Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Progress Village Middle Magnet School

Public | 6-8 | 865 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2008

this school is terrible i am taking my child out. the teachers are rude an so are the students. this school was so bad and made my son feel so unsafe that i had to pick him up a couple of times
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

this school is not set up for a performing art school it only has a gym and the sound is very poor and the seating is poor I think it's rated this way because of were it is. think about it before sending your kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

School is great, the students are very respectful and the teachers are very sincere and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

I volunteered at the year-end Bobcat Bash. I had expected to encounter 'middle school attitude', but instead I was treated with respect & courtesy by the students. I was really impressed. Also, each staff member I came in contact with was friendly & very helpful. My older son chose to attend PVMMSA & my younger son is there now. They both have done well. The bus ride is a little long, but that didn't discourage them from attending this magnet school. As a parent, I have been happy with the attention that my children & I have gotten from the teachers and staff. PVMMSA has been a very positive experience for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

Both of my children go to Progress Village and I couldn't be happier. The teachers go above and beyond to maximize the students' academic and artistic abilities. The teachers also show support for after school activities by volunteering to work with students in rehearsals and performances that take place after school hours. Progress Village's slogan is 'Where every student is a star', but I would have to say that this is only true because every teacher and administrator there is also a star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

Progress Village Middle Magnet School has been such a positive experience for my daughter. She has excelled not only academically, but her piano playing has progressed by leaps and bounds. She has developed such a love and appreciation for the arts. PV has taught her respect for diversity and acceptance and appreciation for all people regardless of race or social status. I can't say enough about the faculty and staff at PV. They are so nurturing, supportive and encouraging. They truly enjoy working with the students and they make themselves available to them. The principal is very well liked and respected. He treats the students with respect, joins in on activities and is present at every function (and there are MANY at a school for the arts). This school is top notch, most especially for students interested in any form of the arts. My daughter will miss PV very much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

I volunteered at the year end 'Bobcat Bash' & had expected to encounter 'Middle School Attitude'. What I found was a respectful, considerate & friendly student body. Although the students did not know me, they still treated me respectfully & courteously. In fact, everyone at the school was very helpful & friendly, including faculty & staff. My older son attended PVMMSA & my younger son is there now. Both have enjoyed it there, enough to tolerate the long bus rides to & from school, & both have done well. What 1st attracted us to the arts magnet school was that schools in our area are very overcrowded. My boys stayed because they were happy there, & I think that is very important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

On Parent/Teacher night interviews, I have been impressed with the sincere concern the teachers have towards my children. They know my children's strengths, weaknesses and have solutions for in class and at home help. My children enjoyed the extracurricular sports and other activities that are offered as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

Great teachers who truly care about the success of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2004

I feel this school need to do something about the staff that greet the parent in the office. They make you feel like you have commit a crime if go in to sign in or out child at school. If try to help out at school like working in the library forget it. They dont need your help. When I go there I feel like I'm visiting prison. They want money from the parent. But,They make very hard for the the parent to help. They need to STOP acting like this is low income school. Remember this a Performing Art School. My kids love the school. They just make it so hard for the parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

My daughter is in the seventh grade at PV. This is her second year, I have found the curriculum to be challenging and I am very impressed with Mrs. Oliver. She seems dedicated and excited to be at her position
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2003

Progress Village is overall a great school. My son did very well there and is going to Blake for High School. The only complaint I would have is that it seems in every school, the teacher is always right, even if their not. The administration condones them not apologizing to a student when they have clearly been cruel or demoralizing. Their words 'I understand why it is hard to apologize to a child'. Children are people and should be treated with respect and consideration as well as adults. I would like to note that most of the teacher are caring and deserving of our respect. They are nuturing and some even try to find out much makes our kids tick. My younger son will be attending for two years and has improved in his reading skills.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

322 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

322 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

281 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

281 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

232 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

232 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

231 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

244 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 36%
Black 29%
Hispanic 28%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 77%67%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Magnet School of Excellence (2008)
  • Recognized as an "A" school by the state of Florida (2006)
  • Five Star School (2006)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:35
School end time
  • 2:50
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MR. ANDREW OLSON
Fax number
  • (813) 671-5240

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8113 Zinnia Drive
Tampa, FL 33619
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 671-5110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Giunta Middle School
Riverview, FL


Pivot Charter School
Riverview, FL


Pivot Charter School
Riverview, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT