Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roosevelt Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 720 students

Opened in 1925, Roosevelt offers tradition melded with modern flare.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 15 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2014

I have many examples how the leadership can improve the school. The principal gave us a talk about a great program - conscious discipline. She says she follows this but this takes training for herself and her teachers and staff. I know that more parents would get involved if the leadership did not cater to a group of parents instead of working to include all parents. There are so many creative ways to work with kids and parents that help kids be better and learn how to be good learners and citizens. Change the culture because many of us do not feel part of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

Best school ever! Two boys at Roosevelt and could not ask for better teachers and staff. Everyone cares!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

What a great school for the children. Community support is evident and the principal is approachable at all times. It is clear she is here for all children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

The school administration does not do well with diversity. They teach to a norm culturally and intellectually. While it is true that my son had a 504 for Aspergers, he still got notes home for doing things that were different. He was singled out rather than included. Inclusion is meaningless, unless students, parents, teachers and, administration know how to look at what is right with the picture rather than what is wrong with the picture. The principal is still telling people to go to Pepin Academy rather than thinking about inclusion for middle school. This kind of advice is not inclusion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

This school is great. Period. For those complaining of overbearing parents, a few exist but most are involved, caring, proactive parents. If this is an issue, move along to another school without the same level of parent commitment. Send us a letter. Let us know how it's going. The rest please volunteer in whatever manner possible so you can debunk the urban legend of the evil PTA. All hands are welcomed. We'll see you at the next opportunity. For those complaining of this mythical Camelot from principals past, I could beg to differ with both anecdotal and now statistical data. There is no talent that isn't replaceable. Only the most small minded and limited would think this way. The new principal embraces our traditional community while promoting smart and innovative ideas. I personally have no interest in teaching with dunce caps and abacus. And mean girl clicks...you can keep them. It's a great, great school. We're proud to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2013

My son is graduating from Roosevelt this June after 7 years at the school. When I asked him last night what he would miss most about the school, he told me the principal because he "knew she really cared about all of the kids." What better review could you get than that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

This school is not what it used to be. It should be a neighborhood school and has potential with a good number of acting and caring parents. The teachers need more support and training and leadership from the Principals. After being here for a while I see a change with the newer principal. Things stayed stable with the assistant principal but once she left and a new assistant principal arrived, communication has dropped and emails go out without thinking about kids parents or teachers. I used to think of it as a smaller grade school that had features of a private school. Now I think of it as a school that offers one way to teach kids without looking at their learning needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

Some schools have potential and Roosevelt is one of them. I am a mother of two boys and have repeatedly tried to work with the school to embrace learning differences. The school had high test scores under the former principal and over time they will decline because jewel schools do not just say great. It takes a conscious effort on the part of leadership to be constructive when there is a conflict and to keep the communication positive. I don' feel good recommending this school even thought the parents are active, the kids are all beautiful people and the teachers work with students as much as they are able.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

I've been a parent at this school for 7 years I feel really lucky to have my kids in such a great environment. This year, they started offering a before school math program from 7:30-8 and my son gets upset if dad is running late, because he wants to get to school early and work on his fast math. That is just one example. Excellent, motivated teachers. Well run school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2012

I have been a parent at this school for over 8 years. After the former principal left 2 1/2 years ago, the quality of the school declined, but she was a tough act to follow. However, following the former assistant principal's departure just a few months ago, the school rapidly went downhill. As per present and former teachers, it's because it was being run by the former assistant principal. Now that she is gone, parent satisfaction has come to a screeching halt. It's #1 school status is based upon OLDER scores and performance. The current state of the school will soon be reflected in the school's future scores. SO MANY INVOLVED parents are incredibly unhappy after years of satisfaction and expectations being exceeded. The morale among faculty has taken a nosedive. People just don't smile there like they used to. Children are unhappy. Classes are overcrowded. Children are being put on buses on the wrong days. Assemblies aren't held in the auditorium because it is too small, so this childhood tradition is now conducted in individual classrooms, sacrificing the sense of school community. The once spacious playground has been replaced by new buildings. Concerns fall on deaf ears.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

The school is out of touch with parents and does not want to know what they think. Many parents have expressed concerns about anxiety in their children but feel they cannot talk to the teacher for fear of "getting into conflict with the school". This is very sad and there is no forum for expressing opinion or concern without risk of conflict. The school's approach is dictatorial and punitive to both children and parents. Some teachers are very good but some leave a lot to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

Teachers are great and the kids are the best. There are some great parents that help the teachers and volunteers save the school and teachers tons of time. How lucky to have parents that save the teachers time. How lucky it is to have great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

Roosevelt didn't get to be #1 in the district by accident! I was because of its dedicated teachers, administrators, students and 99.8% of the parents. I'm proud to say my child attends Roosevelt. I am also pleased when the administration cares enough to make changes in order for our school to grow even more. We unfortunately have had a small number of parents acting poorly as of late and that is a shame! Roosevelt students are fortunate to have and entire school staff focused entirely on helping them to be not only great students but also great citizens. I only wish this small amount of parents would act more maturely and stop being bullys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

My children and I love Roosevelt Elementary School. We have a great principal who cares strongly about the children and education they get. Unfortunately there is a small minority who feel that they should be given priority over the majority. These are the types of people who like to use words such as "deep pockets" ie. because they have money, they should be listened to more than others. I have news for them, your deep pockets have always been closed and no one really cares how much money you have anyway. I hope our principal continues to stand up for her beliefs and our children's best interests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

Kudos to the principal and her staff for teaching our children how to stand up to bullys. Obviously their parents can't when they are the ones being the bully. You (deep pocket mama's) ought to be ashamed. Some example you are setting. Do you work? When quitting time comes I am sure you are ready to put work behind you and go home to your family and not think about work till the next day. The teachers probably would like that scenario but unfortunately they can't. Papers to grade, lessons to plan, reports to write, and take care of family are the away from school life. They don't have a quitting time. Having that time in the morning will allow the teachers to be able to have some quality time with their families. They are allowed that just like the deep pocket mama's. The last thing to say to those parents is quit being a hypocrite and grow up!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

Roosevelt is Number ONE in the county! This school has been such a wonderful environment for my children. The administrators are EXEMPLARY!Their number ONE priority is the children! They are VERY supportive of their FABULOUS STAFF! I see teachers staying very late DAILY. I see teachers taking home work, I know for a fact the faculty works into their evenings. I receive emails from teachers after 10:00pm.They are phenominal.There is quite a controversy right now with a new start the day time. After speaking to the teachers today, the extra 15 minutes they received on the first day of this new "start time" was extremely HELPFUL! If a teacher has ample time to plan (and I know they spend hours on this are) they will be able to implement a much better lesson! I have nothing to say but positive things about this new plan and the staff/administration.Kudos to the principal and assistant principal for making this change for the teachers which in turn will make things much better for the children! I hope everyone will accept this small change and let the administration lead and the teachers teach!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

The school used to be a lot better but the teachers do not rock like they used to when the old principal was there. The old principal ran a tighter ship, balanced parents interests and showed a way of caring about students that is unmatched. The culture change has made the school a less friendly place and groups within the school, have become divisive. Now the morning plan is making a lot of parents mad. Little kids are forced to be escorted by someone else than their mom? This is not family friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2012

The principal is now telling parents that school starts five minutes earlier than it does. Parents can only walk their kids to the lunch room and not to class. Kids have to make this choice and stick with their choice. The principal is getting all kinds of complaints, not listening and not showing that she cares. It is tough when they say it is about safety and education but now they are saying it is about teacher prep time. The teachers get a half day once a week and also every day after 2:15.


Posted October 16, 2012

Overrated. This school has potential but there is nothing that is community oriented, unique, diverse or community-based.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2012

A great school for learning and thriving. A school where children can be the main focus and opportunities are available beyond the standards.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 80%
Hispanic 11%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%67%61%
Master's degree 46%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gifted specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Computer specialist(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Rock band

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 2:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • MS. CHRISTINA DICKENS
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (813) 233-3577

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parents volunteer in all areas of our sc
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Coleman Middle School
Plant High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3205 South Ferdinand Avenue
Tampa, FL 33629
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 272-3090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT