Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carrollwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 728 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

This is my daughter's first year at Carrollwood but so far we absolutely love it. Her teacher is wonderful and the staff at the school is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Carrollwood Elementary is a public school that is as good as a private school. The teachers have high standards and expect excellence. My son has attended this school since Kindergarten, and is now in 5th Grade. He has never had a bad teacher. Too bad they don't have a middle school! The principle, Mrs. Bottini, is awesome. She is kind and warm and very effective all at once. Since she came on board, the culture and school improved greatly. It's obvious that the teachers are engaged and really care, and that Mrs. Bottini is the center of all of that. Assistant Principal, Mrs. Gordon is also excellent. She is a class act. The students love Mrs. Bottini and Mrs. Gordon, and so do the parents. They take the time to know every student and parent. Parents feel very welcome here. I also have to give praise to the teachers of the Gifted Program, Mrs. Farmer, Mrs. Rodriquez, Mrs. Byer, and Mrs. Dunlap. There are none better, and I would put them up against any others, private school or otherwise. Carrollwood Elementary is a great school, and I feel very lucky that my child was able to have a quality experience and a great education at Carrollwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

This is one of the best schools I have ever had my children in. The staff is very caring, loving, and hardworking. From the secretary to the custodians to the lunchroom aids, teachers, paraprofessionals, and administration this school works hard as a team and cares about each and every students regardless of background. They truly want the children to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

great neighborhood, cute classrooms. Some incredible teachers, office staff is friendly and helpful. Lots of fun activities if you can get involved. Like all public schools, there is some bullying and this is swept under the rug. Also favoritism towards parents who can donate lots of time and money, as in they get to pick their teachers and classes. But, overall lots of great families and staff. Some staff that has been teaching / working do seem ready to retire, easily agitated, don't seem too happy to be working with children. Need more communication with teachers and all parents, that would be great. 3 years and we have been overall happy. Principal and vice principal are great as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

Carrollwood Elementary was, for us, a choice school and we could not have been luckier with another school! Family oriented, the staff is incredibly professional. My son receives a great education and is happy to go to his school every day ! Go Owls !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

Great School...Great Teachers! My girl loves to go to this school! This is her second year at the school. Either it is the regular curriculum or Gifted, quality of the teachers are a notch higher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2012

We moved here from Wesely Chapel and the administration difference between Seven Oaks ES and Carrollwood is NIGHT and DAY. The faculty and staff at CES are wonderful because they have an excellent boss. Ms. Botinni is friendly, energetic, and will find the time to talk to you. There are so many activities, and a lot of parental involvement. I'm sooo glad we are zoned for this school. BTW: as all PTAs are, they are very inclusive, but there is always a way to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

After 4 years of really good and some ok teachers since kindergarten we have encounter a really bad teacher enough for me to change schools in the middle of the year so my child can get a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2012

I am a former student of this school and I loved going there. The teachers were nice and really cared about students reaching to their highest potential and the connection between the administrators and the parents was great. I also was a part of the advance gifted program which was a very challenging yet fun academic program. This is probably one of the best elementary school around.


Posted February 19, 2012

I find Carrollwood Elementary to be of the finest elementary schools. The Teachers have great concerns for my daughters success in all aspects. The Principal and Vice-Principal show great Leadership of this fine school. Carrollwood Elementary has great parent envolvement events. I am honored to be a member of the best Dad's Club of any elementary school. I highly recomend this school to any and all parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

My daughter goes to Carrollwood and loves it. The staff, from the lunchroom ladies to the pricinple, are so involved with the students and actually care about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I've always believed that you need to learn something new everyday and I feel that Carrollwood Elementary helps my son do that. I have already seen vast improvements in my son's education from his pre K to this years Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

The school is AMAZING! The teachers are GREAT! We LOVE Mrs. Avery & Ms. Hastings; they really care about the school and children and make every effort to keep it great. The only issue we have with the school is the PTA and those who run it. Get involved with the school and volunteer for sure, but stay far away from the PTA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

I love this school! The administration takes every effort to inspire its students and include families- very active and caring parents. Great teachers! Safe location! a+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

5 Star school for sure! The 'A' the students have recieved is every bit earned. The students work hard, as well as, the teachers and administrators. There are a lot of hard working parent volunteers and the relationship between parents and administrators is very pleasant! Great school to be a part of!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

I have 2 children that have attended Carrollwood. One has moved on and the other still attends. No school is perfect but Mrs. Avery and Ms. Hastings have really made a noticeable difference in the way the school is run. The PTA works closely with them and everything they do is approved by them. Please join and volunteer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

FORMERLY AN EXCEPTIONAL REVIEW: My children have gone to Carrollwood Elementary since they were 5 years old. Carrollwood was a school where the children come first- but since the end of last year that's questionable. Children are encouraged to do their best but my kids have learning difficulties and feel 'different'. The new priniciple is somewhat distant almost bureaucratic - however the VP Ms. Hastings seems warm and friendly. I'll give it another year and see what happens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

We have been very pleased with the school. My children started at the school two years ago, after being on a small charter school, and I was kind of worried for them to go to a neighborhood school. The teachers and the staff at the office were all and continue being wonderful. They love Mrs. Rojas and frequently visited her 'just to talk'. She helped them during the time they lost their paternal grandmother. We enjoy the family activities planned and there are not too too too many fundraisers. Go Owls
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

Both my children have gone to Carrollwood Elementary since they were 5 years old. I thought Carrollwood was a school where the children come first- but since the end of last year I question that. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best but my kids have learning difficulties and feel 'different'. The teachers work hard to bring out the best in each child. The new principal is kind and is learning each child by name. She is a great example of a leader. Thank you for bringing out the best in my children and giving them the encouragement and confidence they need to go out into the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

My oldest child has been at Carrollwood for 5 years and entered Kindergarden reading at a 2nd grade level. The teacher tested immediately and accomodated by moving my child a grade up for reading. They have accomodated ever since. My child is in all the gifted programs and has exceled. No school is perfect, but we have been very happy. There are many excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 42%
Hispanic 31% 29%
Black 8% 23%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%67%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%0%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3516 McFarland Rd
Tampa, FL 33618
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 975-7640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Broach Tampa
Tampa, FL


Bowman Academy
Tampa, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT