Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stewart Middle Magnet School

Public | 6-8 | 862 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2013

Stewart offers several after school clubs including Civil Air patrol (where they do all the usual CAP stuff AND they are building a (real) plane!,) and robotics club and team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

my son went from being a B student in Elementary school to being straight A student within 1 year. He is now in the Junior National Honors Society going into 7th grade... I could'nt be prouder. The education that these students are getting is pheonominal adn I wish I had a school like this around when I was in 6th grade. The electives that they have her range from tv media to marine biology adn robotics. The backing by NASA should say it all - if I haven't already.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

We are the parents of an 8th grade student at Stewart. Although the middle school years can be challenging, we are very pleased with the education our son has received. For the most part he has had very engaged and encouraging teachers. The electives have been outstanding (engineering, robotics, marine science). The math department is outstanding and has given students the opportunity to take classes above grade level (such as algebra in 7th grade and geometry in 8th grade). 8th grade honors classes have been very rigorous and definitely are preparing our son for high school. Administration is very willing to hear suggestions and complaints and handle them. In three years we have had no problems with the neighborhood, although at first blush it might be unappealing. After school tuturing is available on a regular basis for students needing help. Some good clubs and after school activities and some great field trips.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2012

This school is great! if you want to learn how to take care of your problems by yourself. i can safely say that stewart made me a man, i got into 5 fights in the time i was in there and earned the respect of everyone. my whole time in stewart was a big adventure, and i always got As and Bs. but it is not the school for the faint of heart. send your children here, they will turn into very strong and strict leaders. i recomend it.


Posted February 15, 2012

bad environment with not much extra to call it a magnet school. i think they just use that "magnet" name to get more industrious kids from the suburbs to come down to this school in the middle of the projects so that the test scores will look better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

The teachers are great. But the problem is a lot of bullying. When brought up to the Principle attention. She handled it wrong. had 2 kids in there and pulled them both out for their safety
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

I was very upset with the quality of some of the teachers. I was was ask to come in for a conference and was told my daughter had a 27 in science, after my daughter correcting the teacher and showing her work she done (Was Graded!) was not recorded. After my 11 year old daughter corrected the teacher she had a 76. Teacher keep blaming the parents when it ther jobs to teach. Serious lack of respect for the parents and the kids. This is not 4 star school. Also they changed my kids class from advanced to regular with out my knowkedge and they said i requested it when she was doing fine in that class. This school has serious problems. I hope her new school is better, i really don't think it could be worse. PARENTS BEWARE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

I Was A Student At Stewart Last Year Now Im A Freshman At Plant High School Overall Stewart Was'ent The Best School But It Was Far From The Worst. Word Of Advice My 8th Grade Year Was Like High School Because The Teachers Treat You Like Freshman! So You'll Have To Get Tough (Im Taking A.P And Honors Classes If That Helps Stewart In Any Way)


Posted September 13, 2009

For the last past two years I noticed how new teachers change the enviroment between students and teachers. They asking for respect when they do not show it to the students. Respect start with respect regarless the person age. They do not listen and the administration don't do anything. They know the problems but they let it go by allowing the supsension for the most silly reason. This is affecting the morale no other for the students but also for us, the parents. It is sad because they have a good program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

I am a parent of a 6th grader,from the principal to some of the staff members,no professionalism,no help,does not return phone calls,no knowledge or idea of how to implement a 504 plan,or any other kind of plan.My child is a special needs child,the teachers and the head principal talk about the children,instead of trying to find out what the problem is and how they can help the children.The principal is constantly suspending kids out of school,what can a child learn,if they are out of school more than they are in?Starting with the principal,the staff needs to be retrained,and it wouldn't hurt if they had a few courses in speaking with parents and students in a better way,meaning ,you earn respect ,and you get it when you give it.Not all the staff are like this ,only a few of the ones I have met and had a chance to talk to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I am the parent of a 7th grader and we couldn't be happier. They provide a challenging curriculum. The sports teams all encourage teamwork and everyone that wants to can play. Their partnership with NASA and the John Glenn Top Gun Academy offer great opportunities for those students interested in space. They offer high school algebra and geometry to 7th and 8th graders (very few schools do that!) Very worth the 40 minute commute!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

We are coming to the end of my son's 6th grade year and his first year at Stewart Middle Magnet. We investigated Stewart before applying for attendance through the Choice program in Hillsborough County - went to the magnet school expo at Blake High School, and spoke with parents who have students at Stewart. We feel like we made a really good choice. The teachers at Stewart are in tune to the students and challenge them in the curriculum. Extracurricular activities are in abundance, enough fulfill all interests. The uniform policy helps keep students focused, but the school also rewards good behavior and attendance with 'free dress' days that allow them to express their individuality. Students are motivated by a myriad of rewards and opportunities which seems to keep altercations and other incidents to a minimum. The staff and administration are flexible with parent schedules and communication is open.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I taught at Stewart Middle for over eleven years. The only reason I left was a move across the U.S. I am so proud of the accomplishments of Stewart's students, teachers and staff. It was a great place to work and the kids all worked well togehter. The population is very diverse. Great extracurricular programs and partnership with NASA is exceptional! Don't let the surrounding neighborhood scare you, the community is very supportive of the school and the kids are safe. I would be proud to send my own children to this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2008

This school helped my child raise their grade! Im so proud!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

That is the best scoool i have ever put my child in so go sign up turst me u will love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

I go to Stewart and I think this school is great. our extracurricular activities give the stuudents something to be excited about.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2007

I have taught at Stewart for eight years and am constantly amazed at what we accomplish. Through dedication and team work, our teachers, staff, and parents make this an exceptional school. Because of the family atmosphere, I won't work another middle school in the county.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 24, 2007

My daughter loves the school! The teachers are incredible. I don't believe there is another school in Florida that offers the challenging yet hands on education like Stewart. The surrounding area is not that grea, but the school has tight security.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Don't kid yourself. This is a wonderful school and wonderful teachers. This is my son's second year and I had a chance to put him in another school (in our district) and chose not too. I recommend this school highly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2005

Staff is horrible and unhelpful. Poor parent involvement and located in a high crime area. Don't expect much from the leaders of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

302 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 37% 23%
Hispanic 34% 29%
White 23% 42%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%67%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Tutor(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Baretta Wilson
Fax number
  • (813) 276-5698

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1125 W Spruce St
Tampa, FL 33607
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 276-5691

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT