Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Monroe Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 528 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

Monroe is a school with a family atmosphere. It was the first middle school in Hillsborough County schools and all the teachers who have to leave, always say that they never found a school with the atmosphere like Monroe. Many of our alumni are now parents at Monroe and they like what they see. Monroe went from a C to an A this past school year, and the reasons are apparent. This faculty works very hard to support each other.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2009

I love Monroe Midlle school it's the best school I attended to.I'm still going to Monroe and I'm in 7 grade.I'm loving it
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2009

I liked going to this school! I liked all the teachers i had and i liked joining the sports...haha two years ago... ya_ah
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2009

Monroe is a great school! I attend Monroe for the first year in 7th grade! There is some bullying but over all its ok. The teachers are great and they really interact with the kids!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2008

As i read these reviews I ask myself when does the teachers/principal plan to take any action and make changes? This does not have to be such a bad school. It does not appear that the staff in this school really care about what happens to these students. Pulling my son from this school is the best thing I have done, and reading the other reviews I see still no changes have been made. It really is a shame!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

The academic level of education is good. And that is all. this scholl has a few staff members that are very helpful, but alot of them who are not. The school is run more like a prison with many of the teachers having terrible attitudes. Children are labeled before they even walk in the door. My child went from an A/B student to an F at this school and I pulled him out. He is now an A/B student again. I highly recommend that id your child has to attend this school thatyou stay in close contact with the happenings in and out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2006

This is son's first year at Monroe as a 6th grader and so far I am very excited about it. I also attended Monroe for 7th, 8th & 9th grade. The Principal and the staff seem very motivated and driven. I haven't had any bad experiences yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2003

Monroe is a jewel in South Tampa. The teachers that my child has had have been of high quality, professional and truly caring. My child enjoys going to school and is excited about their days at Monroe. I have also found the Administration at Monroe makes every effort to be accessable and work in cooperation with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The classes at Monroe are actually much larger than 19 students per class. My son has been attending Monroe for two years. For 7th grade, the class size is approximately 27 students per class. I have received paperwork from numerous teachers with spelling and grammatical errors. Other than sports, there are no extracurricular activities such as clubs or organizations for the students to join. The ROTC Program has also been cancelled, even though Monroe was the only Middle School in Florida to have such a program. Although rated an 'A' school, Monroe is more of a 'B' or 'C' grade school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2003

I think that Monroe is an excellent middle school. I would recommend it to anyone who ask. My daughter went to this school for sixth grade and the teachers were really great. They helped her on a one on one basis when possible and always gave outstanding support and encouragment. If it wasnt for an emergency move I would of left my daughter at Monroe for all three junior high years.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

206 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

207 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
26%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

204 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

191 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 40%
White 25%
Hispanic 24%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%67%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 15%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MR. KENNETH HART
Fax number
  • (813) 272-3027

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4716 West Montgomery Avenue
Tampa, FL 33616
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 272-3020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT