Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,541 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Robinson High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 10, 2016
- a student
In the IB program, there is an extremely rigorous amount of course work, but that is to be expected for a program like that.

Robinson High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a student
Unlike all the other high schools in the Tampa Bay area, there is no fighting or drug presence here. The students are held to the highest standard of respect for themselves and others


Robinson High School 5

Posted May 10, 2016
- a student
Robinson has an excellent traditional and IB program. The teachers are very determined and help allow students to excel. It has a small school feel with many excellent programs not offered at other high schools, like the IB program and culinary. The IB program offers private school education without a 20k price tag.

Robinson High School 2

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
The school is overcrowded - desperately needs expansion or hire more teachers. Some classes don't even have enough chairs for students. My son was not able to take foreign language because the school didn't have much to offer and all classes were full. Also the school seems to pay more attention to IB students. School staff are not responsive and rude. The assistant principal doesn't return phone calls. School counselors were not very helpful and answered my questions in very short answer. They also registered my child (freshman) for senior level classes without checking prerequisites. It was a nightmare to change classes because most of classes were full and there weren't much classes for freshman to take. I do not recommend this school.

Robinson High School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
Robinson is a diamond in the rough. However, the school is ranked #14 in the state. #14 !! That is due to the hard work of the students, parents, teachers, coaches, club liaisons, and the administration. Mr. Bush is a super-man without the cape.


Robinson High School 5

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
Unique to Robinson, MacDill Aeronautical Academy gives traditional and IB students the opportunity to take an Aerospace elective. Learn aviation history, the phonetic alphabet, "Alpha, Bravo, Charlie", flight terms like "pitch and yaw", navigation, dead reckoning, and weather conditions. Learn to design in 3-D with Solid Works , and enjoy Flying Fridays on your flight simulator. Aerospace makes learning math and science relevant, starting with trig concepts in freshman year, through astronautical physics in senior year. The IB Extended Essay can be written on an Aerospace topic under the subject of Physics. Hands-on building and flying of kites, hot air balloons, balsa wood planes, and rockets makes learning fun. Go on inspiring field trips to MacDill AFB, Tampa International Airport, Lockheed Martin, Sypris Electronics, and the Sun 'N Fun Airshow. There are many different types of careers in aviation, aerospace, and space tourism. My son is well prepared to attend Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University next year to study Aerospace Engineering. Aerospace does not require much study time outside of the classroom; it is definitely worth giving up a study hall for!

Robinson High School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
My daughter had a choice between Robinson IB and H.B. Plant High School. I went to Plant, my wife went to Plant, my sister, mother, father and grandfather went to Plant. Needless to say it was not an easy decision. Both schools are great but Robinson IB was a better fit for her academically as well as socially. 150 kids in the freshman IB class allowed her to get to know every student. There were better opportunities for her in the sports programs as there were not as many students. Socially was her biggest concern as she thought there may not be too many social activities to participate in. She loves it and that says a lot from a "social butterfly". The concerns about being South of Gandy Boulevard are something from the past. It is a fantastic school with great diversity. 1/3 Traditional, 1/3 Military and 1/3 IB. We feel like she made the correct decision for her future.

Robinson High School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
From the moment my daughter heard about the IB program, she was determined to attend Robinson (even though we are zoned for Plant High School). She has never looked back in the 3.5 years she has attended Robinson - the quality of teaching is excellent, the chance to be involved in sports has added to her high school experience, and the small size of her class has made it so that she has gotten to know her teachers well. The best part of the Robinson IB program for my daughter is that she is surrounded by other students who truly care about learning. The students aren't all just focused on studying - they also spend a lot of time on community service, sports, and creative activities. She would highly recommend the school to other students who like to learn.


Robinson High School 2

Posted April 03, 2013
- a student
I'm in my 3rd year in the traditional program, and I am a student with high hopes, and a 3.5 unweighted gpa (just so we know I'm not one of the delinquents who hates school) . For the past three years, I have had to deal with terrible teachers. Teachers who only care about getting payed and going home, teachers who can't control a class for their own life, and teachers who complain how terrible their job is and how they can't wait until retirement. This year has been my hardest year. I have learned very little and had many conflicts with teachers who grade unfairly or who are unclear and simply do not teach. Only one teacher has actually taught me some stuff this year, and that's Robinson's teacher of the year. If your child is not going to be in the IB program, do not send him/her to this school if you want them to have smooth time in high school. Do them a favor, get them in IB, or send them to Plant

Robinson High School 1

Posted February 01, 2013
- a student
As a traditional student here currently, and after 3 years of experience with this school, the 1200 characters I am allowed to type here would not be enough to describe the many downsides of this school. Teachers are UNBELIEVABLY unprofessional, very few take advantage of Edline on the computer, many teachers are grandfathered-in to having a job there only because they've been there for so long, rather than firing them for their utter lack of curriculum. Many of these old timey teachers' favorite subjects of conversation are when they're going to retire, and i'm sure you can imagine how enjoyable a teacher who hates teaching can be. Certain teachers will lose work because of their unorganized homework collection procedures, naturally you'd go to the guidance counselor over such matters, but only to be told that teachers procedures are their own business. Sure, this school could be a good choice for some kids, if you can ignore the quarterly fights between the hoodlums that attend here from neighboring Port Tampa. I really don't know how my school was declared an 'A' school; Honestly I think it's the traditional students piggy-backing off of the IB student's grades.

Nearby schools

Robinson High School
6311 South Lois Avenue, Tampa, FL  33616
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (813) 272-3006
Last modified Robinson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top