines of communication with parents (those who want to hear) and she and her staff have the students' education as a first priority. No school is perfect, nor are the parents or staff. The SAF Chair is also an avenue to use for school wide issues. Positive volunteers, without a personal agenda, are needed in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

Some teachers are great, but most are not. This school has a high rate of retention into the first grade. There is no activities or projects whatsoever. The staff in the office is rude. If you want your child to be a failure, then this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

Back when I first started teaching, I had several offers, but held out for Tamarac Elementary. I have never regretted my decision, considering myself very lucky to work with such caring, dedicated people in an environment that feels like a family school on a very large campus. In addition to providing an excellent core curriculum, we offer a Garden Club to help enhance the beauty of our campus with its large butterfly garden and plethora of native species of plant life, Chess Club, Recorder Club, American Sign Language Signing Chorus, and Drama Club. I always enjoy meeting the parents and family members during our Curriculum Nights, and appreciate the supportive PTA. Despite real budgeting concerns that eliminated these considerations at many schools, we are fortunate to have specials that include music, art, media, and physical education (in an air conditioned gymnasium that was *beautifully* renovated earlier this school year). My sincere thanks goes out to all of the families who entrust their children to our care. It's a pleasure to work in such a wonderful, safe, enriching environment as we work to help those precious little people thrive!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2010

Too regimented in academics and too unstructured during co-curricular activities; very few fun learning programs; way too much hysteria over FCAT. Some teachers berate the children, other professionals yell and degrade the students, even the good performers. It's obvious the students get little discipline at home and constantly disrupt the classroom; this is NOT a school for a smart, well-behaved child. We spent 1st & 2nd grades there; I volunteered and saw a lot. Thankfully we moved out of the area and now love our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2010

I recently moved my son from one scool toTamarac Elementary thnking that it would be an even better school for him. Mind you, he had good grades at his previous school. My son is in 5th grade and now that I have moved him, he is struggling. He brings home so much homework that he has no time for outdoor activities. I believe that they focus more on FCAT than actual learning that they will need for their future. I am tired of having to try to figure out his homework. I do understand that he needs to prepare for middle school & than high school, but they just send too much home. I have a child in High School as well and she rarely comes home with homework; most learning is done in the class and mind you, they have 7 classes in one day. STOP FOCUSING ON FCAT!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

To the parent who wrote yesterday...How would your child do today if he took the FCAT? That is the true test. I had three children at Tamarac Elementary and they all did well there. My 6th grader (now in 8th grade) was more than prepared for middle school. Now my children are in another state and are still excelling thanks to the foundation that was built at Tamarac and our hard work at home. Not everyone can afford private school and even if you can, it doesn't mean that your child is receiving a better education. Tamarac isn't perfect but it is one of the best. I also feel that most of the staff and especially the principal are doing their best and they really care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

We used to love this school until we saw the FCAT and big classes. They cared about FCAT bonuses and not education. Try Malachy in Tamarac. We moved our child there in 3rd grade and he excelled tremendously. No FCATs! They have so much more time with each child and every class is very small. Lots more benefits at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

I am very happy that my 2 granddaughters started their education at Tamarac Elementary. One is now in middle school, but the other will soon be going into 5th grade. I can't say enough about the wonderful and caring teachers, staff and PTA which make Tamarac an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

Both of my boys attend Tamarac ELementary. How safe I felt with my children attending school. As my older child needs to transition to middle school I am very scared. Tamarac has such a wonderful environment for young children. Although, I am nervous about my child leaving elementary I thank Tamarac for preparing my child for the future. Thanks to al special teachers, Mrs. Snider, Mrs. Moss, Mrs Herring, Mrs Grell, Mrs. COnlin, Mrs. Samuels, and Mr. Novajosky. Nothing buy good things to report
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2007

Tamarac elementary is a superb school for my child.Her first grade teacher Mrs.Cohen is very supportive,patient,and kind.My daughter is truly happy in her classroom.And as a mom that makes me feel rest assured that each and every day my child goes to school she will be at home away from home
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

Great school + great teachers + great staff = Successful Students! Tamarac is the best school for your children to start their education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

Tamarac Elementary School is one big family. All the teachers and staff work together to help our children achieve academic success. They have some of the best programs around to help students succeed. The school works together with the parents and the community to ensure our children s needs are taken care of. They have one of the greatest PTA's I've ever seen. Add this all up together and the school gets an A+ rating from me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

My daughter has attended tamarac elementary since 1st grade. Her teacher was ms. Cohen. She is an awesome teacher. I would definetly reccommend her for any student. Also in 3rd grade ms. Crocket was the best teacher, I came across for my daughter. She had the patience and took the time to explain to each student whatever they needed assistance with. She certainly deserves an awesome teacher of the year award. And again in 5th grade, my daughter loves ms. Steinberg. She is kind, sweet, and understanding with each student individually, she too deserves a teachers award for best teacher of the year. Personally, I want to thank all of the front office staff for the outstanding job they do in proctecting our children. And let's not forget, ms. Miller who does an outstanding job when it comes to helping people. Tamarac elementary rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2007

Both of my children attend Tamarac Elementary. They love the school and all of their teachers have been FANTASTIC! The PTA does a great job with special events such as Winterfest and the Book Fairs, even though parent participation could be better. The kids look forward to these functions every year. The school administration is great! I know that these administrators and teachers truly love Tamarac Elementary and sincerely care for each and every child who attends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

I felt that my child had a home away from home when he was at Tamarac Elementary. The respect,attention, and true care that my child received from his teachers throughout his elementary school years will never be forgotten. Tamarac Elementary School will always remain a great memory in my child and my hearts. The teachers dedication to their students was superb. I recommend Tamarac Elementary to any parent looking to give their child the very best in education, involvement, and a fantastic start that shows from the caring staff at the front office, and other supporting staff, to the awesome dedicated teachers, to the caring guidance from Deputy Lippek,all the way to Mrs. Seiler, Principal whose leadership shines throughout. The material given to the students each year prepares them well so that they can take on any challenge the faces ahead in middle school. Parent involvement is welcome and appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

Two of my children attended this school. I was very pleased with the teachers. Both of my children were high performers. Parents need to be more involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

No communication at all from the school to the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

170 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 38%
Hispanic 31%
White 25%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 16%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%53%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ROBERTA RAY
Fax number
  • (754) 322-8640

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7601 North University Drive
Tamarac, FL 33321
Phone: (754) 322-8600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Alazhar School
Tamarac, FL




Pinewood Elementary School
North Lauderdale, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT