Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grady Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 458 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2013

Grady Elementary is a great school. My kids always had wonderful teachers and the support of administration and staff. I would recommend it to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

I have a son in EELP and daughter in 1st grade. I have been noting but pleased with teachers and administration for past 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

Not a military friendly school. The front office staff is amazing at trying to get you on track, but everyone else simply doesn't care. The counselor is the worst we have run across in 5 states. We were hoping to find a good feeder school for Coleman and Plant. This is not it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

My daughter attended Grady Elementary and received the best foundation a parent could ask for. The staff and administration consistently do what is best for children... they go above and beyond!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

We are a military family that moved from GA. My son has a disability and we were told that Grady would be best for him. I have had nothing but problems since my son started attending this school! ESE staff talks down to you and are not worried about what I think is best for my son. They want tomdo what they want to do. He will not be attending this school next year. We will be moving to Dale Mabry Elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2011

My youngest son was enrolled in the autism program in Grady, and since then he has shown a great amount of improvement. My oldest son was going to a different school where he was learning nothing but bad behavior. i decided to move him to Grady this year, and his behavior has changed dramatically. This is a really great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

This school is a great school. I would say that this school is one of the better schools in South Tampa. Looking for a better school that your child can attend, you found one. The Principal and Assistant Principal have great personalities along with a drive to improve and motivate children to want to do better in school. Thumbs up for this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

My son started kindergarden this year and loves Grady! I am very impressed with his teacher and principal.Nothing but Kudos so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

My son attended Riverhills Elementary last year for his kindergartenyear. He was miserable. We moved and this year he attends Grady. His attitude and behavior and outlook on scool has made a 360 degree turn for the better. The teachers are nicer, the administration is more organized and better equipt to work with children. Grady has changed his life. The best school and staff ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

Great principal and campus. Teachers are involved and care about the kids. If parental support increased I would rate the school 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

My daughter started at Grady in the middle of her 3rd grade year, which I figured would be a challenge for her w/ making new friends and fitting in. Her teacher was very understanding and willing to work w/ her to get her up to speed w/ the rest of the class. My daughter scored in the high 4 range (out of 5) on her FCAT which is impressive that she not only caught up w/ everyone, but even exceeded her level! :) Everyone at Grady is wonderful - I highly recommend Grady!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I have had 1 child attending this school for 5 years and 1 child has been attending for 3 years. I have only been disappointed with 1 teacher and that was mostly a personality issue. The other 7 teachers would classify as very good to excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Hispanic 20%
Black 8%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%67%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3910 West Morrison Avenue
Tampa, FL 33629
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 872-5325

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT