Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Egypt Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 518 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2014

I went to this school my whole life and i have to say that thay do their very best to teach me and they sometines sent me to toutering and those four extra hours twice a week took me up in my fcat scores i would recomend egypt lake to any one who asks me the teachers are super nice and snart and they helped me by teaching me several methods to do one thing and then i would pick one and stick to it and they would ask me again and again if i underatood it and if i didnt thay would show me until i did i love this school and im happy to write this review


Posted April 28, 2014

My daughter is in the 4th grade at this school. They have done everything beyond helping her achieve her goals to become a better student. I think the staff is excellent. I hope that they keep it up!! When she was being bulled in the 2nd grade the teacher was outstanding (mr.white) he did everything to make sure that the students involved got punished and he got the parents involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

I am in the process of pulling my son from this school. Its not so much the school itself, its the children who attend it and their parents. The parents are rude and have no manners, and its sad that their children follow in their footsteps. My son has already had his genitals grabbed by a male student and has been slapped by another. What are these parents teaching their children? Its obviously not to keep their hands to themselves, proper english, or manners! If you want your child to actually have an education in english (because I'm quite sure thats the language we speak in this country), DO NOT send your child to this school, the teachers are too busy disciplining or trying to translate. PS the Principal is pretty much worthless. She won't return phone calls unless you get the board of education and her supervisor involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

I went to 5th grade here I really liked it my teacher was Mrs.Darr and Ms.Martinez they were so nice to us in the class goodbye 5th grade hello 6th grade!!!


Posted April 4, 2012

iwent to this school in 5th grade and i loved every part of it everyone excepted everyone no judgements love is created here nikki webb says this


Posted September 7, 2010

Glad to see the school has a good reputation. I used to attend a long time ago, back in the '60s when Mr. McLain was the principal. I really liked the school and thought the teachers were largely great and very supportive of their students. Best wishes to all the current teachers and staff!


Posted April 28, 2010

Egypt Lake has a largely dedicated and experienced teaching and support staff. The present leadership, however, is not adequately supportive of the needs of the diverse community nor complimentary of the hard work and commitment of the staff as a professional team.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 20, 2009

This school has a great environment. Teachers are dedicated. It's a small school so teachers and students have more interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

Egypt Lake has a warm and friendly environment. The teachers are great and everyone feels welcome.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 16, 2004

The worst thing about the school is the position and the one way streets. The parking is also fairly bad. But the teachers seem to really care about the kids and have always been very nice to me. There could be more parent involvement but that is the parents fault and not the shools. All in all I think it is a fairly nice school with a very pleasent staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
27%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 75%
Black 16%
White 8%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%67%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LYDIA SIERRA
Fax number
  • (813) 554-2358

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6707 North Glen Avenue
Tampa, FL 33614
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 872-5225

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





RTM Academy
Tampa, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT