Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jefferson High School

Public | 9-12 | 1623 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2013

I wasn't sure how I was going to feel about any public school, let alone JHS since my daughter had always been in private school. I have to say that my daughter is finishing her Sophmore year and I am very impressed with how this school is focused on the dream for all of their students to attend college. The teachers will go out of there way to help their students if they want it. If the student has the dream...this school will help them attain it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

That school is terrible. The kids are ghetto and the assistant Principles were snakes. They only cared about themselves and they didn't help students who needed them. I remember one of them actually physically pushing me in the lunch line! The only good thing about that school are some of the teachers. Ms. Bousalis and Ms. Paradis were the best!


Posted April 1, 2012

This is an amazing high school. Test scores do not tell the story this is a school where teachers and the administration work togther for the betterment of all students. Many of the teachers are Jefferson graduates and they came back because they had a great experince there. It is a magnet school but it is very integrated, not a school within a school, all students are Jefferson High students first, then members of their academy. My son loves going to school everyday, feels welcome and supported by peers and teachers - not something you hear all the time about a high school. They almost never loose a family that tours - once you see it for yourself - you will want your child to attend this GREAT SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

I have been at Jefferson Center for International Studies magnet program for 7 years now. What students rave about is how the 8 international magnet academies allow them to try on a career field before leaving high school. Each academy has a professional club like FBLA, DECA, FCCLA, FPSA AND each academy has a practical on the job training or internship component. Since they are located in the Westshore Business District, Florida's largest - Business Partnerships are plentiful and assist students in getting real world experience. They have the complete package: Academics + Great Sports + Great Music. They have the 2nd highest number of students passing AP Chemistry in the county, #3 for AP Biology and #4 in AP Environmental Science. The most demanded program is Law & Criminal Justice. Their senior year, students intern with a judge for one day a week for ten weeks. Build your child's resume!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 17, 2009

JHS is great because the teachers are always helping their students to achieve their highest potential academically and socially.


Posted September 17, 2009

It is a school with a great deal of diversity. The students of Jefferson HS learn to see beyond color. There is great enthusiasm and the school keeps parents informed of all critical information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Jefferson is a great school. It has many different opportunities for the kids to grow. They offer a large variety of International Studies. My kids are proud to be a Dragon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

Im a student at Jefferson, and its awesome!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2007

this is a very well school. the atmosphere of the school are very interesting, yet fun!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2006

Overall I like this school. I think it is harder for kids on the 4 block schedule.I like the programs they offer. I t does seem however that not just this school but others too, that girls sports don't seem to draw as much attention as the boys.I think more parents would be involved if they felt more comfortable at the school. I have had the opportunity to meet almost all of my daughters teachers and there has only been one that I didn't care for the style of teaching and helpfulness with the students.But I have yet to feel good about any interaction with student affairs or guidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

Jefferson High school from what I hear is awesome My cousin attends that school and she said it was great I recommed this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2006

I was a student there last year.....Great school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 21, 2005

My daughter graduated in 2005 and is now succeeding in college. My hats off to the teachers and administrators that take a personal interest in the student as an individual. My daughter's teachers all went the extra mile to help prepare her and help her not only academically, but in other ways as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

My son is a senior and he has come such a long way academicaly with the help of his couselor, teachers and coaches. I am very satisfied with all the work they have done with him and helping prepare for college is the best thing they could do for him. Being a single mom has been a lot easier since he has been at Jefferson. Football scholarships are on the way! Jefferson has the best teachers i've ever seen in a school. If you are thingking about a high school for your child; don't think twice about Jefferson. You will love it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

This school offers and gives out a very great academic program. The extra coricular activities or also great. This school could benifit just about any student who is willing to try- only way to not succeed through this school is by not attending
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2004

'My daughter just transfered from Alonso, and my son is a grad as well. With the help of her teachers, and hard work, my son received a 5 on writting exam, and was accepted to two of the top schools in the country on a football scholarship. As far as administration goes, MI has made it very easy for all administrators to effectively deal with any school's unique issues. I love this school a lot more than Alonso. I feel my kids are getting a better education gere because of hardworking teachers. Excellence in academics has always been the main focus, and keeps imporving FCAT scores every year. It's great that students have an opportunity to excel in sports, music, and dance as well. Highly recommended if your child is a football player one of the best progras in the country. My son will attend next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

This is a wonderful magnet business and finance school that prepared my daughter to succeed in college. I would highly recommend this public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

390 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

417 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
34%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 53% 29%
Black 33% 23%
White 9% 42%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 75%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%67%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Van Ayers
Fax number
  • (813) 872-5250

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4401 W Cypress St Rm J06
Tampa, FL 33607
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 872-5241

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT