Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Miles Elementary School 4

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
To address a key point the current administration @ Miles, for the last 5 yrs have demonstrated a strong commitment to improve the school & to bring it to a higher level each year. In the last 2 yrs, I have never felt excluded on any decision involving my boys' educational or participation in school activties. While I abhor Common Core and we are all going through an adjustment period, I found that my boys' teachers have gone the extra distance to make it work for the class. Miles may have been bad before but it is now moving up to be a better schoold that I'm happy to send my boys to.

Miles Elementary School 4

Posted July 17, 2013
- a parent
The overall quality of the school is great, older reviews were with the old principal. The after school program is basicly chaos, but mine didn't go once I realized that. The teachers were awesome. The classification of the school as a renaissance school due to low income area isn't very helpful when it comes to getting substitutes when needs. The classes had to split on several occasion due to no sub, but in a way I felt like it gave my child flexibility and feel he handled it well even though his social skills are lacking. Once his teacher went out to have a baby, we sort of adapted a "go with the flow" attitude which helped him a lot. I think he even found it fund when the classes got split on occasion. The staff is excellent, kudos to the principal and asst principal for being so involved.


Miles Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
This school is a awesome school in my book. Teachers are care helpful and understanding. I my self went to this school and am proud that my children are to fallow in my foot steps. thank you to all the teacher for there help in teaching my son. THANK YOU<3

Miles Elementary School 1

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
Moving this year as a single parent I have always been actively involved in my sons education. Miles elementary is the absolute worst school I have ever been involved with! Finally after 5 months of nothing but problems I get a reaction from the principal. It took calling the school board. They do not welcome parent interaction. They are very unorganized. The majority of the office staff is under qualified not only professionally but also socially. The classrooms are poorly monitored. The teachers as well as students come and go as they please. There tutoring program is pointless they offer it but do not implement it. My son sits an hour before anything is actually started. Rather than progressing his education my son is regressing. He WILL NOT be attending this school next year even if it means moving!!!!

Miles Elementary School 2

Posted August 20, 2009
- a parent
They would probably be a great school if they would use the parent resources available. They don't even seem to want parent input or help. I volunteered to help repeatedly last year and it was like pulling teeth to get the chance to actually help. They seem to think using parent volunteers is more trouble than it is worth. Sad state of affairs.


Miles Elementary School 1

Posted February 01, 2009
- a parent
The reason I'm writing this review is because like the other reviewers I thought the teachers did a great job with my children but the principal was nonexistant. The teachers would get back to me right away, but Mrs Coyle (the principal) was either never there or would never return my calls. Is'nt a principal supposed to be at the school 24/7. I think the school would be alot better if the principal actually was there, instead of chronically absent. I heard that she's leaving next year and me and some of the other parents could'nt be happier. Like I said I love the teachers, but the school needs better direction.

Miles Elementary School 1

Posted January 29, 2009
- a parent
not thrilled with the school

Miles Elementary School 1

Posted January 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Miles Elementary School 4

Posted August 07, 2008
- a parent
My children attended miles for 2 and 4 years. I have always loved this school. I got the opportunity to know a number of the teachers there in that time. I found them to be loving to all of the students. My kids loved going to school in the mornings. How many kids say that. Even my baby who was to start this years is now broken hearted to not be allowed to be in her sisters kidnergarden class. We won't be at Miles this year because of over crowded classes. Our special assignment was denied. I will continue to try to bring them back to the caring enviroment that we as a family have grown to love. We will miss them. I will always continue to recommend this school to anyone lucky enough to learn here.

Miles Elementary School 4

Posted June 11, 2008
- a parent
My two children, niece and nephew go to Miles. The teachers are great! I have had no problems with the staff. I saw that someone wrote that the school is a nightmare? Whenever I had a concern or question the staff and teachers were ALWAYS there to assist in anyway they can. Im glad the children in my life go there. I wouldn't have them go anywhere else.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Miles Elementary School
317 East 124th Avenue, Tampa, FL  33612
(813) 975-7337
Last modified Miles Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Miles Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top