Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Progress Village Middle Magnet School

Public | 6-8 | 845 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2014

I am an 8th grader at Progress Village and I must say, I absolutely love this school. When I first found out about the school I didn't want to go because of where it was located. I thought it would be a school with bad kids and fights, ect. In all honesty, I was completely wrong. I love going to school everyday. This school is like my second home. I met my best friends here and the teachers are amazing too. They care about us students as if we are their own children. Also, the arts part of the school is great. I am in the band program and I feel like part of a big, loving and caring family being in band. Progress Village is definitely a good school.


Posted February 24, 2014

This is a wonderful school. My daughter has attended this school for sixth and seventh grade and it has been such a positive experience for her. There is a climate of high expectations for both behavior and academics. The teachers are very dedicated. The students are involved in meaningful activities, which leaves little time for misbehavior. My daughter loves all the choices for electives and the academic courses are also very challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2013

For every 5th grader who loves the arts and wants a good education, attend Progress Village. The teachers and staff are amazing, and they offer all kinds of opportunities here to help everybody succeed in both academics and the arts.


Posted July 29, 2013

This school is an amazing school. My sister used to go to progress village and she loved it. And I'm starting as a 6th grader and I'm Overwhelmed with excitement. I've gotten so much compliment and good thing said about progress village middle magnet school. I will be attending in P.E and Culinary arts in this school and everybody is telling me I will have the best time at this school. In 7th grade I would be glad to join the yearbook/ Journalism Committee for my third elective. People have also told me you make a lot of new friends and they soon to become best friends and they would be from a school you have never heard about. But I would Definitely recommend this school


Posted July 10, 2013

I heard this is a great school and i am going to this school this year as a 6th grader.


Posted June 19, 2011

Excellent school! The Administration, teachers, & PTSA make for a very rewarding experience for kids and parents alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

I highly recommend this school, especially if your child has an interest or talent in music, orchestra, art, theater, sewing, cooking, etc. My son had a wonderful time during his 3 years there (2008 - 2011) - overall the teachers were great and they really work with the kids to bring out the best in them. The principal is wonderful and dedicated, as is the staff. My son blossomed at this school and we rarely heard of any negative incidents or violence. Besides all the emphasis in the Arts, it's also academically an "A" school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

I am a freshman this year and left PV last june to move onto HS and let me say that was one of the saddest days ever! i abbsolutley loved PV. during my 3 years there i learned to be dedicated and passonate about everything i set my mind to, i learned this through my involvment in the amazing theatre program and an amazing organization called FCCLA. i also made many 'families' while i was there. This is a fantastic school, ask any former student, those were the best 3 years of my life :) if you are considering this school for yoursalf or your child, I highly reccomend that you go and visit the school because you too can have an amazing 3 years of middle school
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2009

I went to this school and it was excllent! It could use ssome tideing up but over all I'd give it 2 thumbs up
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2009

I've discovered new leadership skills and other talents while attending this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2009

I think Progress Village is a great School. The classes they have for us to express our love to the arts. The art teacher may be a pain but I did become a better artist. The voilence may be very high but that is how us teens act. I thnk the new principal is better than Mr. Shaffner . So overall this is a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2009

this school has my vote! i am a 6th grader here at progress village, and never in my time there has there been a fight. the teachers are great, helping, and encouraging. they motivate students to do their best and try hard. the principal and vice principal are nice and always on task, they do their best to do the announcements every morning, and to be there every day. the rest of the staff are nice too. my teachers try to do their best everyday as well, but with 25 rambunctious tweens, they can be stern, or strict.i came for the costume design and culinary arts class, and i have had so much fun! i reccomend this school for anyone who is looking for a magnet school - even if they're not interested in the arts, this school is just that good!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2009

My child attended for 6-8 & had a great experience. The only problem I saw was less communication between teachers/parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

i go there and its ok i mean the fights decreased this year xD and besides some of the students its a pretty good school
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2008

progress village middle magnet school is a really good school. i learn a lot of things at that school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2008

I went to PVMMS for 1 year then had to move. But that year was one of the best of my school carrer. I learned so much and had so much fun in all the activites they had to offer. I would suggest this school to anyone who likes any kind of art.


Posted October 21, 2008

This is a great school with a great program, I would suggest this school to any student that wants a fun academic middle school career and is into the arts
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2008

Mydaughter is a seventh grader in the advanced honors program. This is our second year there and we will return next year. Great school with great dedicated teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

this school is terrible i am taking my child out. the teachers are rude an so are the students. this school was so bad and made my son feel so unsafe that i had to pick him up a couple of times
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

this school is not set up for a performing art school it only has a gym and the sound is very poor and the seating is poor I think it's rated this way because of were it is. think about it before sending your kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

244 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 42%
Black 30% 23%
Hispanic 26% 29%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 77%67%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Magnet School of Excellence (2008)
  • Recognized as an "A" school by the state of Florida (2006)
  • Five Star School (2006)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:35
School end time
  • 2:50
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Michael Miranda
Fax number
  • (813) 671-5240

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8113 Zinnia Dr
Tampa, FL 33619
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 671-5110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Giunta Middle School
Riverview, FL


Pivot Charter School
Riverview, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT