Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robinson High School

Public | 9-12 | 1557 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2013

Unique to Robinson, MacDill Aeronautical Academy gives traditional and IB students the opportunity to take an Aerospace elective. Learn aviation history, the phonetic alphabet, "Alpha, Bravo, Charlie", flight terms like "pitch and yaw", navigation, dead reckoning, and weather conditions. Learn to design in 3-D with Solid Works , and enjoy Flying Fridays on your flight simulator. Aerospace makes learning math and science relevant, starting with trig concepts in freshman year, through astronautical physics in senior year. The IB Extended Essay can be written on an Aerospace topic under the subject of Physics. Hands-on building and flying of kites, hot air balloons, balsa wood planes, and rockets makes learning fun. Go on inspiring field trips to MacDill AFB, Tampa International Airport, Lockheed Martin, Sypris Electronics, and the Sun 'N Fun Airshow. There are many different types of careers in aviation, aerospace, and space tourism. My son is well prepared to attend Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University next year to study Aerospace Engineering. Aerospace does not require much study time outside of the classroom; it is definitely worth giving up a study hall for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

My daughter had a choice between Robinson IB and H.B. Plant High School. I went to Plant, my wife went to Plant, my sister, mother, father and grandfather went to Plant. Needless to say it was not an easy decision. Both schools are great but Robinson IB was a better fit for her academically as well as socially. 150 kids in the freshman IB class allowed her to get to know every student. There were better opportunities for her in the sports programs as there were not as many students. Socially was her biggest concern as she thought there may not be too many social activities to participate in. She loves it and that says a lot from a "social butterfly". The concerns about being South of Gandy Boulevard are something from the past. It is a fantastic school with great diversity. 1/3 Traditional, 1/3 Military and 1/3 IB. We feel like she made the correct decision for her future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

From the moment my daughter heard about the IB program, she was determined to attend Robinson (even though we are zoned for Plant High School). She has never looked back in the 3.5 years she has attended Robinson - the quality of teaching is excellent, the chance to be involved in sports has added to her high school experience, and the small size of her class has made it so that she has gotten to know her teachers well. The best part of the Robinson IB program for my daughter is that she is surrounded by other students who truly care about learning. The students aren't all just focused on studying - they also spend a lot of time on community service, sports, and creative activities. She would highly recommend the school to other students who like to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

I'm in my 3rd year in the traditional program, and I am a student with high hopes, and a 3.5 unweighted gpa (just so we know I'm not one of the delinquents who hates school) . For the past three years, I have had to deal with terrible teachers. Teachers who only care about getting payed and going home, teachers who can't control a class for their own life, and teachers who complain how terrible their job is and how they can't wait until retirement. This year has been my hardest year. I have learned very little and had many conflicts with teachers who grade unfairly or who are unclear and simply do not teach. Only one teacher has actually taught me some stuff this year, and that's Robinson's teacher of the year. If your child is not going to be in the IB program, do not send him/her to this school if you want them to have smooth time in high school. Do them a favor, get them in IB, or send them to Plant
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2013

As a traditional student here currently, and after 3 years of experience with this school, the 1200 characters I am allowed to type here would not be enough to describe the many downsides of this school. Teachers are UNBELIEVABLY unprofessional, very few take advantage of Edline on the computer, many teachers are grandfathered-in to having a job there only because they've been there for so long, rather than firing them for their utter lack of curriculum. Many of these old timey teachers' favorite subjects of conversation are when they're going to retire, and i'm sure you can imagine how enjoyable a teacher who hates teaching can be. Certain teachers will lose work because of their unorganized homework collection procedures, naturally you'd go to the guidance counselor over such matters, but only to be told that teachers procedures are their own business. Sure, this school could be a good choice for some kids, if you can ignore the quarterly fights between the hoodlums that attend here from neighboring Port Tampa. I really don't know how my school was declared an 'A' school; Honestly I think it's the traditional students piggy-backing off of the IB student's grades.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2012

My son will be attending RHS 2013 and being that I am a big advocate for his education, I research all his schools, teachers, academics and sports. Currently, these reviews all seem positive. The few negative are ones that I believe are in all schools. If anyone has more current information to share, I would appreciate it! Thank you to those that have expressed your thoughts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2012

This school is the absolute best. I am a military child and I have moved to so many schools. And no school came close to Robinson High School. The atmosphere around you is so friendly and at anytime you can just make a friend in the blink of an eye. The athletics, the music program, and the NJROTC program are a definite impact to any of the student body's life. So far I've read that there are "thugs" and bullies, according to some reviews, at the school. What school doesn't ? In life, you aren't going to encounter the people you are comfortable with or used to. So don't describe this amazing school with those traits. Because this school is capable of making a positive impact in anyone's life. It sure has with mine.. Once a Knight Always a Knight.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2011

Dec. - 2011 this school is a joke, nothing but thugs that should be locked up. did you know there are 11 convicted felon students at Robinson High?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

traditional is great and it is definatly the best school in the county. they also have the best band director.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2010

From safety point - Worst parking lot drop off situation ever. They have actually set it up so students have to walk in front of and between moving vehicles to get to and from the school in front of the gym. There is no supervision at all in the mornings and afternoons the School resource officer is in his veh. at the far end of the parking lot. It's a pedestrian accident situation just waiting to happen. Kids drive in the exit which is clearly marked do not enter ,but since there is not supervision it has not been enforced all year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

I'm a senior at robinson this year and the school is what you make it . Parents make it seem like the only reason you should go to RHS is if your in the IB program and thats not how it is , RHS has very good teachers and staff . Our school is just as strict as many other schools . Sure our FCAT scores might be low but that has to do with our test taking knowlege not how the teachers teach because if that was true then our teachers have been messing up since first grade when we statred taking pre FCAT it has nothing to do with our short time in high school . But as i said if you come to school prepared to learn then you will that day and everyday but if you dont come to school with that spirit then you wont learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2009

Robinson is a great school, however, constantly overlooked because of the other schools and the money behind them. Even with the lower income area, they are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

My son is a freshman, and so far we love the school. He was sick and I emailed the teachers for his assignments and they all emailed me back the same day. I am very impressed with the 'small school' atmosphere. Only 18 students per teacher - the smallest school in the County. So far, so great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

I am appalled at the decision by the school's faculty of holding the 2009 graduation on a Tuesday. I cannot think of a worse day of the week to have such an important event for these kids and their families. I find this very unacceptable, unfair and not a family friendly decision. The children of this, as in any other High school in the country, regards this day as one of the greatest day of their young lives. A day that they have looked forward to for the last 12 months to show the world, their close friends and most importantly their family members near and far, the concrete results of their accomplishments. But, it is my belief that, this school faculty's 'thinking' was not even close, about being 'family friendly'. Especially family members that live out of the South Florida area. How about a Monday, Friday or even Saturday?


Posted January 28, 2009

I have a child both in ib and traditional. I have not experienced any predjuces against traditional from ib. If you work hard enough you can be in ib. If you choose traditional then you work torwards that. I see the principal out in front of the school every day monitoring the students I have never seen that at any other school they have attended. I have watched her run directly torward what looks like any kind of confrontation to protect these students at her own risk which is more than i can say for parents who sit and watch. No school is perfect but I think this is a wonderful school after two years of attendence regarding impotant issues including my main concerns which are safety and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

I had high hopes for Robinson with the addition of the IB program and neighborhood changes. However, unless your child is in the IB program don't expect them to get much. Serious behavior problems throughout the school, I've had to call numerous times trying to get help with bullying problems. Many of the staff are friendly and caring, other staff are pitbulls and make it difficult to get information you need. My child's teachers often seem to be just getting through the day and have little motivation or energy to challenge the students. I'm very frustrated by the divide that the addition of IB has created. The IB parents don't hesitate to let you know that they think they are doing the school a 'favor' by transferring their kids from Plant or wherever and that we should be grateful to them. Robinson has so much potential, but I'm really disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

As a parent of a student in the IB program, I think this school doesn't get the respect it deserves. The administration at this school are wonderful and the teachers are very devoted and involved. Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

As a parent of a student in the IB program, I think this school doesn't get the respect it deserves. The administration at this school are wonderful and the teachers are very devoted and involved. Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

As a parent of a student in the IB program, I think this school doesn't get the respect it deserves. The administration at this school are wonderful and the teachers are very devoted and involved. Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

This school, having its small atmosphere, is by fare the best school in tampa. The teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

417 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

384 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

387 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

364 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
50%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 46%
Hispanic 23%
Black 13%
Asian 9%
Two or more races 9%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 80%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%67%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOHNNY BUSH
Fax number
  • (813) 272-3014

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6311 South Lois Avenue
Tampa, FL 33616
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 272-3006

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT