Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Millennium Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1347 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 15, 2007

I am a very disappointed parent with an 8th grade student at MMS. He has been there for all 3 years and the programs in place for education are pointless. The CARE class is 30 minutes wasted in the morning, when they could be starting their first class that is instructional. The BEST folder is an empty grade, their is too much weight on the quarterly project and the STAR log is a joke. If the kids are going to read they will read. The office staff is very rude and nobody returns your call when you leave a message. I am very worried about High School after this very unorganized middle school experience. They need to focus on the basics and not only the FCAT. The teachers are out way too much and the kids are put into another class or they have a sub.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

MMS is not a good school at all. The Administration leaves alot to be desired and the kids are not all given an equal chance to succeed. Unfortunately, my child and his friends have been 'targeted' by the administration as being 'difficult' and as a result, their parents and I have no respect for the three ring circus that Millennium is. Some of us, as single parents, have to work for a living and do not have time to volunteer at the school therefore, this should not be an issue as to whether the school is great or not. Others are 'privileged' enough to be stay at home parents and have all the time in the world when the rest of us are in the real world! I would definitely advise incoming parents and students to find an alternate school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2007

I am a very satisfied parent of a graduating 8th grade student. My child spent three years at Millennium Middle and got a very challenging education. The administration is outstanding. They listen to needs of the students and provide an exceptional role model for them. The clubs and afterschool activities are plentiful. The only drawback is that there is no parental involvement. Parents complain, yet are never there to assist the school. I think parents should have to donate 10 hours a year to make this a better school. I would highly recommend this school to friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

millennium middle school is such a great school i have been there since 6th grade and now i am heading to 8th all the tachers are wonderful they explain things to all the kids so we could perfectly understand them i mostly don't need help with my homework since they also seperate the kids into groups from lowest,average,and advance it is wonderful because they get thought at their level and not all the same well i will tell anyone to go to this school it just great
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 19, 2007

Unfortunately I have nothing good to say about this school. This is my son's first year at the school and already there were two incidents which the faculty & administration addressed poorly. This is the worse school I have ever had the displeasure to be involved with. The faculty & administration leaves a lot to be desired. I am desperately seeking a new middle school for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2006

Academically Millennium Middle School is great. However I have spent more time trying to get things to teacher through its front office by phone, fax, and hand delivery.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2006

This is my daughter's first year at this school. I have to judge it by her smile, the first day she got off the school bus. She made friends immediately and appears to be challenged and interested in her classes. She also seems to like all of her teachers. She finds them entertaining, organized and strict. The school appears to be quite well run, from what I can tell so far. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Millennium is a great school with one major problem. Parents don't want to put any sweat equity into making it what it could be. When there are meetings about the curriculum and school improvement issues (SAC/SAF) maybe 5 parents show up. Where there are events at the school that are for the entire family, parents drop their kids off and run. What makes a school great is not just interactions between teachers and students - it is the involvment of parents that make a school great. Whenever I hear a parent complain, I know they are not active at the school because if they were they would know all of the time and effort the teachers and Principal put in to helping the kids learn. We had one of the highest scores this year on the FL Writes test - 4.2! It is a great school. Volunteer your time and find out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

This is a good school, with good teachers, an a good principal. School has a brand new building and a very nice location. My only concern is that some teachers are extremely focused on discipline aspects, uniforms, no talking, neglecting other aspects that are more important for me in education:encouraging the children to love the school and giving them incentives to stimulate their creativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

First year open MMS was awesome with wonderful parent involvement and discipline enforcement. Second year was a major decline in many areas including leadership and discipline. Third year even worse in all areas. Several excellent teachers left each year. We were very happy my child finished MMS and went into High School, which is much less academically stressful and produces better student grades. The school ended up being a major dissapointment ... especially in the area of discipline. We were overjoyed to leave MMS and never looked back when we left the last day of school. It was such a relief to leave. Teacher turnover rate is quite high each year and superb teachers continue to leave MMS yearly. There were a handful we really loved over the 3 years my child was in attendance and we miss those few; however, administration is an entirely different story. Truly a dissapointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2005

This school is very involved in sports such as softball, basketball, vollyball and etc. It is new and uniforms are required. It is extremely safe. The teachers are...well it depends. And administration is starting to get the hang of things regarding paperwork and conferences...
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2005

Being a newly developed school, it shows potential. But you must start with a whole new staff replacement starting with the principal. Our children need role models who care and are involved in their daily lives since they spend most of their day at school. Coming from New York the curriculum was not as advanced but some teachers were on top of their students and showed dedication in what they did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

As a parent, with my son being at Millennium for his first year (2005), I am impressed with the attention of most teachers to the educational instruction of the students. The expectations for the children are set high and teachers follow through on their word. Electives are varied and offer diverse activities. Consequences of behaviors is appropriate and allows all youth the opportunity to change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Totally dissappointed with the school. The school principal lacks leadership and good judgement. The teacher do their best with what they have. I believe it could be a much better school under new leadership. Current does lacks the passion, committement and involvement of a true educator.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2003

i thought it was a nice year in millennium middle school. thanks to all my teachers and explorers a!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 15, 2003

This was my son's first year at Millennium and I must say I was very pleased with the teachers, curriculum and the overall response of the school. This was the first of any Florida school I was happy with.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

412 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

412 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

404 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

447 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

329 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

471 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

427 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

469 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

539 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 55%
Hispanic 21%
White 16%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%53%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 15%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • DR. CHERYL CENDAN
Fax number
  • (754) 322-3985

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5803 Northwest 94th Avenue
Tamarac, FL 33321
Phone: (754) 322-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Touchdowns4life
Tamarac, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT