Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Buchanan Middle School 5

Posted October 13, 2014
- a teacher
Schools are really what you make out of them. Teachers, students, and parents can all make such a huge impact on a school. This is my first year teaching and I absolutely love this school. I enjoy teaching my students, even on those not going all exactly to plan days. I went to very low rated schools as a child but it didn't stop me from enjoying them and getting involved. I graduated in the top ten of my class and went off to college to get my teaching degree. I had some great teachers that inspired me to become a teacher and make a change as well. Buchanan's staff is amazing. I am proud to work with them. They really do care about the success of their students as well as the safety. They have several procedures that are enforced to prevent problems from occurring. Students will make foolish choices now and then and fights may happen, but the faculty prevents a lot of issues from becoming a big mistake. Overall, I believe Buchanan deserves a high rating for everything that I see daily that shows it is an amazing place. This month is all about "acts of kindness" and my students have showed me great acts of kindness, helping each other understand the content is just 1 example.

Buchanan Middle School 4

Posted March 14, 2014
- a community member
I was apart of the STEM program at Buchanan. The teachers were great (minus the STEM science teacher who couldn't teach a fish how to swim) Overall the STEM portion was good.


Buchanan Middle School 1

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
Horrible school with teachers who really care about the kids.. Ghetto describes this place perfectly.
1 person found this helpful

Buchanan Middle School 1

Posted January 31, 2014
- a community member
This school is absolutely the worst school I have ever been to!! Drugs, Violence and everything else in between. I was a straight A student before I came to Buchanan! There academics are the worst. Now don't get me wrong I LOVE my friends but, the academics could improve by a whole lot!!
1 person found this helpful

Buchanan Middle School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
The staff and teachers are very helpful, the school is always clean and the classes are easy to find.


Buchanan Middle School 3

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Our experience was very good! The principal and staff are phenomenal, honestly I don't know how they do it everyday! Mr. Zent (retired) had a connection with the his students that is beyond words. I hope and wish nothing but the best for this school. United we stand, divided we fall.

Buchanan Middle School 1

Posted December 28, 2012
- a community member
Wow! The atrocious grammar, writing skills, spelling and lack of punctuation seen in most of these reviews from both students and teachers alike should give anyone a clue as to just how bad this school is!

Buchanan Middle School 1

Posted December 27, 2012
- a community member
I went to this school in the 80's and the principal used to beat kids with a big wooden paddle. She hit me so hard once that I still have lower back problems to this day. Also the teachers were so inattentive and self-absorbed that not one of them picked up on the fact that I was already an abused child and that is why I was shy and sometimes wouldn't/couldn't answer their questions. Their solution was to send me to the principal to get beaten even more than I already had to endure in my home life. Also, I honestly have not even one good memory from this place nor can I even remember one teachers' name. Also, despite this horrible place, I went on to become very successful after years of struggle. Bottom line, instead of helping...the faultily at this institution made my life much worse. School is supposed to be a safe place and that was definitely NOT my experience!


Buchanan Middle School 4

Posted July 27, 2011
- a parent
This school has turned around considerably in the last few years. Administrators and teachers appear to be very invested in the students.

Buchanan Middle School 5

Posted December 01, 2010
- a community member
This school was horrible in the years of 2007-2008. losts of students faught,dropped out of school and once set the bathroom on fire.later in 2008-2009...we got a new principle and new teachers.the music program is was incredible and teachers worked their hardest to teach kids but we only had a few electives.my 8th grade year 2009-2010,it has been more than an honor comming to this school.we got more electives,a new clinic,more support from teachers and i have inproved my fcat scores from then!!!! im so happy i came to buchanan and if you send your child here,you won't regret it either.:);)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Buchanan Middle School
1001 West Bearss Avenue, Tampa, FL  33613
(813) 975-7600
Last modified Buchanan Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Buchanan Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top