Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Millennium Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1347 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2010

From what is written here, students and parents of Millenium students don't seem to know how to use proper grammar or how to spell words correctly (or even just use spell check). What a shame.


Posted May 3, 2010

My son attended millennium for 1 month - in that month he was bulled by several older children before school while waiting for the bell to ring and school to start. I have never been to a school where the faculty yelled and hoolered constantly, instead of setting an example by talking to the kids. Once the morning bell rang - It was like herding cattle yelling , directing and more yelling. What a great way to start your morning. Our overall experience was unsettling with the schools within the Broward County School District. Safety - well with all the camara's and escorting kids to and from the restroom, and police on campus. you would think my answer would be yes. But its not. If this enviorment works for you and your children Great. My over all experience was terrible, I suggest looking into a different school for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

I love it my child use to be in the below average classes now she is in gifted class
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2010

My child has been going to millennium for the whole 3 years se made freind joined the basketball and track team each year.The school is great from the teachers to the principal dr.Cendan.Take this from me you may only hate the school if your child is pretending.My freind said when her child went there the food was horrible the teachers rude and the students just mean but when my child attended the school she had the time of her life.This school is safe the time is good.And the teachers are great and i hghly recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2009

I just graduated from MIllennium and I use to say I hated it, but they had so much going for them. Besides having a handful of amazing Teachers, Ms.Garrido, Mr.WIllis and Mrs.Leppeck all the other teachers stribe for sucess. Even with the rude office staff and seemingly pointless busy work, if the student trys they can achieve.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2009

Malachy is an excellent school, if one has the money for it and wants a faith based school. Many people can't or don't want to do that. Most public middle schools will have big classes, not just Millenium. However, we feel MIllenium's hours are horrible (9:30AM-4;30PM). Add in to/from time, dinner, extra activites and such, we can't imagine what time these kids go to bed since they also have to get all their homework done. Even if they do homework in the morning, they'd have to get up earlier. We just think kids need a life outside of school, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

We used to love this school until we saw the FCAT and big classes. They cared about FCAT bonuses and not education. Try Malachy in Tamarac. We moved our child there and he excelled tremendously. No FCATs! They have so much more time with each child and every class is very small. Lots more benefits at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

this school is safe and has a great way of classes they are all organized by team and groups
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

This is the best school in West Broward. My child got an excellent education by caring teachers. Mrs. Barnes is truly a dedicated educator. I am looking forward to another great year at Millennium.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2008

My daughter is now quiting from her second year in MMS and the school is the biggest disapointment i have ever been through the school food is disgusting not to mention my daughter found a piece of hair and a fly in her food on 3 different occasions in the same year. The teachers hand out grades just to raise the schools grades and the students are the ones who suffer. My daughter is now in Westpine middle and she is extremely happy, has straight a`s that she actually earned and the food quality is top notch. I wuld reccomend Westpine to any parent that cares about there childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

I highly recommend Millennium Middle School to any parent. Their academics and extra curricular activities they offer are far better than the schools around. My daughter was in a different school or 6th grade and this year her scores and grades improved. Teachers communicate via email and the front office staff is very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

They repeatedly lose track of my child, making her unexcused when she is actually in school. Summer reading and writing assignments are due the first day of school and are part of your student's 1st quarter grade. Lunch line capacity is inadequate- some students must eat in less than 5 minutes. Lousy PE program. Students are 'tracked' by ability level in core classes. Advanced and gifted programs are good. Graduating students will be split between Piper and Taravella HS depending on where you live. Quarterly TIP projects can be a real nightmare. Uniforms are required. 4:30 dismissal time really interferes with recreational activities after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

This school should bes known for for gangs, non parent involvement and teachers who truly could care less about a student. My daughter finally was transferred to another school because of the above. She received always an A in LA and now in her new school she received a C. I asked the teacher why and he stated she does know the basics. Two months later she is back to an A. This school hands out grades to up their mark as a school when the students suffer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I just had my first experience with middle school and this was not the right one for us! The teachers can only control the kids so much so no matter how they try, the bulling is still there. The very bad lang. is extremly bad and the kids are totally out of control because they think that the kids are now old enough to be unattended. We are out of here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

This school could care less about the students and only cares about Fcat and testing. This is the wrost school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2008

I am so pleased with this school. The YMCA staff for before care is great. My child is ESE and the school has really made a difference. The teachers and aides are very caring. The school is very responsive to diversity and student needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

Millennium Middle School is an excellent school in western Broward County. The students have many opportunities to learn through tutoring programs. My child attended Saturday and afterschool tutoring. The administration is excellent and very responsive to parent needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

Great School. Extracurricular activities are plentiful. Curriculum is top-notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

I highly recommend Millennium Middle School, extra-curricular activities are great The teachers and administration are the best. I would highly recommend this school to friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2007

I would highly recommend Millennium Middle school to anyone in the western Broward Community. My child is moving on to high school and got an exceptional education with test scores that increased over the three years. There were so many extra-curricular activities that there was something to do everyday. The teachers and administration were very caring and concerned. The safety/security of my child was a priority as there is someone at the door to make you sign in. The only drawback would be that there are many students that don't have correct guidance at home. Therefore, my child did come home and tell me stories that I wish I did not hear. Parents need to remember that the school is there to educate and that parents need to control and take responsibilty for their students actions. Thanks to the many challenging school programs, my child is prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

412 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

412 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

404 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

447 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

329 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

471 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

427 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

469 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

539 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 55%
Hispanic 21%
White 16%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%53%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 15%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • DR. CHERYL CENDAN
Fax number
  • (754) 322-3985

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5803 Northwest 94th Avenue
Tamarac, FL 33321
Phone: (754) 322-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Touchdowns4life
Tamarac, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT