Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,330 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 68 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Plant High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Again, nothing beyond academics, football and donations appears to be a priority at this school.

Plant High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
All they care about is academics, football and donations. If they cared about kids at all, it wouldn't be so hard to communicate with teachers or get in to see the guidance counselor.


Plant High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
The fact is, they barely teach. My child doesn't learn. He memorizes, regurgitates and then forgets it all when the test is over. There is no genuine learning happening.

Plant High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at this school use class time for busywork and then send them home to spend hours and hours on homework. My child used to love school and now he despises it.

Plant High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
If pushing students to their mental and emotional breaking points accomplishes this, then yes, they do. If truly educating a child to be a critical thinker who can solve problems and discuss topics intelligently is the criteria, then no, they don't.


Plant High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
I don't know what they promote. All I get are 8 million tweets from the school about every single score from every single sport and a lot of tweets about scholarships that my child isn't old enough to apply for yet.

Plant High School 3

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Plant puts a huge amount of emphasis on college prep which is great but the homework load is absolutely ridiculous. They have my child for nearly 8 hrs a day and then give him another 3-4 hrs of homework per night. Meanwhile, I have no idea what his grades are in at least half his classes because only a handful of teachers update Edsby in a timely manner, if at all. Teachers rarely respond to emails or messages on Edsby and if you can get anyone from the administration or guidance to respond to you, consider yourself lucky.

Plant High School 1

Posted July 29, 2015
- a community member
I, a former student of Plant High School, have attended many different schools throughout my childhood due to my parents job and I can tell you that Hillsborough County Schools were the worst experience for me. This school only cares about tests and GPAs, and having a good reputation. Colleges are seeing how a student challenges themselves in their current high school situation, and because Plant has over thirty AP classes, upper classmen are forced to pile on five to six AP classes a year in order to get into a state university. This is extremely stressful and time consuming and I personally wish that students could take AP courses in subjects that they are passionate about, instead of everything. I went to Plant high school freshmen year and was told all of the standardized tests were being changed that year. They were no longer mulitple choice, you had to type in answers, drag, check, etc. My geometry teacher, in an attempt to prepare us, changed our regular classroom tests into the format our new end of year assesments would be. Ofcourse, as expected, alot of grades dropped, being that it was much harder. The end of the year approached and I felt confident that I would pass this test. This test also was going to count as thirty percent of our final grade. A few days before the test I was told that the state would not let us use or calculators we had been using the whole year in preparation for this test, so I purchased the approved one and spent my whole weekend in anxiety trying to figure out how to use the trigonometry functions on the calculator. I took the test and felt pretty okay about it. A few weeks later, the last day of school was close and my math teacher informed us that our tests would not count because the people supposed to grade them did not have time to get all of them graded. I about cried because all of the stress and hard work I put into it was for nothing. The teachers are another issue that Plant needs to work on. I had a few teachers who I didn't even feel comfortable asking a question because they were so rude, and some who had no idea what they were even teaching. In conclusion, this school was an awful experience and the state needs to get their act together, and figure out how they are testing us because it is absolutely ridiculous to put a student through so much stress and have it all be for nothing.


Plant High School 1

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
My children come home everyday not in a good mood. She says that some teachers are rude and yells at you for no reason and the kids are cocky and rude. The first day when she needed help there were no one there to help and when she found one they didn't even answer her question fully. When we transferred to Bloomindale High School their was so much help and their music industry is phenomenal.The teachers helps their students and the extracurricular activities were great to

Plant High School 5

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
Here's the problem, we all need to make sure that fairness is infiltrated throughout schools. That would solve many problems currently in all schools. Entitlement is what I'm reading. We're looking for a school in this area, and wanted what was best for our children that two have special needs, one adopted and exposed to alcohol. Any suggestions about this school, Currently we pay for Catholic schools in Michigan.

Nearby schools

Plant High School
2415 South Himes Avenue, Tampa, FL  33629
(813) 272-3033
Last modified Plant High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top