Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Tampa, FL
Students enrolled: 1,544

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jefferson High School 5

Posted June 01, 2014
- a student
My school is Thomas Jefferson High School and i'm in the business magnet program. This school has an amazing principal that is like another friend looking over your progress in school over the course of the four years. What i noticed is that he tries to determine the valedictorians early on in freshman year to track their accomplishments. Amazing DECA and FBLA clubs. Love this school !!!!

Jefferson High School 4

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
I wasn't sure how I was going to feel about any public school, let alone JHS since my daughter had always been in private school. I have to say that my daughter is finishing her Sophmore year and I am very impressed with how this school is focused on the dream for all of their students to attend college. The teachers will go out of there way to help their students if they want it. If the student has the dream...this school will help them attain it!!


Jefferson High School 1

Posted April 23, 2013
- a community member
That school is terrible. The kids are ghetto and the assistant Principles were snakes. They only cared about themselves and they didn't help students who needed them. I remember one of them actually physically pushing me in the lunch line! The only good thing about that school are some of the teachers. Ms. Bousalis and Ms. Paradis were the best!

Jefferson High School 5

Posted April 01, 2012
- a parent
This is an amazing high school. Test scores do not tell the story this is a school where teachers and the administration work togther for the betterment of all students. Many of the teachers are Jefferson graduates and they came back because they had a great experince there. It is a magnet school but it is very integrated, not a school within a school, all students are Jefferson High students first, then members of their academy. My son loves going to school everyday, feels welcome and supported by peers and teachers - not something you hear all the time about a high school. They almost never loose a family that tours - once you see it for yourself - you will want your child to attend this GREAT SCHOOL!

Jefferson High School 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a teacher
I have been at Jefferson Center for International Studies magnet program for 7 years now. What students rave about is how the 8 international magnet academies allow them to try on a career field before leaving high school. Each academy has a professional club like FBLA, DECA, FCCLA, FPSA AND each academy has a practical on the job training or internship component. Since they are located in the Westshore Business District, Florida's largest - Business Partnerships are plentiful and assist students in getting real world experience. They have the complete package: Academics + Great Sports + Great Music. They have the 2nd highest number of students passing AP Chemistry in the county, #3 for AP Biology and #4 in AP Environmental Science. The most demanded program is Law & Criminal Justice. Their senior year, students intern with a judge for one day a week for ten weeks. Build your child's resume!


Jefferson High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
JHS is great because the teachers are always helping their students to achieve their highest potential academically and socially.

Jefferson High School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
It is a school with a great deal of diversity. The students of Jefferson HS learn to see beyond color. There is great enthusiasm and the school keeps parents informed of all critical information.

Jefferson High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Jefferson is a great school. It has many different opportunities for the kids to grow. They offer a large variety of International Studies. My kids are proud to be a Dragon.


Jefferson High School 1

Posted September 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Jefferson High School 5

Posted May 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jefferson High School
4401 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL  33607
(813) 872-5241
Last modified Jefferson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jefferson High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top