Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

856 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
54 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 74 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hunter's Green Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
My family and I recently relocated from California where my son attended a bilingual private school. Needless to say, the academic standards were quite high. Upon purchasing our home in Hunters Green, I called the school to discuss its rating compared to other New Tampa elementary schools. I have taught for 18 years, and understand test scores are not the "end all, be all" of the quality of education a school has to offer. I was pleasantly surprised when Mrs. Holt, the school principal was willing to take one hour out of her day to speak with me over the phone! Moreover, she welcomed my son and I into her school during the summer once we arrived in FL for a tour and some time with her in her office to answer any questions we may have. We received a warm welcome by Mrs. Holt and the office staff, and I felt quite comfortable with our decision to send our son to HGE. This is not to say I wasn't worried about my son adjusting to a new school (7 times the size of his previous one), new friends, and new teachers. However, I was relieved and so very happy when I dropped him off for his first day. He was welcomed by his teacher, who consistently has a smile on her face and demonstrates her passion for teaching daily, and he has never had an issue returning. In fact, he has been known to wake up early and get ready for school because he "can't wait to go." As parents, we find it crucial that our child is happy, respectful and respected, and enjoys the learning process. It appears this will be a wonderful fit for him! Now, I do have to agree with a previous post. After spending years teaching elementary aged children, I have learned it is imperative to any child's success that the parents are involved in their child's education. HGE welcomes and promotes parent involvement in many ways, and they communicate with families regularly to allow parents the opportunity to engage with their children about what is going on during their days. We have greatly appreciated this as well. So far, I am more than impressed. I highly encourage anyone who is "on the fence" about HGE to call and schedule a tour. You will not be disappointed in the apparent dedication this group of educators has towards their students. I'm so incredibly glad I made that phone call instead of a quick judgement call.

Hunter's Green Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
We love this school, their staff, teachers and administration. We transferred our children here after a very negative experience at another local school with our child who needed some ESE services. This school has been nothing short of amazing to both our children and us as parents. They sincerely care and are dedicated to giving each child the best learning environment possible. They realize the importance to work as a team with each other and parents. It is very clear they care about their students and love their jobs, they are the best!


Hunter's Green Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
My son has learned alot since he started in Hunter's green. And he love going to school

Hunter's Green Elementary School 4

Posted March 19, 2015
- a community member
Hunter's Green is a great school in a great community. There have been several negative comments about it and a lot of untruths. As with any school, it is not just the teachers, staff and principals that make the school, it is the community and the parents whose students attend. All schools will have some kids who are bullys. This has been happening since the beginning of all schools. The staff/teachers need to recognize and correct it. Parents need to work closely with the teachers and if there are issues, get them corrected. As much as every parent would like to think their child is perfect, its just not the case. There are two sides to every story. Let's continue to build this school up away from the negativity.

Hunter's Green Elementary School 1

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is currently in Kindergarten at HG. At first I was very excited especially when I was told at registration she would be in the class of one of the best teachers. I do not like the way her teacher runs the class. She has a selected few child which are her "favorites", of course the children of other teachers, previous families, and employees at Hunter's Green. It is very obvious to the parents as they are the ones ahead in class. I wish I had another option. Staff has been very nice otherwise. I have been to a few events which were very nicely organized for the children. My new neighbors started their daughter in 2nd grade and they love it, I assume it all depends on the teacher you have the experience with. If you have another option go for it.


Hunter's Green Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2015
- a parent
My son has attended kindergarten and now in 1st grade at HG and we love this school! The teachers and staff are amazing! They truly care about the kids. It's amazing how much he is learning. I live in the area and I was nervous at first to send him to this school after what I read but I'm so happy we gave it a chance. Our other son will be starting this school next year as well. It's a great school! Maybe if the community started sending their children to HG then maybe we would not have room for kids outside the community. Give this school a chance and you will love it.

Hunter's Green Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
We love Hunter's Green- as residents, it is so nice to be at our community school! The New Principal, Mrs. Holt is amazing and came in a few months ago and has definitely made it clear she cares about the HG family! She has worked hard to improve all aspects of this school. I have both a 3rd and 5th grader and am very happy with their education at HG, we even left for a while to attend a Charter school and have returned for so many reasons-the AGP program is fantastic, the PE teachers are enthusiastic, the Performing Arts at this school is taken seriously, Noble Impact is strong and provides growth for student leaders, the PTA has spirit. The staff goes beyond and above to make ALL families feel welcome and appreciated! Thanks HG for taking care of my daughters!!

Hunter's Green Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2014
- a community member
This is a wonderful school with dedicated teachers & a diverse enrollment. Children are safe and loved and are being educated by teachers who truly care about the whole child. Administration is fair and consistent no matter the socio economic status of the child.


Hunter's Green Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a community member
The administration and teachers truly care about the welfare of each and every individual child. Dedication and passion is second to none.

Hunter's Green Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2014
- a community member
When you truly get to know the staff at this school you will find that they work so hard and truly care for ALL the students at their school. When you get involved in the gossip train, you will hear nothing but negativity. While our school has had it's downs, it's the dedicated teachers and parents who keep the positivity and faith in each other that rise up above the rest. It's true numbers don't lie, (we've raised our grade to a B this year, by the way) but the other low reviews are pure gossip/rumors/done out of spite. HGE rocks, come see for yourself before believing every negative thing you read on the Internet!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hunter's Green Elementary School
9202 Highland Oak Drive, Tampa, FL  33647
(813) 973-7394
Last modified Hunter's Green Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hunter's Green Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 74 reviews. Top