Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

810 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Miles Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 21, 2015
- a student
Depending on the class that a teacher has and what grade, the teacher can move up a next grade with the same students that they had the year before and that brought our class together. That helped because we already knew each other and each other's strengths.

Miles Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 21, 2015
- a student
I feel this way because anytime our class does something bad or unacceptable, the teacher will confront us if they need to and give us a lecture to put us (the students that misbehaved) in our right minds. Like if we had a substitute or if someone is being bullied. The teacher will confront them (at least the teachers I had) and make them apologize, and if it continues to happen after they had a talk with them they will contact their parents to try and figure something out to stop what's happening.


Miles Elementary School 4

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
To address a key point the current administration @ Miles, for the last 5 yrs have demonstrated a strong commitment to improve the school & to bring it to a higher level each year. In the last 2 yrs, I have never felt excluded on any decision involving my boys' educational or participation in school activties. While I abhor Common Core and we are all going through an adjustment period, I found that my boys' teachers have gone the extra distance to make it work for the class. Miles may have been bad before but it is now moving up to be a better schoold that I'm happy to send my boys to.

Miles Elementary School 4

Posted July 17, 2013
- a parent
The overall quality of the school is great, older reviews were with the old principal. The after school program is basicly chaos, but mine didn't go once I realized that. The teachers were awesome. The classification of the school as a renaissance school due to low income area isn't very helpful when it comes to getting substitutes when needs. The classes had to split on several occasion due to no sub, but in a way I felt like it gave my child flexibility and feel he handled it well even though his social skills are lacking. Once his teacher went out to have a baby, we sort of adapted a "go with the flow" attitude which helped him a lot. I think he even found it fund when the classes got split on occasion. The staff is excellent, kudos to the principal and asst principal for being so involved.

Miles Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
This school is a awesome school in my book. Teachers are care helpful and understanding. I my self went to this school and am proud that my children are to fallow in my foot steps. thank you to all the teacher for there help in teaching my son. THANK YOU<3


Miles Elementary School 1

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
Moving this year as a single parent I have always been actively involved in my sons education. Miles elementary is the absolute worst school I have ever been involved with! Finally after 5 months of nothing but problems I get a reaction from the principal. It took calling the school board. They do not welcome parent interaction. They are very unorganized. The majority of the office staff is under qualified not only professionally but also socially. The classrooms are poorly monitored. The teachers as well as students come and go as they please. There tutoring program is pointless they offer it but do not implement it. My son sits an hour before anything is actually started. Rather than progressing his education my son is regressing. He WILL NOT be attending this school next year even if it means moving!!!!

Miles Elementary School 2

Posted August 20, 2009
- a parent
They would probably be a great school if they would use the parent resources available. They don't even seem to want parent input or help. I volunteered to help repeatedly last year and it was like pulling teeth to get the chance to actually help. They seem to think using parent volunteers is more trouble than it is worth. Sad state of affairs.

Miles Elementary School 1

Posted February 01, 2009
- a parent
The reason I'm writing this review is because like the other reviewers I thought the teachers did a great job with my children but the principal was nonexistant. The teachers would get back to me right away, but Mrs Coyle (the principal) was either never there or would never return my calls. Is'nt a principal supposed to be at the school 24/7. I think the school would be alot better if the principal actually was there, instead of chronically absent. I heard that she's leaving next year and me and some of the other parents could'nt be happier. Like I said I love the teachers, but the school needs better direction.


Miles Elementary School 1

Posted January 29, 2009
- a parent

Miles Elementary School 4

Posted August 07, 2008
- a parent
My children attended miles for 2 and 4 years. I have always loved this school. I got the opportunity to know a number of the teachers there in that time. I found them to be loving to all of the students. My kids loved going to school in the mornings. How many kids say that. Even my baby who was to start this years is now broken hearted to not be allowed to be in her sisters kidnergarden class. We won't be at Miles this year because of over crowded classes. Our special assignment was denied. I will continue to try to bring them back to the caring enviroment that we as a family have grown to love. We will miss them. I will always continue to recommend this school to anyone lucky enough to learn here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Miles Elementary School
317 East 124th Avenue, Tampa, FL  33612
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (813) 975-7337
Last modified Miles Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top