Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bay Crest Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 793 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 21, 2009

My child attends Baycrest.Although every school has something to improve on,I have found that the staff at Baycrest are caring about their students and provide them with a good bases.Most parents want the school to do all the educating,do nothing at home with their child and then blame the school for the lack of learning.Bay- crest can improve on involving the parents more,setting up their web site so that the parents are more aware of what is going on in the class(as in many of schools),and have more after school help.Baycrest offers no extras that many of the others elementary schools do,such as,drum club,guitar club,flute club,dance club,pep club,and after school activities that makes school and learning fun.The school has the drums, guitars and flutes. Other schools teachers and parents volunteer for the clubs.Your child is safe. Parents need to feel as they can address issues w/out it effecting their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2009

Very mediocre school. Does not deserve A rating. Check schooldigger.com. It is rated in the bottom half of Tampa schools. My son was not challenged to excell there and neither of us was treated with basic human respect. They also pushed political views on my child that have nothing to do with elementary school education, which I find completely unacceptable. We left thanks to school choice. I gave them 3 years to show me they were worth my time. They failed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

The parent involvement is what make Bay Crest a great school. I personally find the principal to be a little 'stiff' but the kids do respect her. All 4 of my children have attended Bay Crest and I have been very pleased with their progress. I have to say that the Administrative staff is amazing. Very responsive, friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

Both of my children have attended Bay Crest Elementary since they were 5 years old. They both love it and are making excellent grades. My daughter made straight A's twice last year in 4th grade. The principal is a very caring lady, a 'People Person', and knows all the kids by name. I have been involved with volunteering and field trips for the last 5 years, so I know the school well. I know it has been rated as an 'A' school for the last several years. I feel very lucky that Bay Crest is our neighborhood school. I wouldn't change to another school for the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

I think this school is a great school. My son has been going here for 3 years now. When I did have a concern (the only ever in the 3 years) the Principal was more than willing to sit with me and talk, she didn't rush the meeting she listened. As well as when we had a conference with the teacher, Principal and Guidance Counselor they all expressed their concern for my son. They were all there to help me. I appreciate that. How many Principals are willing to sit in on a conference? Not many but this Principal did and that make a difference. When you know they are there to help you and give you good advice and feedback.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

I think baycrest is a great school. Compared to many other schools my children have been to baycrest is one of the best. I will not move from my area so my child could continue to go to baycrest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

I am a teacher at Bay Crest and it's a wonderful working environment to be in.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2005

Excellent in everything aspect. Organization,good activities for the children.etc
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2005

We have been very happy with the teachers at Bay Crest. As a military family, we have moved in and out of many schools. Bay Crest teachers compare very well and are among our favorites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2004

My 2 oldest children started Kindergarten this year, which was more terrifying for me than it was for them! I have found the Kindergarten teachers to be wonderfully warm and supportive, and I feel that my children get the attention they need. They both are enjoying their Kindgergarten experiences very much. With their first experiences in the public school system being so positive, I feel that they are at a great advantage and hope they will continue to find school to be a good place to be! Bay Crest is an A school in many ways!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2004

We moved to the area just to be zoned for this school. The kids wear uniforms and they are all treated as equally important. Recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 29%
White 35% 42%
Black 8% 23%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 77%67%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jennifer Robison
Fax number
  • (813) 356-1153

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4925 Webb Rd
Tampa, FL 33615
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 872-5382

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT