Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


41 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Robinson High School 5

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
Unique to Robinson, MacDill Aeronautical Academy gives traditional and IB students the opportunity to take an Aerospace elective. Learn aviation history, the phonetic alphabet, "Alpha, Bravo, Charlie", flight terms like "pitch and yaw", navigation, dead reckoning, and weather conditions. Learn to design in 3-D with Solid Works , and enjoy Flying Fridays on your flight simulator. Aerospace makes learning math and science relevant, starting with trig concepts in freshman year, through astronautical physics in senior year. The IB Extended Essay can be written on an Aerospace topic under the subject of Physics. Hands-on building and flying of kites, hot air balloons, balsa wood planes, and rockets makes learning fun. Go on inspiring field trips to MacDill AFB, Tampa International Airport, Lockheed Martin, Sypris Electronics, and the Sun 'N Fun Airshow. There are many different types of careers in aviation, aerospace, and space tourism. My son is well prepared to attend Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University next year to study Aerospace Engineering. Aerospace does not require much study time outside of the classroom; it is definitely worth giving up a study hall for!

Robinson High School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
My daughter had a choice between Robinson IB and H.B. Plant High School. I went to Plant, my wife went to Plant, my sister, mother, father and grandfather went to Plant. Needless to say it was not an easy decision. Both schools are great but Robinson IB was a better fit for her academically as well as socially. 150 kids in the freshman IB class allowed her to get to know every student. There were better opportunities for her in the sports programs as there were not as many students. Socially was her biggest concern as she thought there may not be too many social activities to participate in. She loves it and that says a lot from a "social butterfly". The concerns about being South of Gandy Boulevard are something from the past. It is a fantastic school with great diversity. 1/3 Traditional, 1/3 Military and 1/3 IB. We feel like she made the correct decision for her future.


Robinson High School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
From the moment my daughter heard about the IB program, she was determined to attend Robinson (even though we are zoned for Plant High School). She has never looked back in the 3.5 years she has attended Robinson - the quality of teaching is excellent, the chance to be involved in sports has added to her high school experience, and the small size of her class has made it so that she has gotten to know her teachers well. The best part of the Robinson IB program for my daughter is that she is surrounded by other students who truly care about learning. The students aren't all just focused on studying - they also spend a lot of time on community service, sports, and creative activities. She would highly recommend the school to other students who like to learn.

Robinson High School 2

Posted April 03, 2013
- a student
I'm in my 3rd year in the traditional program, and I am a student with high hopes, and a 3.5 unweighted gpa (just so we know I'm not one of the delinquents who hates school) . For the past three years, I have had to deal with terrible teachers. Teachers who only care about getting payed and going home, teachers who can't control a class for their own life, and teachers who complain how terrible their job is and how they can't wait until retirement. This year has been my hardest year. I have learned very little and had many conflicts with teachers who grade unfairly or who are unclear and simply do not teach. Only one teacher has actually taught me some stuff this year, and that's Robinson's teacher of the year. If your child is not going to be in the IB program, do not send him/her to this school if you want them to have smooth time in high school. Do them a favor, get them in IB, or send them to Plant

Robinson High School 1

Posted February 01, 2013
- a student
As a traditional student here currently, and after 3 years of experience with this school, the 1200 characters I am allowed to type here would not be enough to describe the many downsides of this school. Teachers are UNBELIEVABLY unprofessional, very few take advantage of Edline on the computer, many teachers are grandfathered-in to having a job there only because they've been there for so long, rather than firing them for their utter lack of curriculum. Many of these old timey teachers' favorite subjects of conversation are when they're going to retire, and i'm sure you can imagine how enjoyable a teacher who hates teaching can be. Certain teachers will lose work because of their unorganized homework collection procedures, naturally you'd go to the guidance counselor over such matters, but only to be told that teachers procedures are their own business. Sure, this school could be a good choice for some kids, if you can ignore the quarterly fights between the hoodlums that attend here from neighboring Port Tampa. I really don't know how my school was declared an 'A' school; Honestly I think it's the traditional students piggy-backing off of the IB student's grades.


Robinson High School 4

Posted October 31, 2012
- a parent
My son will be attending RHS 2013 and being that I am a big advocate for his education, I research all his schools, teachers, academics and sports. Currently, these reviews all seem positive. The few negative are ones that I believe are in all schools. If anyone has more current information to share, I would appreciate it! Thank you to those that have expressed your thoughts!

Robinson High School 5

Posted January 28, 2012
- a student
This school is the absolute best. I am a military child and I have moved to so many schools. And no school came close to Robinson High School. The atmosphere around you is so friendly and at anytime you can just make a friend in the blink of an eye. The athletics, the music program, and the NJROTC program are a definite impact to any of the student body's life. So far I've read that there are "thugs" and bullies, according to some reviews, at the school. What school doesn't ? In life, you aren't going to encounter the people you are comfortable with or used to. So don't describe this amazing school with those traits. Because this school is capable of making a positive impact in anyone's life. It sure has with mine.. Once a Knight Always a Knight.

Robinson High School 1

Posted December 28, 2011
- a parent
Dec. - 2011 this school is a joke, nothing but thugs that should be locked up. did you know there are 11 convicted felon students at Robinson High?


Robinson High School 5

Posted November 16, 2010
- a student
traditional is great and it is definatly the best school in the county. they also have the best band director.

Robinson High School 4

Posted May 17, 2010
- a parent
From safety point - Worst parking lot drop off situation ever. They have actually set it up so students have to walk in front of and between moving vehicles to get to and from the school in front of the gym. There is no supervision at all in the mornings and afternoons the School resource officer is in his veh. at the far end of the parking lot. It's a pedestrian accident situation just waiting to happen. Kids drive in the exit which is clearly marked do not enter ,but since there is not supervision it has not been enforced all year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Robinson High School
6311 South Lois Avenue, Tampa, FL  33616
(813) 272-3006
Last modified Robinson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Robinson High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews.