Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gorrie Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 566 students

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2013

pros: good teachers, great community support and parent involvement. Highly affluent area..ie lots of private funding for the school and the arts have remained when other schools have cut back. Violin is part of the curriculum which my daughter really enjoys. cons: This school is the best in this area but below the national average. Obsessiveness about the FCAT and pressure on students to perform well. Very structured with busy work (papers) . So many other ways to be creative when teaching. I dont see fostering of a love of learning or non traditional avenues. I would like to see the school grow in these areas. The principal seems more concerned about appearances and status than getting to know the students or parents. After 2 years seeing her every day, she asked my husband and I if we were there for the preschool tour. There is a small area in north hyde park that the school pulls from that is lower income. There is a severe dichotomy of the "haves" and "have nots" . Not a lot of diversity. Lastly, safety is a concern with Gorrie being in a historic district. Anyone could easily hop the fence and get right into the school. No locked doors that require entry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

We have 2 kids in this school and it has been top notch from day one! It is the best public elementary school in Tampa. The teachers are engaged and positive. We have a separate Foundation that supplies resources for the school that other Public schools do not have. The Principal is smart and driven. We recommend this highly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2012

My daughter started here for kindergarten and had a horrible experience.The teacher she had first off never smiled and just always looked like she hated her job. After the first few weeks my daughter started to cry at the very thought of going to school. We discovered that the teacher was yelling at the whole class and at my daughter. In one case my daughter asked the teacher for help with something and the teacher had her change her behavior card to yellow and my daughter then said she didn't understand the the teacher turned it to red. My daughter was horrified because she had never been in trouble before.. The teacher also erased her journal 5 times in one day saying she could not read the hand writing. She completely humiliated my daughter. When we went to the principle for help she did nothing. She said that she sees nothing wrong with that teacher. But I know for a fact that teacher has had many many complaints. My daughter had to go to therapy and I pulled her out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2011

The principal is 1st rate. The FMM lets Gorrie park in our lot every day but the 1st Fri monthly. Our aud max 385 is available for Gorrie FMM 809 W HORATIO ST TAMPA, FL 33606-2230 Apn for Membership Date: I hereby make application to become a member of the Friday Morning Musicale. $30.00 dues to accompany application. Active Members consist of those who appreciate the significance and importance of music and related arts in American culture, and may appear on programs when requested to do so, and will serve as luncheon host or hostess at two meetings, and will participate in all fund raising activities approved by the membership. Name: Address: City, zip: Phone with area code: Email Address: Interests (instruments played, voice, dance, etc.): Endorsed by: CN BN Please list information about your musical background, interests, and experience. I would like to serve on the ___ committee. Some examples of committees are: phone, lunch, fund raising, yearbook, program, guest book, chorus, piano accompanist, etc. Please make your check payable to the Friday Morning Musicale and send it to Dr. Carolyn D. Nicholson 2604 W JETTON AVE, TAMPA, FL 33629-5325 (813) 259-1438


Posted October 5, 2010

I feel this school deserves a 4 out of 5. It would be hard for me to give a 5 because I believe that there is room for improvement. I have a first grader and a 5th grader here. We have had a very good experience every year except 4th grade. Her teacher did not send one email or update her website the whole year. Poor communication. This year is much bettter. The thing that puts Gorrie ahead of other schools is the parent involvement. This school has parents that make up for supplies and resources that the district doesn't provide. I find the children humble and very well-behaved relative to the affluent area from which they come. Most of the parents of these children have at least one parent that works outside of the home who are sending their kids to public
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

I have 2 kids that have been going here since K. Not only do they love it, but I do as well! Parents and teachers are both very involved. Help is always available when needed. Communications A+! Mrs. Slade (1st) is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

My daughter is in 2nd grade at Gorrie. I am highly impressed by the faculty and staff and the discipline in this school. If you can send your child to Gorrie, don't search anywhere else..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

My daughter attended Gorrie for 1st grade last year. Her instructor was wonderful. The reading instructor and her classroom faculty were approachable, compassionate, and worked miracles with her. She moved from a reading level of 4 to 16 in five months. The facilities are cramped and the lunchroom is in need of an updating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

My nieces go to this school. They often come home saying how bratty some of their classmates are. In my opinion parents should stop creating such an artificial environment for your kids, get a grip...it is a public school for God's sake! There are some kids that go there for the hot meal of the day. PTA should fundraise to purchase portables and break down some classrooms to bring their ratios down for real not just in paper. School should make an effort to retain good teachers. There are some people in their staff that are clogging the system. Teachers should also learn to treat all students equally, despite the fact that some parents give them big 'bonuses' throughout the year.


Posted June 2, 2008

A new principal is arriving summer 2008, so she may shake things up (the current principal has been at Gorrie for over 3 decades). I feel the school could be made safer, a gate at the front of the school at least. Class sizes are at the maximum allowed by state law, but since the school is in a historic building they can't build or remodel to make more room. So they pull students out for 'specials', 'gifted', tutoring, etc... to keep the number in the class at any given time fairly low. This makes for a lot of coming and going, but the teachers seem to handle it well. Students don't wear uniforms, but there seems to be a a lot of talk that they are wanted, and maybe the new principal will be open to uniforms (the current one isn't).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

Just a quick response to the May 2007 review: I have made repeated efforts to resolve problems regarding the guidance counselor and criticism about not valuing the parents' insight and suggestions on child placement but it has fallen on deaf ears. So, just for the record, this parent HAS taken the time to attempt to resolve problems through the proper channels. That said, I still think the teachers are wonderful and the parents are great at Gorrie.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

This school is top notch! Every teacher goes way above the call with each student . The teachers are lead by a principal that really cares about the the school and student body. The people that have complaints about the school I doubt made the time and energy to resolve their issues properly. I guess it is easier to vent in this format. These teachers have paid for trips, Christmas gifts, birthday parties (out of their own pocket) for a child that might have not been able to be provided with such special things. The teachers even volunteer after school to tutor and provide after-school clubs. I know this to be true because I am one of those teachers that also attend classes on my free time to better fullfill the needs of my students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2007

Very difficult for a parent to keep up with what their child is doing on what day, let alone the child. The FCAT scores should be good, right after Christmas break they start intensive cramming in preparation for the FCAT probably have something to do with it. Mastering of the fundamentals is just not there. Check out the parent/teacher ratio, there are definitely more parents teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

Academic programs modify and enrich based on the needs of the students music/art and pe classes are excellent--after school music programs are fantastic. Parent involvement is at the highest level.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted February 9, 2006

The majority of students come from very involved families which gives the school a lot interms of support and financial help. The prinipal is more interested in academic recognition than the actual students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

Gorrie is an A school and does very well on the fcats. Like a previous writer though, I am afraid that something is being lost here. Maybe a wider curriculum, maybe a less competeive athmosphere, I am not sure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

I would just like to express how Wonderful Gorrie Elementary School is! I am of minority ethnic background and can not thank them enough for what they to to help my child! They go above and beyond to help our children succeed! Great job Gorrie! Thank you for all of your hard work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2005

Gorrie is a great school.Contrary to a previous review--the children do not 'roam' unsupervised. The students are either escorted by a teacher or they travel in pairs everywhere. Gorrie has high expectations and all races,etc. are welcome and treated equitably & respectfully. As one reviewer stated what you put into the school you will get out. There are many volunteer opportunities. The Magic Club provides free after-school tutoring and daily activity clubs. Invitations to this club are based on academic need.The parents are involved on all levels. Communication is strong. Every Wed. a school newsletter goes home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

I feel that this school is highly overrated. The class size if fine however the place seems to be a free for all. Children are always roa ming around unsupervised. This is shocking for an elementary school. Feels unsafe for young children. Principle is extremely aloof, unfriendly and seems to have a real chip on her shoulder. I am highly unimpressed by this school and the rankings and awards seem do not reflect what is really going on there. The kids look sloppy, there seems to be no real order and if you want your very young children to grow up really fast...send them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2005

Great School, Highly recommend, but limited facilities and play area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 72%
Hispanic 14%
Black 7%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%67%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

705 West De Leon Street
Tampa, FL 33606
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 276-5673

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT