Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crestwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 901 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2011

I went to Crestwood as a kid and it was top notch... My nephew is turning 5 next month and will be attending next year.. Both of my sister attended as well... for everyone speaking about all the foreign languages being spoken... well.. welcome to Tampa..


Posted December 16, 2010

we loved crestwood ,while we were there..my children were warmly welcomed and ....loved the school the teacher's....and the carriculum... my husband and i also felt greatful that there are teacher's that realy care..... thankyou crestwood... ps.were returning to tampa and are returning our children to CRESTWOOD ELEMENTARY...and my children are looking forward to going back....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

Teachers are excellent. They really "teach" my child. They are all excellent communicators. My child feels safe and important to them. They have a new Principal this year. Yes-some kids in the lower grades are learning to speak English, yet this has never beed a problem for my child. (another review mentioned that was a problem) No problems with this school. Attending 5 years now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

This school is amazing. Honestly, i could not have found a better school to send my children to. The teachers are wonderful and the curriculum is truly extraordinary. ALthough i admit diversity and parent involvment arent big, theres no reason to refrain from admitting the jaw dropping quiality of this A school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

I refuse to send my sons to Crestwood. It is our area school and we have special assignment to a school where the students actually speak English. It is pretty difficult to be successful when the children are part of a family that is transiant (move constently), are not involved or make an effort to speak English!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

My son is now in the 3rd grade and has been going since Kindergarten. The teachers are great, the curriculum, it's an A school. My only complaint is the lack of diversity. I wish it was a mix of all ethnic backgrounds, not just one mainly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

This is my daughter's second year at Crestwood. Overall, it has been a good experience. She has been lucky enough to have had wonderful teachers that truly care. I wish there was more parental involvement, but that is an issue at most schools these days. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2006

It's an okay school. The music department was good. Overall it's not in a very good area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

165 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 76%
Black 8%
White 8%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 132%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 244%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%67%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ROSALIND DAIGNEAULT
Fax number
  • (813) 871-7788

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7824 North Manhattan Avenue
Tampa, FL 33614
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 872-5374

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Bowman Academy
Tampa, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT