Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Broward Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 389 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

My son goes to this school and is in the EELP program and i was worried about him going to school and not being able to speak and in such little time,he has learned so much.The teachers have all been very nice and respectful when I've gone to pick him up.Love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

broward had changed since i went there I'm in 12th grade now. I went there from k-5. I have pleasant memories about Broward a lot of my old teachers are still there. Ms Hawkins to my surprise is still there too she's an amazing lady. Every school has a few blemishes like people but never under estimate the tigers. "Broward roar with the tigers"


Posted July 15, 2009

My daughter has been going to broward since k-4 and it has made her all the better student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2007

i have three daughters that go to broward my oldest has been thire for six years and my five year old son will start in 2008 we love this school.the staff is really great they are tough but thats what it takes.the teachers are great they really care about our children my girls come home every day telling me what they have learned.i cant wait till my son starts next year. Go Tiger Pride we love ya Broward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

I must say that Broward is a good school. My son from the Caribbean, attended Broward from January - May, 2007. I was satisfied with the hospitality and academic progress made. This school keeps a parent informed of activities planned. Brochures, newsletters and reports given, are all informative. My son's teacher was patient and quite helpful. Hats off to Broward!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

School safety is not observed at Broward. The principal and staff do not even follow the school rules. The academics are extremely poor. The extracurricular activities are very few if any. As parents we have been in constant contact about the lack of discipline in class, and the school treats the conferences as a joke, and refuse to rectify any situation. Sending our son to Broward was the biggest mistake we could have ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

My child went to this school for kindergarten and I thought it was an excellent school. The teacher was very helpful and worked very well with the students and she was very consistent with the students. My child made a tremendous improvement from the beggining to the end of the school year. They were always going crafts and had an accelarated reader program. There were several opportunities for parent imvolment but not a whole bunch. My child really enjoyed this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

My child has attended Broward for 6 years and they were wonderful,everyone seems to care for the children, The Principal Miss Moore , has done an excellent job,and has a wonderful staff of educators my son also loves his music teacher Mrs Roberts and all but one of his teachers is stilll teaching with at the school, sorry to say this is our last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

My children have been going to broward for at least six years. We are very pleased with the quality of teaching that our kids have received. The music teacher Mrs.Roberts is great and all the music programs are great. My oldest daughter has played several unique instruments and has learned to read and write music. Overall top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

Great school and teachers who really care about teaching children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2004

I used to teach at Broward and I just can't say enough about this school. I had the most awesome experience a teacher could ever have. My principal, assistant principal, the faculty, and staff are the greatest. I never had to wonder if I was going to be supported. If I lived closer my children would be attending Broward, and I would still be teaching there. However, we had to move. Broward is focused academically, and no one gets left behind. Whether your child is having difficulty or needs acceleration his/her needs will be met.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

51 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 62%
Hispanic 26%
White 8%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%67%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. TERRY HAWTHORNE
Fax number
  • (813) 276-5887

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 West Osborne Avenue
Tampa, FL 33603
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 276-5592

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Walton Academy
Tampa, FL



Beacon Academy
Tampa, FL


Beacon Academy
Tampa, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT