Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

920 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Coleman Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 03, 2016
- a student
This school only gives homework in one subject: Math. And the curriculum is too easy.

Coleman Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 03, 2016
- a student
Again, this school does NONE of the above. If you have a problem with bullying, you have to jump through a bunch of hoops just to talk to the guidance counselors. The administration is not caring or compassionate. They are rude and self-centered.


Coleman Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 03, 2016
- a student
How can this school develop honesty, integrity and fairness of the Principal and administration is just the opposite?

Coleman Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
This school lacks integrity given that they will not deal with any issues with their students. They will not help the students in any given situation due to the lack of getting involved. The administration will not address issues pertaining to bullying.

Coleman Middle School 1

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in 6th grade and goes to this school. She had the worse school year ever. She has been bullied and sexually harassed by boys. She has mentioned it to the guidance counselor a few times and nothing has been done about the situation. My daughter doesn't want to go to school at Coleman, in the district. She has been bullied by several of the kids that belong to a group. She was also tripped in the hallway by a bully, but was told if she said anything to anyone she would regret it. This administration doesn't care about the well being of the students at all. The school is very discriminating and have been less than professional on many issues. I would expect more out of a school that has multi-million dollar homes in their community, that high tax dollars are supporting.


Coleman Middle School 1

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
Day one of school and I am already thinking it was a bad choice to put my child into this school. They are extremely unorganized and do not communicate well with the parents or students. My child is so lost and does not know where to turn to for help. My child is frustrated and already wants to go elsewhere. It was hard to get my child to agree to change schools. My child struggles with school and the person they have in charge of putting together the curriculum and schedules seems to be a complete idiot. He seems to be putting them into sensory overload rather than helping them achieve.

Coleman Middle School 1

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
Numerous teachers at this school are verbally abusive to students. Every day I hear a new story about something inappropriate that a teacher said to a student ranging from calling them dumb and stupid to idiots and morons etc. Why the administration allows this to continue is a mystery to me but if it continues next year I will no longer contact the school directly. I will go straight to the school board and demand that teachers dismissal. Students go to Coleman to learn, not to be verbally abused by their teachers. No wonder so many of the kids there are so verbally cruel to each other....their teachers are setting terrible examples for them on a daily basis.

Coleman Middle School 3

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
This school would greatly benefit from character and ethics education for it's students since they don't appear to be learning it at home. There are an abundance of rich, bratty, entitled kids at this school that don't seem to know right from wrong or even care. Academically, it's challenging, but the homework load is ridiculous to the point that it leaves no room for extracurricular activities. This leaves me to believe teachers aren't using their class time efficiently enough. In private schools of equal academic merit, students have a study period to help with the homework load. Coleman would benefit from starting an hour earlier and providing a study period, as well.


Coleman Middle School 5

Posted October 22, 2011
- a community member
I'm an 8th grader and having been at coleman since the beginning of 6th grade, i can say it is THE BEST middle school in the county. It has amazing and well educated teachers and a strong faculty and staff. Also, this school has many enjoyable and challenging academic courses, ensuring a spectacular education, as well as wonderful, life changing electives. For example, when i came to middle school, the last elective I would've expected to take was Band and now I'm in the Advanced Band 1st chair out of seven in my section with a new passion for music and a new way of looking at life. My brother (Class of 2005), sister (Class of 2011), and I (Class of 2012) all went to Coleman and i can truly say, we wouldn't be the same people if we hadn't gone to this school. GO COBRAS!

Coleman Middle School 5

Posted October 02, 2008
- a parent
This is my daughters first year and overall I am very pleased. Previously she attended a very challenging private school; she has been given special attention to make sure she is in the program the best fits her needs. She was placed in advanced and the teachers recognized she should have been placed in honors: note, this activity took place without my involvement. I also appreciate the communication is provided and available by the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coleman Middle School
1724 South Manhattan Avenue, Tampa, FL  33629
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (813) 872-5335
Last modified Coleman Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top