Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hillsborough High School 2

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
Use of electronics and phone and messages should be banned in the school. Administration specially the principal and VP are wonderful ...
1 person found this helpful

Hillsborough High School 5

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
Super school with a wonderful history. Band program is really really good...don't pass the band by. Thank god the school board rehabbed the building & didn't tyear it down like they initially wanted to do. Not a wealthy school like the other high schools (HBP) in Tampa but worth a good solid rating


Hillsborough High School 4

Posted November 24, 2011
- a student
im a 10th grader at hhs n the school is a good school but its true the principal really only care about the ib students like there is a separation between the traditional and ib students. But its really up to the student to how they view the school. For example before i started I asked people how was hhs and they all told mi different things and for mi non of it was true (that was for mi anyways) so its actually how the student takes it in.
1 person found this helpful

Hillsborough High School 1

Posted October 31, 2011
- a parent
If your child is not in IB take him/her out inmidiately before loosing time. The teachers do nothing, in their own word "nothing" because the majority of the kids don't care, talk back to teachers and they are afraid. The principal only cares about the IB the rest they are just there (in the school) so they are not in the streets that is their goal.

Hillsborough High School 4

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
Everyone needs to be aware that HHS has an IB magnet program and a traditional program. They are two totally different animals and just because you live "in district" doesn't mean you automatically get into the IB program. You must apply and be accepted as a freshman. The IB program is wonderful for the self motivated student. If your student is not self motivated, do yourself a favor and do not apply. As for the traditional program, you may want to do some research and talk to other parents before committing. Definitely not the same experience, teacher attitude or caliper of teaching.


Hillsborough High School 1

Posted May 18, 2011
- a parent
RUN THE OTHER WAY if your child is not in the IB Program! The faculty is just plain incompetent. I'm a parent of two traditional students at Hillsborough. If you inquire within the school, the staff doesn't even acknowledge you as a concerned parent. If they treat adults like this it's not hard to conceive how the kids are treated when you are not around...My kids and I talk about school and the teachers are cursed at and threatened by students with no actions taken. One wonders if they are reprimanded for reporting it????

Hillsborough High School 5

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
IB Program is second to none. If you're lucky enough to gain entrance into this program, don't make a mistake and pass it by. Don't believe what you hear that the child is too busy doing homework to have a 'life'. My child is in many clubs and does a sport. Traditional students may look 'rough' but are harmless. Populations are kept seperate with different bell schedules. Administration is on top of things and the teachers are the absolute cream of the crop. Your child will be better prepared for college than in a regular high school plus will probably enter college as a sophomore or higher. IB is the best program around.

Hillsborough High School 0
no rating

Posted November 04, 2009
- a student
this is a really great school and i love it there it has a great atmosphere and is very cultural school


Hillsborough High School 5

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
My daughter started the at the IB program a month ago and so far, it is wonderful. The teachers, students and sports have all inspired my daughter to do her best. They also seem to be encouraging her to be well rounded, not just a bookworm. My children came from charter schools where the schools expect the parents to donate a lot of support (money and time) to the school. This school doesn't ask for much from the parents (which is a relief, but I think the parents would be willing to do more if asked). The technology of the school is a little behind, but I'll take quality teachers over technology, any day of the week.

Hillsborough High School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
Why do you love Hillsborough High School? it enriches the minds of our future generation

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillsborough High School
5000 North Central Avenue, Tampa, FL  33603
(813) 276-5620
Last modified Hillsborough High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hillsborough High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top