Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morgan Woods Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 536 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2013

my daughter and son in morgan woods elemantry.i think great school for my kids all teacher and staff very coprative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

My child has been a student for many years at this school. 2nd day of class and already rudeness. I am a parent who is VERY involved in my child's education. We get there early, I usually wait outside the class room I know the 7:30a rule, but I wait in the center of the Pod where the air is at, but today i was told I had to wait outside.... Can you believe that? In this Tampa weather. No consideration at all very rude!! Then teachers complain when they don't even see the parent. Just incredible! The funny thing is it was only 4 mins till 7:30a.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

MORGAN WOODS IS A GREAT SCHOOL......... I TOOK MY SON OUT OF HIS SCHOOL BECAUSE OF THE LACK OF EDUCATION AND ECT...... I WENT ON LINE TO MY SCHOOL CHOICE AND SEEN MORGAN WOODS..... LOOKED UP THE SCHOOL AND WAS IMPRESSED..... BUT NOW MY SON IS THRILLED ABOUT GOING TO SCHOOL TO LEARN........ SMALL CLASSROOMS AND BEAUTIFUL ATMOSPHERE...... FOR FOUR SEMESTER MY SON HAD A'S AND B'S...... ALL I CAN SAY IS THANK YOU MORGAN WOODS FOR THE OUTSTANDING WORK...... MY SON IS LOOKING FORWARD TO SCHOOL THIS YEAR........ :-) THANK YOU.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

The teachers and staff I have met at this school are amazing. This is only my second year. As a single parent with a full time job, it's hard. I feel very welcome at this school. I can have breakfast with my daughter in the cafeteria; volunteer on my schedule; I am frequently invited to important sessions meetings; I am able to have lunch with my daughter on the school grounds. Speak often to the teacher, if that is the least you can do, then do it. I have a conversation with the teacher as often as possible about my child's achievements, as well as areas for improvement. You cannot wait until teacher/parent conference. Everyday is an opportunity to get involved and share in the challenges your child, and their school is facing. The energy and enthusiasm that these teachers exhibit is empowering. They have amazing ideas and they share them. You want your child to write well. Visit their classroom and involve yourself in how the teacher explains the mechanics of grammar. Then, you will be well equipped to reinforce what he/she has learned. Work together with your child's teacher and guidance counselor. Find opportunities to get in the classroom. You will see results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2010

I must agree with the comment that the writing at this school is poor. I have been let down by the speech therapist here for 2 years in a row. I have to correct almost everything my son writes, therefore decided to get a second opinion outside of school. Turns out there is a learning disability that has gone by completely undetected by any of his teachers. In addition to this his homework is only checked about a quarter of the time and that is only to see if it has been done, not if it is correct or not. It seems like the only students who get the special attetion they need are the one who are also a behavioral issue which my son is not. I feel as though they are just shuffling him along to the next grade without giving him the tools he needs to really learn. Needless to say I'm not impressed with Morgan Woods.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My daughter is finishing up Kindergarten and her Teacher Mrs. Manning is/was excellent. Hopefully first grade will be the same. Mrs. Smallen (ELLP) has done an excellent job again this year with my son as well. Overall the school is Good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

My daughter learned a lot with her Kindergarten teacher. She was always very advanced. I wish there had been more art integrated in the curriculum but I hope that will be the case as she enters 1st grade. Her teacher did a great job keepins us involved and informed of my daughter's progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

Writing/spelling is poor and that is evidenced by looking at posted work on the walls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

My daughter is now in first grade at Morgan Woods. Her kindergarten teacher was outstanding, and she has always had excellent experiences. The teachers care about the students and there is a good balance of activities for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

Morganwood is a great school with great teachers. The elp class in this school is great, Thank you Mrs. Bergin!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
27%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 65% 29%
White 19% 42%
Black 9% 23%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%67%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jonathan Barlar
Fax number
  • (813) 873-4869

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7001 Armand Dr
Tampa, FL 33634
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 872-5369

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT