Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

806 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 71 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Roland Park K-8 Magnet School 4

Posted February 04, 2016
- a community member
Ms Jamir is a wonderful teacher. She brings the best on each of her students and my child loves being there. There are lots going on on PYP and the kids get exposed to so much more than at our previous S Tampa A rated school. It is still a young school with lots of wrinkles to be ironed but with a lot of potential for greatness. PYP assistant principal is wonderful and so is the PYP IB coordinator. We feel lucky to be here

Roland Park K-8 Magnet School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted December 15, 2015
- a community member
Neutral on effectiveness, depends on teacher. Average rating. For some classes, the IB curriculum is just an extra project, which may not even be part of their grade.


Roland Park K-8 Magnet School 3

Posted December 15, 2015
- a community member
We rate the middle school average. Academics are good, with some outstanding teachers and some average.

Roland Park K-8 Magnet School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Ms. E is a remarkable teacher! She know how to bring the best out of each of her students and recognizes the special qualities that makes each of them special. We are so grateful to her and all of the wonderful faculty & staff at Roland Park! This has been our son's best year yet!

Roland Park K-8 Magnet School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Stewart is an amazing teacher! She truly understands each of her students and loves her job!


Roland Park K-8 Magnet School 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
My son joined Roland Park this year in kindergarten. We were so nervous about his future in a new school and the challenging environment of kindergarten. However, our concerns were unnecessary. The academic, social, and emotional growth our son has made in these few short months has been amazing! We had no idea that Roland Park would impacted all of our lives in such a beautiful way. All we wanted for him was a safe environment where he is known and loved. We got that and so much more. We are so grateful to be a part of their community!

Roland Park K-8 Magnet School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Qualities like compassion, caring, and empathy are IB attributes that are consistently discussed and reinforced at all grade levels.

Roland Park K-8 Magnet School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Qualities like honesty, integrity, and fairness are consistently discussed and reinforced at all grade levels. In general, the kids are good kids.


Roland Park K-8 Magnet School 3

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
My 2 children have been at RP over 3 years now. It is really hit or miss and highly dependent on the teacher you get. Some teachers are great - communicative, responsive, compassionate, caring. Others are not - cold, distant, uncaring, disrespectful, and poor communicators. Administrators are also a mixed bag - some show genuine care, others say what you want to hear to your face then "cover" themselves by saying what they must to others. The only aspect I would say is consistently strong is in the Specials - art, music, PE, etc. Those teachers uniformly do a fabulous job with the kids. Curriculum is your standard Common Core and, while it can be challenging, it also frequently feels more like busy work rather than legitimate learning opportunities. Homework for the younger students, in particular, feels like busy work instead of fostering a real love for, and sense of, learning. Overall, this is an average school. I can't say I'm entirely pleased but I don't know that this is any better/worse than our A rated neighborhood school. So I don't have a better option, short of private school, which I would strongly consider if either child ever ended up with a bad teacher.

Roland Park K-8 Magnet School 5

Posted September 21, 2015
- a community member
Great sense of diversity and the is school amazing teachers they take their time with the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roland Park K-8 Magnet School
1510 North Manhattan Avenue, Tampa, FL  33607
(813) 872-5212
Last modified Roland Park K-8 Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roland Park K-8 Magnet School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. Top