Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Monroe Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 528 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

This school is terrible! The guidance counselor are useless in this school. AP and teachers don't help students out. ELP doesn't help students at all.


Posted October 2, 2014

My kid started sixth grade at Monroe this year and I was skeptical based on the reviews that were posted here on this website. Bottom Line is the school has great teachers, good environment and an excellent Principal. The communication the school has provided has been great, I especially appreciate the continuous updates the Principal provides via automated phone letting you know what to expect from the school (progress reports, meetings, etc).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2014

Previous reviews (before 2012) need to be taken with a grain of salt. There is an AMAZING new principal at this school. The principal, Mr. Hart, is one of the most dedicated men in the profession. He truly cares about his school and is invested in the future of Monroe. In ONE year, he helped lead the school from a "D" to six points from a "B." Great things are happening at Monroe and you can keep on seeing the progress as we speak. Monroe has unique electives, A Global Leadership Program, AVID, Stem Electives, and a dedicated faculty and staff. Monroe will continue to rise.


Posted September 30, 2013

Before the Hillsborough Superintendent changed this school to a United Nations Middle School using ASPnet they were an "A" school. Now they are down to a "D" rating. Their scores are horrible so why are the powers to be not being held accountable for this failure at the expense of the children? Fits in with the ral goal of Common Core to Dumb Down our children!


Posted September 4, 2013

This is my daughters second year at the school. She likes her teachers and the opportunities the school offers (Journalism, JLC). I was worried about the school because of things we had heard, but overall we haven't had any issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

I'm not going to say Monroe is perfect, but then it's not horrible or bad. Were an average school and people are just going to have to deal with it. I've went to Monroe all three years 2012-2014 and their has been a major improvement. We will miss all retired and transferred teachers. P.s Mr A.Watson was thecm best band teacher ever, if it wasn't for him I wouldn't be so confident inside.


Posted August 7, 2012

I am a teacher at Monroe and I cannot say enough how great this school year is going to be! As a staff, we are super excited to start our Olympic Competition and see our new uniforms!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 10, 2012

This is a horrible school! I never wanna step foot in there again!!!! Teachers are rude! Media Specialist & Band Directer are best teachers there!!!


Posted July 10, 2012

This school is terrible! Both of my children had to attend this school. It ruined my daughter mentally. She was called names and Bullied and nothing was ever done about it. She was racially bullied and it was ignored because she was a white student. The staff seems to just not care. The only teachers in the school that have any respect and actually love the kids are Mr. Watson the band teacher who really helped my son become an awesome trumpet player, and Ms. Ehlke who was wonderful and helpful to both of my kids. Thank goodness we moved out of south Tampa and my kids do not ever have to step foot in that place that is unfit to even call a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2012

MONROE MIDDLE SCHOOL IS NOT A GOOD SCHOOL BECAUSE THERE ARE TOO MANY FIGHTS AT THE SCHOOL AND IF A STUDENT TRIES TO PROTECT THEMSELVES FROM ANOTHER STUDENT THATS PHYSICALY FIGHTING THEM GETS AN AUTOMATIC TEN DAY SUSPENSION FROM SCHOOL ! THE SCHOOL DOES NOT INVESTIGATE THE SITUATION THOROUGHLY !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

Monroe is not the best school the teachers are awesome but when it comes down to the students it is terrible like today i had something that i was going to use but then other students destroyed it i was aggrvated and mad !!! If you are going to monroe next year think twice because this school is not what it says to be!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted August 3, 2011

School is horrible!!!!!!!!!! I was bullied all year, teachers cuss at students, and guidance counselor are no use! Bandan media specialist are the best people ther.


Posted April 12, 2011

My daughter just started at Monroe in 6th grade this year and she loves it. The curriculum is diverse and interesting and the teachers are positive and caring. The school is clean and I notice new improvements on a daily basis. The front office staff are friendly and helpful and even the student assistants are courteous. My daughter can't wait to go to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2011

My child was a good kid in a tough school before coming to Monroe. The administrators assured me that this was a fresh start and she always had someone to go to for any problems. The teachers and staff have taken care of her and made her transition to the new school very smooth and comfortable. She is happy and so am I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2010

The academic level of education is good. And that is all. this school has a few staff members that are very helpful, but alot of them who are not. The school is run more like a prison with many of the teachers having terrible attitudes. Children are labeled before they even walk in the door. Not to mention all the fighting, bullying, and the personnell act like they are afraid of the students themselves so nothing is done. My child went from an A/B student to an F at this school and I pulled him out. He is now an A/B student again. I highly recommend that if your child has to attend this school thatyou stay in close contact with the happenings in and out. In my opinion this school needs to be closed down, but until someonething drastic happens like someone getting severly hurt or killed. It wont happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

My older son now 17 years old went to Monroe for 8 and 9th and now I have a 13 year old that is a student at Monroe both of my children are honor roll students and they are getting a good education. My one complaint is my son who still attends Monroe says there are often alot of fights. The school needs to get tougher and kick out the bad kids that are there to cause trouble and not to learn. Parents take control of your bad kids and teach them respect .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

Monroe needs to reedeem itself personally beacause most of these kids have the mind of a 2yr. old and cant seem to have patience at all. Still there is way too much DRAMA, and its extremely rough passing through hallways and still there are way too much fights at this school and bullying. and its so loud in the classrooms and next door in my 6th period students apparently run that classroom and nothing is done about it. what happens next door is too much shouting of threats of violence, play fights, and flipping over tables and chairs and personal items dont get tooken care of. next door and the class gets disturbed by it and so does the teacher and she is scared to stop them. another thing is that labeling needs to stop.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2010

all the parents in these reviews say its awful. but every student says they love it. that just goes to show that the only things the parents are reviewing about is the other parents in the school. dont blame the school on a rivalry you have with another parent.


Posted January 28, 2010

My son attended Monroe two years ago. I saw many things I disagreed with and the teachers and staff would not say a thing or pretend not to see anything. My son was picked on and the staffing seemed to twist things around and blame it on us. My son was an A and B advanced student but I saw too many favortism, bullying and lies. As soon as the end of school year came around, I removed my son from that place and I do not regret it. Florida Virtual is the best. I know many parents that felt the same way I did. I say keep active with your child and make occassional surprise visits to the school and you see it all at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

This is a great school with great acheivements but the overall rate is tough according to the students that go there i say the freedom has ended and the ugly begins.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

206 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

207 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
26%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

204 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

191 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 40%
White 25%
Hispanic 24%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%67%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 15%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MR. KENNETH HART
Fax number
  • (813) 272-3027

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4716 West Montgomery Avenue
Tampa, FL 33616
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 272-3020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT