Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

412 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ballast Point Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
AMAZING teachers here, they really take the time to know the kids and not just the ones in their classrooms

Ballast Point Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
I feel the teachers push the students in the classes and there is a wonderful gifted program with amazing teachers to make sure each child is reaching their full potential.


Ballast Point Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
Children are rewarded each month for Character club and they get to be featured on the morning show.

Ballast Point Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2015
- a parent
I absolutely LOVE this School. Great teachers and the staff is so nice. This is my son's 2nd year there and he loves it. And has had no problems.

Ballast Point Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
Ballast Point is a great school with caring teachers. We have been very pleased with the education our daughter has received over the last 4 years. We only had one classroom that wasn't a good fit for our child and the principal worked with us to resolve the program. The HOST program used to be a good program but was horrible the last 2 years. Fortunately there is a fantastic new after school program at the church across the street. Thank you Ballast Point for providing our daughter with a great education.


Ballast Point Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
Ballast Point is a wonderful school. I have one child in 2nd and have already had one child graduate fifth grade. Every year has been a wonderful experience. The teachers are caring and take the extra time needed to meet the needs of ALL children. I feel very fortunate to live in this school's zone.

Ballast Point Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2013
- a parent
LOVE this school! Our son finished Kindergarden this year. At the beginning of the year I was very apprehensive about our little boy starting Elementary School. I had a lot of questions and concerns, however, the teachers and specifically the principal, Ms. Debbie Fitzpatrick took time out of her busy schedule to put my mind at ease. On a few occasions she checked in on our son for us and reported back how he was doing. We are very blessed to be in this school district!

Ballast Point Elementary School 1

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
I agree that Ballast Point might be a good school if your child "fits in" and does not have any learning disablities or special needs. However, if you have a child that requires any educational accomdations outside of OR as a supplement to a regular classroom setting is a complete and total nightmare to work with. It's so unfair to the child. The HOST program is horrible as well!!


Ballast Point Elementary School 3

Posted December 05, 2012
- a parent
My son started there in the ASD classes last year, and has been mainstreamed for about a month so far, and counting. The teachers challenge him & keep him on his toes, which is good. The school itself get 5 stars, hands down. The HOST program after school, however, would get 0-1 stars. The expectations from kids as young as 4 & 5 years old is unrealistic, and kids are being kicked out permanently on a fairly regular basis. Lord help you if your child has special needs, as they are unflexible (even if you have an IEP), and inept under their new management this year, at best. At worst, they have no business being around young kids.

Ballast Point Elementary School 1

Posted April 23, 2012
- a parent
This school may be good if your child fits in with the average student; however, if you have a child that requires a different educational approach or additional accomdations to be able to learn, working with this school is a total nightmare. It's so unfair to the child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ballast Point Elementary School
2802 West Ballast Point Boulevard, Tampa, FL  33611
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (813) 272-3070
Last modified Ballast Point Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top