Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pierce Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1029 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2013

By all the reviews I've seen so far i don't thing i want to send my child there but i have to because that is the closest school to my house so I hope my child has a good year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

Pierce is terrible all and all. Wish we could afford a private school. teachers are mean to the children. Administration is rude and patronizing to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

This school is one of the worst schools my daughter has been to.I dont recommend it to any parents. Hate this school, its very ghetto.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

My daughter attends Pierce and this school is horrible if it's not being locked down for one reason or another, there is always an issue with a teacher or office staff, she will not be attending next year Parents Be Ware!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

If I could give no stars I would. The majority of the students that attend this school are spanish, not saying thats a problem . My son is African American and it seemed as if he has a target on his forehead. I am so happy he will be leaving this school headed to high school. The teachers don't care about the students and have no respect or interactions with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

am the father of ernesto valdovinos( a cuban student) i saw the picture of the trophy of the battle down the book and the name says ernesto estrada and his real name is ernesto Valdovinos as it should be. was a mistake or the child is enrolled as well. thank you, or the mother to enroll the name change. i would like to know thanks a lot
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

This review is based off of when I attended several years back. 6th grade, so it was the '06-'07 year. It seems things have changed, but when I attended, all teachers I had were very helpful and supportive. It is there that I became one of the four students in Math League. The classes were clean, neat and orderly. The peers were just like any other school's. The principal and other staff were very nice. The courses were not under planned. Meaning we learned something new every day. They were taught quite thoroughly and clear. The extra curricular programs were also quite interesting as well. I enjoyed this school. It may not be the same any more, but I will keep my good memories.


Posted April 19, 2012

My Child has been picked on the bus and the at physical education! This school is not fair in discipline practices! Like if more then one student gangs up on him it seems that he gets punished and not the others!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

Pierce is not such a great school. The only reason my son goes there is because I missed the deadline for choice, but he is soon transferring to a charter school and he & I couldn't be happier. We have had quite a few issues with bullying, & even a physical attack, & I am not happy with the school's response.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

I'm a sixth grader and I really like it there. Even though some teachers really don care, the over all experience was like any other school. as long as your kid stays out of the drama, you're clean. ;p.they finally have uniform and way more dicipline. This school is getting better along each step.


Posted April 6, 2011

i love pierce ! igo there and the teachers r awesome ! the kids are relly sweet,


Posted September 5, 2009

it a great school with fun friends and graet teachers you need to go
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2009

Pierce Middle School is a fun school.Last year,when I was entering 6th Grade,I was really nervous!But soon,I started to calm down because kids were really nice there and they showed me where the classrooms were.Then the fun started!First it was Spirit Week.Spirit Week is suppose to get kids interested in reading,but also a week to have fun.Last year Monday was Sports Day.You dress up or wear colors of your favorite sports team or favorite sport.Tuesday was Hat Day,everyone in my class wore really funny hats that had bells on or the flashing hats,one girl that had really long hair styled her hair to LOOK like a hat!Wednesday was Mixed-Matched Day,you dress up the best you can to look crazy and outrageously mixed matched!Thursday was School Day because FRiday there was no school =(.But it was REALLY FUN!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2009

i Love Pierce.I attended there for 7th and half of 8th grade!!!It was one of the best schools i have ever been to.The teachers and staff are wonderful and so are the activities.I was apart of the spirit and step team and it was a ton of fun!!!!


Posted June 4, 2009

This school is magnificent, the teacher are so caring to there students.The P.E Coach FORD he is wonderful teacher because he help students to learn to take care of their body.. Also the staff is also caring to their form students and they know what they are doing .. 8)
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2008

I love this school for my daughters I love the mix of all diffrent cultures that brings them together as one big family.I expecially love the avid program it gives u a chance to go to college and taeches my daughters thr responsiblitiy of organization and being prepered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

My daughter is a student in the 7th grade and this is my third child to attend this school. I have some serious concerns with some of the teachers-either they are over zelous or under achieving. It is a nightmare getting through to the office and some of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

I have a child currently in the school and two that attended and I have had a great experience with the staff. Mr Fernandez has done wonders with the delingunecy that the school was having problems with some years ago. Way to go Mr. Fernandez.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

This school is not living up to the standard that I imagine, guess my standards were too high. Some of the teachers from my experience don't seem to have control of their classrooms. I'm all for discipline, but how many times do the whole class have to suffer because of a few students. Where's the order in that? My son came to this school as an advanced student. I would like to keep it that way but he's bored to death with some of the lesson plans. A lot of what is taught, he learned in the 3rd and 4th grade. Overall I think that this is a just an ok school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

I was not happy about anything I've encountered so far. It doesn't seem organized, there is obviously no discipline. I'm sure the teachers and other staff want to help the students, but ...Not to mention that the standards for this school is so low that my daughter was put in an advanced math class ok, my daughter needs a math tudor for 6th grade math if they put her in an advanced class for math, is that saying that the other students are not able to perform their grade level math? Another thing that has me concerned is the lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

337 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

340 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
61%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 75% 29%
Black 10% 23%
White 8% 42%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%67%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Henry Lefler
Fax number
  • (813) 871-7978

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5511 N Hesperides St
Tampa, FL 33614
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 872-5344

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT