Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Millennium Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1347 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

54 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

They offer a good program, but they cant offer you safety. It is really dangerous, a lot of bullying on campus. The principal is the worst principal on the Seminole Public School System's payroll. I dont recommend this school if you care about your child well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2014

HORRIBLE SCHOOL. As has been said in most comments that I have read, the teachers and administrators DO NOT CARE about the students, they preach about bullying but do NOTHING about it. Even when parents try to stay involved with their student's activities and grades and other school interests, the administrators and teachers are very irresponsible and show absolutely no interest in working with the parents. This is one of the worst schools my girls have been in. This is the last year my daughters attend Millennium and I AM SOOOOO GLAD. The school was so much better a few years ago, I thought that since it had a decent rating and was in a good area, that the education and environment was going to be a good one, big mistake, from the quality of the Administrators, the Teachers and the Students, I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANY PARENT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

Dangerous school. This is my sons 1st year in Millennium Middle school and he has had the worst year ever. He has been bullied and assaulted by students. The administrators have not provided any assistance in helping my son nor helping their school from bullying. Administrators are quick to leave the school at 4:30pm along with the kids. Principle is very rude, inconsiderate and very unprofessional. Drug and sexual activities on school grounds. Students do not respect the teachers. Teachers dressing provocatively discussing personal issues instead of educating students in class. The worst school ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

the teachers are quite rude except for about 2 out of 7 good teachers a year the teacher also had constant favoritism award the favorite children and to those who had missed a couple of assignments would already have 0's! also the staff also has no control of us students, other students are so out of hand a 1 kid and the entire school and challenger evacuate into the hot sun! the principle is only around for the morning and afternoon, allowing her assistant principles to do any interacting with the students. they also set our classes by fcat scores! if your in advanced and your failing, so be it! you'll be stuck in that class for an entire year! not to mention the cafeteria food! every time i eat some i feel like throwing up for the next 2 hours! and have you seen our test scores! disgusting! we don't even get a proper education. oh and if you child is ever being bullied it will be completely ignored! they also have a thing called a "bully box" were you stay anonymous and tell if your being bullied, well guess what its hardly ever checked! please, to all those parents out there thinking about sending your child to this "A" school,do your kid a favor and DONT! -An mms student


Posted December 4, 2012

now this school has pretty good teachers who are willing to work with you but there are a handful of horrible ones i enjoyed. I'm now in 9th grade and wish i could go back!! the kids were well.... okay i guess but in the end i found a good group of friends it all depends on you in the end. the lunch umm well some days it was good others you wondered what is on my plate. i also liked that in ^th grade you have your own building and they are very sctrict with bullying. they also have uniforms that arent all that bad it saves you sometime in the morning. overall i liked my time there i would just watch out for certain teachers.


Posted November 23, 2012

I went to this school 5 years ago, and I enjoyed my middle school years attending Millenium . But the administration was EXTREMELY unprofessional and if I may say, ghetto. My mother hated this school because of how unprofessional the staff in the front office was. I was bullied, and the school could care LESS. No body helped me. I remember security threatening to strip search every kid in my class because a student lost a 5 dollar bill..... Very odd now that I think of it.


Posted July 29, 2012

This school is amazing!!!!!! I love it!!! Iam a student thats has dealt with some "bullying" problems in 6th grade and now I'm in 8th. I can't think of any school that has awesome teachers. The academic level is very accurate. Overall the field trips here are unbelievable. Also the ratio of students to teachers is good. My favorite school and teachers' ever!!!


Posted April 27, 2012

My Daughter is in 7th grade at Millennium Middle. I am not pleased with any aspect of this school whatsoever & have been trying diligently to get her enrolled into Coral Springs Charter School since last year. She has been bullied "off & on" since last year by different groups of girls & when I have notified the school, I was informed by the guidance counselor, Mrs. H, that because it was a "first time thing" it wasn't considered bullying.REALLY???? I kinda lost it...that response did not make me happy AT ALL!!! All it takes is one time for something bad to happen & I'm not willing to take that chance with my child. Also, in order to have anything followed up on, don't count on administration/staff to do their jobs....I had to do leg work myself to have a mistake removed from my daughter's attendance record.They accidentally had her listed in internal suspension for a day because another child with the same first name as her was in I.S. that day so they decided to put that on my daughter's record.Why not? Same first name=same child.right? It's ridiculous!! Then there's the complete lack of professionalism with some of the teachers..signing their emails as "The Billionairess"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2012

Coming from a concerned parent, it's sad that a few teacher's can ruin the entire experience. If a teacher continues to compare her middle school students to her experience of what it was like when she taught high school, it makes the students feel bad that their not on that level. I have experienced firsthand what it is like dealing with two specific teachers that constantly favor, push their political views and are outright unprofessional to some of the students. These teachers have had the principal sit in on their classes and the students have told me how the teachers "change" when any type of administration is around. Seventh grade is hard enough, why make it anymore difficult on these kids?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

hi i am in 5th grade i have heard many good things about millennium middle school and would like to attend.. please write another review regarding if i am making the right choice or if you may think Rocklake middle school may be better sincerly 5th grade student thank you :-)


Posted July 21, 2011

The teachers strive to do their best at Millennium. Unfortunately there is overcrowding but the principal is always leading the school and keeps specials going. My second child is attending Millennium he has always been on the honor roll, still is. When things go wrong I email and receive a response very quickly. When I see things lacking I ask and get a conference with all his teachers. As a parent, the reality is attending the parent nights, they have a lot of them. The timing is sometimes difficult, I may not make it to every event but it has been worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

I am very pleased with Millennium. I have had two children go through this school and feel that both got a solid education. I read many of the comments from other families and do not agree with their comments. I feel that Dr. Cendan is willing to give her time to any parent. I had an issue at the end of the year and not only did I get an immediate phone call back, the problem was resolved very quickly. If your child does their part, they will be prepared and successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

This is my son's first year at Millennium. His assigned school was a failing school so we were able to choose. I regret making the choice of this school. When I asked the principal why my child was in advanced math but he continually failed, her answer was "what were his FCAT scores?" which is no answer at all. When I replied no matter what his scores are, this class is too advanced for him, she said there was no choice. I do not believe that a child could be left to fail an entire year based on 1 test score from the prior year, with no recourse. then, at the end of the year, you can SELF PAY $25 per week for course recovery at 7:30AM or $125 per week for summer school for 3 hours a day. Admin and 6th grade teachers are less than happy to communicate with parents. Sometimes, downright hostile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2011

I am currently an 8th grader at Millennium Middle. It has been one of the most wonderful experiences in a school I have ever had. The teachers truly do try their hardest to work with you and your educational needs. The lunch isn't the BEST but you can always bring luch. We have always been an "A" school. Which I think is AWESOME! Go Stars!


Posted November 28, 2010

daughter graduated 2010 from Millennium with honors and attending TARAVELLA; .We noticed a big change in our daughter who seemed so bewildered with her homework. tests scores were low. One of her teachers called and asked me to see him for a one on one changing her class in mid year. said my daughter along with other students are failing his class are all from Millennium. He said that the Principal ( Dr. Cheryl Cendan ) and her Administration Staff are the worst in Broward County. The only thing that they are concerned about is the FCAT Tests my daughter studied for these test all year long and received a score of 4 which is fairly good if not outstanding BUT that is all they teach at this school. They only teach for the FCAT and the Cheryl Cendan can prance around town and school board meetings bragging
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

This will my sons last year, and we have had our problems, and I don't think that this is the best school. But, when you can't afford private, and you can't get a reassignment to another school - you have to stay. He has been bullied, and it stopped for a short time the resource officer really did not help so it continues on and off. I really agree that they do teach to the test, I wonder what is going to happen when the FCAT goes away and they really do have to teach. The office staff including the principal is a joke, they don't know how to address parents in a civil manner or what is going on at the school when you call. I know it will be hard in high school, but my only hope is that he will learn as we are getting out of broward county and moving up north. Good luck to everyone left in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

My son is in his 3rd year and my daughter is in her 2nd year at Millennium. I think its a great school, especially out of the choices in broward. Sure my kids complain about uniforms and the food but they are not there for a fashion show or a gourmet lunch. I have many of the same concerns I see written on here but i also think I would have the same and more concerns at other schools. No public school will ever be everything we want it to be so, yes there is room for improvement in many aspects but for the most part Im very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2010

Millenium Middle is an excellent school, and I am happy my child is assigned to that school. My child loves to go to school more than ever. The teachers are very dedicated to providing every child a great education. I give this school a five star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2010

From what is written here, students and parents of Millenium students don't seem to know how to use proper grammar or how to spell words correctly (or even just use spell check). What a shame.


Posted May 3, 2010

My son attended millennium for 1 month - in that month he was bulled by several older children before school while waiting for the bell to ring and school to start. I have never been to a school where the faculty yelled and hoolered constantly, instead of setting an example by talking to the kids. Once the morning bell rang - It was like herding cattle yelling , directing and more yelling. What a great way to start your morning. Our overall experience was unsettling with the schools within the Broward County School District. Safety - well with all the camara's and escorting kids to and from the restroom, and police on campus. you would think my answer would be yes. But its not. If this enviorment works for you and your children Great. My over all experience was terrible, I suggest looking into a different school for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

412 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

412 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

404 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

447 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

329 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

471 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

427 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

469 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

539 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 55%
Hispanic 21%
White 16%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%53%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 15%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • DR. CHERYL CENDAN
Fax number
  • (754) 322-3985

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5803 Northwest 94th Avenue
Tamarac, FL 33321
Phone: (754) 322-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Touchdowns4life
Tamarac, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT